Follow by Email

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 5.02- Exterminate Her

The Fosters get a new neighbor who is not so new to someone in the house, Callie starts to take control of her life, Jesus learns a secret, and Brandon discovers something interesting.

So, the wife of the married couple who moves in next to the Fosters knows Stef somehow.  I am wondering if she is the girl Stef had a crush on that caused her father to send her to be "cured".  That would explain the awkwardness of their finally meeting each other.  Other than that, the new neighbors seem great.  Granted, the wife stuck her foot in her mouth when she talked about Anchor Beach (not that she was entirely wrong!), but she seemed genuinely sorry that she did so.  And the husband offered to fix the fence for free, which is cool.  We need backstory ASAP!

I get that Jesus is frustrated that people are treating him differently, but he had a massive injury and has a tendency to fly off the handle at the slightest provocation, so no, I can't say I blame anyone for keeping things from him.  If he really wants to have people stop hiding things from him, he needs to accept that he has changed and deal with stuff.  And yes, I know that it is easier said than done, but he can't go back to the way things were because things are very different now.  And witnessing the two tantrums he's had in the last two weeks, it's hard to blame people for wanting to avoid upsetting him.

As for the school paper, I am not entirely sure we can trust Drew when he said that a student wrote the op-ed.  Sorry, but the guy has proven himself to be underhanded, slimy, and generally completely untrustworthy.  He is doing everything in his power to make sure that the privatization goes through, which leads me to wonder if he has any skin in the game or is earning something from Nick's dad.  While I can't say I like the whole hacking into the school's email thing, it was worth it just so that Lena could throw Drew's words back in his face.  That was fun.

I can't believe that Brandon didn't pick up on the total fakeness of the whole "my ex handcuffed me to the bed in my sexy underwear" story.  I just hung my head for a sec when he left her apartment.  Granted, he had an interview, but at least arrange an assignation for later!  I did love that Callie pointed out to him what he obviously missed/

As for Callie, she had a big week.  She is auditing an art class. and for a bit it looked like Robert paid to get her into the class.  I get why she was upset about that because Robert does have a history of trying to buy his daughter and Callie out of trouble.  I know he means the best, but he really needs to get another schtick.  At least he didn't pay anyone off this time, so that is a good thing.  Callie just needs to get her inspiration going because she is really talented as an artist.  I really think that she needs to figure out a way to marry her art with her passion for helping other people.  If she can use her art to help people, than maybe she won't keep putting herself in danger.

Then there's Gabe.  On the one hand, keeping something from your kid (whether or not you are the parent) is never an easy thing to do.  On the other, he really should have respected Stef and Lena's wishes to stay out of it.  Of course, if Mariana hadn't have opened her mouth and told Gabe about Jesus' potential problem, then he wouldn't have known anything to lie about, so there is another issue we can lay at her door.  I know I rag on her a lot, but she really earns it because she is constitutionally incapable of keeping a secret.  While her being bossy in not alway a bad thing, the problem is that she has caused problems with people in the past because of her controlling tendencies.  And I really think that Jesus wants to do this on his own, if only to prove that he can.  Telling Mariana that he will work with Emma had to hurt though.  Maybe he could have asked one of his moms for help?

Until next week!

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 5.01- Resist

Sorry this is late, but I wasn't able to watch the episode last night, so here is my review of the 5th season premiere....

While Stef desperately searches for Callie (who is in way over her head), Brandon and Emma look for an incensed Jesus while Lena tries to deal with protesters (including Jude) led by Mariana at Anchor Beach...

Callie got herself in so far over her head that I am a little surprised she emerged unscathed.  Well, physically unscathed anyway.  It's a good thing she thinks fast on her feet, because she needed every ounce of strength and cunning she had tonight.  Did she do a good thing?  Yes.  Was it the right thing?  That is a far trickier question.  Stef was right when she observed that Callie doesn't value her own life as highly as she does others.  I don't think it's that Callie doesn't care about herself, rather it is that she has an intense need to protect other people and that need seems to take precedence over her own safety.  She got out this time, but that was in large part due to Diamond sending that text.  I really hope she takes stock of her life and begins to realize that she needs to be smarter about how she helps people.

Brandon is similar to Callie in this respect, although his need seems to spring from a different place.  Callie grew up way too quickly because she had to protect Jude in the different houses she was in.  Brandon, on the other hand, had to grow up relatively quickly because of his dad's drinking and because he was often overlooked while the twins were being taken care of.  I've seen other people say Brandon shouldn't have hidden Emma's pregnancy from Jesus, but I completely disagree.  The secret was Emma's to share when she felt ready, so he was doing the right thing.  And while I understand that Jesus' TBI is a huge mitigating factor here, I think Brandon has every right to be mad at Jesus for destroying his room.  I think this issue is going to be with them for quite some time.

As for the protest, I think that storyline is going to be another major one this season.  You have the school board and Nick's dad who are looking to privatize the school so it will be more to their liking while Monte, Lena, the parents, and students are going to be fighting this tooth and nail.  Since the vote was technically invalid since Monte is technically principal, there is a chance that they can win, but I don't know how big of a chance they actually have.  As I said in the last review, what the board did in closing the meeting was technically legal, but it was also a disgusting thing to do.  I am half expecting some sort of legal battle over the school.  And poor Jude got maced after Nick's dad tried to shove Mariana aside.  Then when Drew had the temerity to claim that the protesters had escalated the whole situation....just smdh.

I did definitely enjoy watching Gabe and Ana talking about their difficulties and frustrations about the twins.  I do not envy the situation that they are in.  Having teenagers semi-dropped in your lap is a lot to deal with and I think they are doing an admirable job.  They are helping out when they can without stepping in as parents and stepping on Stef and Lena's toes.  It'll be nice for them to stick around.

Until next week!

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.23- Lian Yu

Oliver puts together quite the band to take on Chase and Talia and the flashbacks come full circle...

Well, as promised, the flashbacks are officially over.  The last set of flashbacks ended with Oliver putting on the costume we saw from the pilot and getting rescued.  I have to admit that I wondered if he was going to be rescued right then or if he was going to be on the island a bit longer.  We had been told last summer that the flashbacks would end this season, so I knew he would be rescued, the only question was whether he would be rescued by the crew Anitoly sent or not.  But he was and now that circle is closed.

The fight against Chase was as vicious as could have been expected.  Some of my guesses from last week were correct in general, even if the specifics were wrong.  Nyssa did fight Talia and Oliver did fight Chase, but, interestingly, Oliver chose to send Malcolm with Nyssa to find William while he and Slade went to find everyone else.  Slade has calmed down dramatically since we last saw him and actually worked very well with Oliver.  Malcolm also worked rather well, mainly because Oliver chose to keep him close to Thea, knowing that Malcolm would (and apparently did) die to protect her.  I say "apparently did" because, while we saw an explosion, we never actually saw Malcolm die, so there is always the possibility that he somehow survived.  Slim chance, I know, but without seeing some sort of proof, I will still list him as apparently dead.

The other thing I got right is that Slade did take on the minions, and he did quite well at it too.  Wild Dog and Diggle also did a good job fighting the minions in hand-to-hand combat.  I have to admit to being surprised at how easily Nyssa was able to defeat Talia.  I honestly thought that the fight would have lasted longer.  Instead, it was very brief and ended with Nyssa victorious.  The scream between the Black Siren and the Black Canary was sort of fun to see and I loved that Lance clocked the Black Siren upside the head to knock her out.

Putting the makeshift team together to save his friends and family was vintage Oliver.  As I've said many, many times before, he can be extremely pragmatic when the situation warrants it.  He knows he can trust Nyssa and he knows that he can trust Malcolm to protect Thea.  Other than having the information about his son, I'm not sure why Oliver thought he could trust Slade, but I am glad he did because Slade acquitted himself nicely in this fight.  Oliver doesn't like him, but knows that he can work with Slade if needed, and boy was it needed tonight.

What I am really curious about is how the hell Chase managed to plant and network that many bombs all over the island without ARGUS finding out about it.  Something about that is just really weird.  That said, I think I can overlook that plothole because the rest of the episode was so awesome.  Oliver told Chase that he wouldn't kill him, and he meant it.  He shot Chase in the leg with an arrow, but he didn't count on Chase being willing to kill himself in order to finish his revenge.

We know that the whole team isn't wiped out because Black Canary, Black Siren, and Wild Dog were all recently promoted to series regulars, so they (and presumably the rest of the team as well) got away from the explosions somehow.  Did they manage to get to the boat in time?  Or maybe they went into the ARGUS facility and escaped the blasts.  We'll just have to wait and see what happens when the show returns in the fall.

Until then!

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

My Review of The Flash 3.23- Finish Line

The team takes on Savitar with a result that wasn't predicted, but makes sense...

As I guessed last week, HR traded places with Iris and was killed as a result.  What I got wrong was when the switch happened.  I thought that someone had switched him and Iris while Savitar was running around, but HR had actually switched places with Iris earlier.  That was quite brave of him and, as I said last week, it makes sense because he felt guilty that he had inadvertently revealed where Iris was when he thought that Savitar was Barry.  The good news is that HRs death brought Harry back to help the team out.  While I did enjoy HR, Harry is my favorite version of Wells that we have met so far.

I must admit that I did think that Savitar was actually going to go down the path that Barry had suggested.  Well, I did until he was talking to Barry and Iris alone and he was talking about how hard it would be for him to find a place in the team.  At that point, I knew that he wasn't going to give up.  What I didn't expect was for him to cause the Philosopher's Stone to blow up (or whatever it did).  I'm not sure if he was trying to kill Barry and the gang or if he was trying to do something to distract them.

The final fight which pitted the Flash (Earth-1), the Flash (Earth-2), Kid Flash, Gypsy, and Vibe against Savitar and Killer Frost was pretty cool.  I think the coolest moment was when Barry vibrated his way into Savitar's suit and then cause it to explode.  That was pretty cool and reminded me of how Neo killed Agent Smith in The Matrix.  The part I really didn't expect was for Iris to shoot Savitar.  I totally get why she did it, but it was unexpected.  When I heard the shot, I half expected Joe to be the one with the gun, so seeing Iris be the one who shot Savitar was a twist that I didn't expect.

As for the ending, we know that Barry isn't going to be trapped in the Speed Force jail for longer than an episode or two.  I am working on the assumption that he will somehow get out of the jail either at the beginning of the premiere or right at the end.  My only question is how they will get him out without destabilizing the jail again and unleashing havoc on Central City.  If a speedster has to be in the prison, then someone will have to take his place.  The only other option that I can see is for them to somehow shut the prison down after they get Barry out.

Having Barry go to the prison is a fitting end to the season.  While the havoc he wrought was unintentional, Barry did make a lot of mistakes that he needed to pay for.  If he hadn't created Flashpoint, then Savitar would never have been created, the Dominators wouldn't have come to Earth, and the Reverse Flash wouldn't have been around to mess with reality using the Spear of Destiny.  My one question is why no one thought to see if Jay Garrick could have gone back in.  I do get that Barry sees this as his penance for what he has done, but if Garrick had volunteered to go back in, that would have put someone in the prison and stabilized it.

Then there is Caitlin.  She decided not to take the therapy that would have erased her metahuman cells, so she still has her powers.  However, she isn't Killer Frost anymore.  If she can figure out a way to use her powers without going all dark side, she would be very useful to the team.  She just needs to figure out how she can do that.

Overall, I can't say that I loved this season.  It was fairly uneven and a little too dark for this show.  Next season, they really need to bring back some of the lightness and fun from the first season.  With Barry being gone, I have to wonder how the team will cope.  Wally will have to step up and protect the city and everyone else will have to go on with their lives.  I just hope that not too much time passes between now and when Barry is freed.  I also hope they don't have Iris go down a path where she obsesses over how to get Barry back.  This will put a crimp in their relationship, methinks.

Until the fall, have fun!

Thursday, May 18, 2017

TV Schedule for 2017-2018

Well, the TV schedule for next year has been released and I have my schedule worked out.  I am only adding a few shows after having dropped several this year.  I have a couple of slots with more than two shows, which is never fun, but I'll deal.  New shows will be bolded.  Shows in new timeslots will be italcized.  Shows with a (?) by them are new shows that I will try out and see if I like them.  So here is my schedule:

Edited June 6th, 2017

Premiere Dates added by each show as they are advertised

Sunday:

10 pm- Madam Secretary (CBS, 10/8) & Ten Days in the Valley (ABC) (?)


Monday:

8 pm- Lucifer (Fox, 10/2) & Supergirl (CW, 10/9)
9 pm- The Gifted (Fox, 10/2)
10 pm- The Good Doctor (ABC) & Scorpion (CBS, 9/25)


Tuesday:

8 pm- The Flash (CW, 10/10)
9 pm- Bull (CBS, 9/26), This Is Us (NBC, 9/26), and Legends of Tomorrow (CW, 10/10)
10 pm- Gospel of Kevin (ABC) (?) Law & Order True Crime (NBC, 9/26) (?)

Wednesday:

8 pm- The Blacklist (NBC, 10/4) & Riverdale (CW, 10/11)
9 pm-  SEAL Team (CBS, 9/27) (?) & Dynasty (CW, 10/11) (?)
10 pm- Designated Survivor (ABC)

Thursday:

8 pm- Supernatural (CW, 10/12)
8:30 pm- The Good Place (NBC, 9/28)
9 pm- Scandal (ABC) & Arrow (CW, 10/12)
10 pm- How to Get Away With Murder (ABC)

Friday:

8 pm- Once Upon a Time (ABC, 10/6), MacGyver (CBS, 9/29), & Blindspot (NBC, 10/27)
9 pm- Marvel's Inhumans (ABC, 9/29)

Returning at midseason:

The 100 (CW), The Originals (CW), iZombie (CW), Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (ABC)

New for midseason:

Black Lightning (CW), The Crossing (ABC), Deception (ABC), Instinct (CBS)

Dropped by me:

Quantico (ABC), Timeless (NBC)

Cancelled by the network:

The Vampire Diaries (CW), Grimm (NBC), Conviction (ABC), The Real O'Neal's (ABC), Secrets & Lies (ABC), American Crime (ABC), Bones (Fox), The Blacklist: Redemption (NBC)

Dropped by me and then cancelled:

Pure Genius (CBS), Time After Time (ABC), Frequency (CW), APB (Fox), Scream Queens (Fox)

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.22- Missing

Oliver finds himself teaming up with an unlikely group of people after Chase kidnaps his entire team and heads to Lian Yu...

The team that Oliver has put together to take on Chase and Talia is a powder keg that could very easily explode in his face.  First, there is Malcolm Merlyn.  There is absolutely no love lost between him and Oliver.  That being said, I think this is a situation where Malcolm can be trusted to be at least moderately helpful.  Whatever faults he may have, and there are quite a few of them, Malcolm has shown an unswerving dedication to keeping Thea safe.  While his ideas of what is in her best interest generally diverge from what she actually wants, he does have that going for him.  While I wouldn't trust him unreservedly, he can be trusted to at least make sure that she is kept alive.  That being said, I suspect that if he thought that teaming with Chase would be the best thing for Thea, he might choose that route.  However, I don't see that being the case.

Then you have Nyssa, who is by far the most trustworthy of the group.  The only issue with her is how she will react to Talia's presence.  There doesn't seem to be a whole lot of love there either, but I would never discount family ties.  Then again, she is still technically married to Oliver, so I think she can be trusted to stay with him.  And she is definitely a formidable warrior who has shown herself capable of taking down almost any foe.  The only people who give her trouble are Oliver and Malcolm, and I think we can safely assume that both Talia and Chase would give her difficulties as well since they are both of a similar caliber.

Then there is Deathstroke.  He is going to be the biggest wildcard.  He hates Oliver, even before Oliver locked him up on Lian Yu. so I have to wonder how Oliver is going to manage to get him to work with the group to fight Chase and Talia.  The good thing about him is that he has a completely different fighting style than anyone else.  All of the other major actors in this brewing fight have undergone training by the League or someone affiliated with the League, so having him along could be useful to Oliver.

Then, of course, there is Oliver himself.  He has received training primarily from the League or someone close to it, but he also learned from Deathstroke.  Also, he is the man who killed R'as Al Ghul which makes him uniquely dangerous.  He has reached the point where he is willing to work with anyone who he thinks will help him out, which is always a dangerous place for Oliver to go.  If either Felicity or Diggle had been around, I don't think Oliver would have done what he did.  Then again, if Chase hadn't kidnapped them, there would have been no reason to accept Malcolm's help or go to get Deathstroke.

I am very interested to see how this is all going to play out next week.  I am sure there will be some sort of mind games involved, but I suspect that we have passed most of that and are headed more in the direction of a straight out fight.  The big question is who will fight who.  I suspect that Oliver will task Malcolm and Deathstroke with taking on the minions and freeing the gang while he and Nyssa take on Talia and Chase.  That would make the most sense because that would put the person Oliver can trust the most by his side against two incredibly dangerous enemies.  The downside is that it would means that he would have to have the two people he trusts the least save his friends and his sister, but I think that would be a risk worth taking otherwise he could end up fighting three people on his own.

One worry I do have is whether or not Chase or Talia has managed to get Deathstroke to their side.  If so, this fight will go poorly because having the three of them team up will be very, very bad for Oliver.  But, we'll have to wait and see.

Until next week!

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

My Review of The Flash 3.22- Infantino Street

The day of reckoning has arrived and the entire gang is working tirelessly to sae Iris from Savitar. But did they succeed?

Apparently, the answer is "No" since we saw Savitar stab Iris.  That being said, there are some inconsistencies between the way this final scene played out from how we have seen it before.  In previous iterations, Barry did not have the Speed Bazooka, but this time he did.  Also, in at least one previous iteration, we saw HR on the roof of the building with Joe, but he wasn't there this time.  Between that, HR's feeling of guilt over having revealed Iris' hiding place to Savitar, and the reminder of the disguising technology, I have to wonder if maybe HR managed to somehow switch places with Iris while Savitar was running around while Barry was shooting at him.  With everyone focused on Barry shooting at Savitar, it is possible that HR (or someone else for that matter) could have switched places with Iris in order to save her from being killed.  I'm not sure if I would say that it is likely, but it is definitely possible.

One reason why I am doubting that Iris is actually gone is that it would be a major change to the show, such a major change that I am not sure if the writers would go there.  Unlike Laurel's death last year on Arrow, Iris' death would be much more consequential.  We've already seen how Iris' death would impact the team, so I don't think they are going there.  I guess they could if they wanted to examine how Barry could handle things differently, but that does not seem at all likely to me.  As always, I have to say that I could be wrong, but her actually dying here strikes me as being very wrong.

That being said, I did appreciate that Barry did show the lengths he was willing to go to (or not go to) in his efforts to save Iris.  I am not entirely sure I agree with Lyla's reasoning to not give the Dominator tech to Barry, mainly because what he wanted it for was not to change the past but to alter the future, which is a different creature altogether.  I did appreciate that her decision did lead Barry to get Snart to help him.  That was just something fun to watch.  Snart is always fun to see, so seeing him help Barry just made things lots and lots of fun.  It also showed that, while Barry is definitely willing to bend the rules to help people he loves, he does have his limits.  He could have sacrificed Snart to save Iris, but he wouldn't have, which is a good thing.  I am scratching my head a little about why that made Lyla change her mind so quickly though.  I appreciate that it did, but that did seem a bit mercurial of her, however necessary it was for the plot.

The other major story, which I think will be explored more next week, was the fight between Cisco and Killer Frost that has been brewing for a while.  He hasn't lost his hands (yet) or anything, but she is convinced that she must get rid of Cisco in order to "ascend" with Savitar.  That makes me wonder if Cisco is some sort of major threat to Savitar.  After all, if he somehow convinced Killer Frost to go after Cisco, it is entirely possible that it could be because Cisco can do something to him.

Until next week!