Follow by Email

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

My Review of The Originals 1.08- The River in Reverse

We learn why to never piss off an Original vampire, Elijah feels the effects of Klaus’ bite, Rebekah makes a choice as does Marcel, and Klaus achieves a goal….

I know I have been talking about why one should never piss off an Original vampire, but I did not truly get it until we saw Klaus in action tonight.  His rampage through Marcel’s men was most impressive.  Ok, beyond impressive, it was freaking terrifying.  It is pretty rare to see an Original on a tear and that was exactly what was up with Klaus tonight.  He went to Marcel’s in order to take Marcel down and he succeeded in a spectacular manner.  Even though it looked, at first, like he would fail, he wolfed out and tore through Marcel’s people with an unmatched ferocity.  He had to have killed at least 20-30 vampires on his own before Marcel picked up that coin and surrendered.  Rebekah was truly terrified at Klaus’ ferocity.  I must admit that I was wondering if she was pretending to turn on Klaus, but it became fairly obvious that she was not pretending and that she was truly horrified at the violence Klaus was displaying and frightened for Marcel’s life.

In spite of all that, I have to side with Klaus in this particular argument with his siblings.  Although Elijah and Rebekah have ample reason to distrust Klaus and doubt his motives, he was honestly interested in bringing his family together to take the city and to raise his child.  Their choices and doubts merely served to reinforce his doubts about family and the trustworthiness of other people.  Had they chosen to give him the benefit of the doubt one more time, they (and he) would be in a much better place.  Given everything, I do get why they doubted him and why they made the choices that they did, but it is hard to blame Klaus for feeling betrayed and alone.  And a lonely, paranoid Klaus is not a good thing.

It was nice to get an explanation from Elijah about why he continues to give Klaus the benefit of the doubt despite his many betrayals.  Elijah believes that it is the goal of his life to help save Klaus from himself.  Wonderful sentiments and a worthy goal, but unless the Originals can break this destructive cycle of betrayal and deceit, this goal will never happen.  Which leaves Elijah in a bit of a quandary:  how long can a man of honor continue to help and support someone who is as violent and deceitful as Klaus is?  On the one hand, Elijah is trying to be there for Klaus and help moderate his impulses, but on the other hand there are times when Klaus goes too far and Elijah needs to take drastic steps to stop him.  There is also the matter of Klaus constantly daggering his siblings if they displease him, although that is moot now that Klaus has given the dagger to Elijah.  All in all, it is an incredibly messy situation that has no real satisfactory answer.

Then there is Hayley who is a major bone of contention between Klaus and Elijah.  She is bearing Klaus’ baby, but she and Elijah clearly have feelings for each other.  This is adding yet another log to the fire of Klaus’ paranoia.  He is honestly trying to be a good father for his son, but he is being doubted at every turn, hounded by witches, and his brother has the gall to fall for the mother of his child.  Yes, this makes an already messy situation even messier.  Klaus clearly looks at Hayley as his possession (mush as he viewed Elena as his) and Elijah’s feelings are threatening both his family and his hold over Hayley.

It was also nice to get some background on Hayley and her family.  As a result of a witch’s curse (at Marcel’s instigation), her family (or at least some of it) spends most of their time as wolves and turn into humans by the full moon.  So she really needs the protection offered by the Originals from Marcel.  If Marcel were to get his hands on her, he would have leverage against Klaus and he would have a werewolf from a clan he tried to wipe out.

We did get to see Klaus’ softer side where Camille was concerned.  He is using her as a (compelled) sympathetic ear and as someone to record his thoughts and feelings.  But she is seriously resisting him and he seems afraid that if she continues digging into what happened with her brother, she will be killed.  Methinks that he has honest feelings for her and wants to protect her if possible.   Unfortunately, she managed to slip herself a message about him and has proof that he and Marcel are not what they appear.  Oops….

I was also happy to see that Rebekah was having none of Tyler’s talk about killing the baby.  While she has no problem taking down Klaus, she definitely has a problem when it comes to harming the baby.  That is actually the crux of the problem between her, Elijah, and Klaus.  All of them want to protect the baby, but Rebekah and Elijah think that they must protect the baby from both Klaus and others.

So, we have next week and then the winter hiatus.  Until then!

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Some Awkward. Thoughts

Dunno if you watch the show Awkward., but I do and I love it.  Started in the second season (couldn't watch the first for various reasons), but it very quickly became a show that I love to watch.  I just wanted to share a few thoughts about the recent events in regards to Jenna and Collin.

First off, I want to say that I do not have a favorite relationship in this show where Jenna is concerned.  I think that Matty, Collin, and Jake are each great for her, albeit in different ways.  Matty is someone who draws her out of her shell and really cares about her.  He is also tremendously loyal to her.  She also makes him a better person.  The amount that he has changed since he has started dating her is truly astonishing.  Jake tends to be a little more boring and boy-next-door, but that lack of drama is really good for Jenna.  She can be so wacky that having someone around who calms her down is a wonderful thing.  Until recently, Collin has been someone who appreciated Jenna for who she was and really made her feel special.  With Matty (and a certain extent Jake), she felt that she wasn't good enough for the relationship.  With Collin, she had people affirming that she was good enough and worthy enough for the relationship.

That leads me to my reason for writing.  In the first part of the season, Collin was pretty much a good guy.  Granted, it is hard to call a guy who chases a girl with a boyfriend good, but Collin (aside from that) basically was.  He appreciated Jenna's writing and her talents.  He and Jenna are very much alike in that they have very similar interests and thoughts.  So, while I didn't like the fact that she cheated on Matty, I could totally see why she did so.  Collin is as gorgeous as Matty is (albeit in a different way), smart, a writer, has friends who appreciate her, and talks with her about what he is feeling.  Which is why when they suddenly decided to turn Collin into a pot-smoking, drug taking slacker I was very upset.  I am not upset by the characterization per se, but rather by the fact that is suddenly cropped up (seemingly) in order to demonstrate how big of a mistake Jenna made.

I resent this sort of blatant manipulation and character assassination which seems to have been done in order to make Collin look bad.  Had they said something in the first half of the season about Collin having issues like this, I would not be upset at all.  But, instead, the writers chose to completely change a character in order to make him look bad and that is so not cool.  Yes, characters do change and develop over time, but this is in no way, shape, or form a natural progression.  Rather, it is a sudden and dramatic change for no really good reason.  Other shows have done something similar (see One Tree Hill and various contrived Naley "affair" dramas for an example) and I have said similar things about those.  I get that shows need drama, but if you are going to do drama, I, for one, would appreciate it if shows could avoid such contrived drama and character twisting.  Be true to the characters that fans have come to love (or hate) and let what happens naturally happen.

Sunday, November 24, 2013

My Review of Vampire Diaries 5.08- Dead Man on Campus

Elena and Caroline relax post-Silas, Bonnie settles into her life as the anchor, Stefan continues to recover from getting his memories back, Damon goes hunting for information, and Katherine searches for information....

So, your best friend comes back from the dead.  So, what is the first thing you do?  Throw a massive party, of course!  Well, that's what you do if you are Elena or Caroline.  And of course, it's not a party without a few complications.  The main one comes courtesy of a vampirized Jesse.  First, he attacks Dr. Maxfield and then his roommate (Aaron).  Fortunately for Aaron, Caroline arrived in time to save his life and teach Jesse how to be a vampire.  Those scenes were fun.  Elena and Caroline are committed to having fun and show Jesse how to do so.  Unfortunately for Jesse, he was injected with blood that made him desire vampiric blood rather than human blood.  More on the consequences of that in a bit.

Cannot say I am terribly fond of how Caroline is treating Damon at this point.  I get that she is a huge Stelena fan and all, but Damon has showed that he has changed since he first arrived in Mystic Falls.  While he is not the best guy in the world, he is a better man than he was.  From the way Caroline was talking about him, you'd think he was still out randomly killing people the way he used to.  I am sure that some part of Caroline's hostility comes from how Damon treated her in the first season.  But since then, he has proven himself to be remarkably loyal to Elena and her friends.

I do understand Caroline reaction to Elena killing Jesse, but given the fact that he desired vampire blood, he was a danger to Elena, Stefan, Damon, and Caroline.  Could he have been taught to not drink blood?  Possibly, but given his reaction to Caroline and Damon's blood, it is hard to say.  I know that Caroline was upset to have lost another guy she likes, but it was necessary and ultimately for the best.

I would so not want to be Bonnie right now.  Feeling the death of every supernatural being as they cross over has to suck.  Between that and her ability to cross between the worlds (which was pretty cool), her life is about to be a lot more interesting.  I do wonder why Jeremy was unable to see the people as they were crossing over.  Can he only see people he knew on the Other Side or can he see anyone?  And I was right, Bonnie cannot be both a witch and the anchor.  Since she is now the anchor, she is no longer a witch.  Although now that I think about it, another interesting question arises.  Will Bonnie live a normal length life or is being the anchor going to lengthen her life?  If she lives a normal length life, does that mean that the Other Side will disappear when she dies or will someone else become the anchor?

Stefan is not having an easy time adjusting to life with all of his memories.  Katherine is being very helpful in this regard.  Giving Stefan the idea to focus on the names of his victims gives him something to ground him and acts as an almost meditative device to help him through the rough patches.  It was nice to see Katherine work with him, Nadia, and Matt.  Speaking of Matt, he is now free of Gregor who was possessing him.  Unfortunately for Nadia, that means that Gregor is now dead at Katherine's hands.  Not exactly good for mother-daughter bonding.

So Damon was a vampire caught by the Augustinians.  Huh, that was an interesting piece of information.  I wonder what they did to him.  It was during the 1940s or 1950s, so Stefan (presumably) wasn't talking to him, which is why we have never heard about it before (ok, yes there are other reasons, but in-story, this is why).  Given the way Damon reacted to Dr. Westfield, he did not have any fun while the "guest" of the Augustinians.

We'll be back on December 5th!  Have fun until then!

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

My Review of The Tomorrow People 1.07- Limbo

Stephen has some fun and experiences backlash, Cara tells John about last week, and we see a criminal Tomorrow Person...

Stephen definitely deserved some of the flack he got this week, but some of it was entirely unearned.  He did abuse his powers in the basketball game and he did sleep with Cara, so the reactions of John and (to an extent) Jedekiah were completely understandable.  Can't say I felt for Astrid.  After all, she was the one who encouraged him to use his powers for fun.  Then, when she saw him kissing another girl, she went a crazy on him.  Maybe I missed something, but I saw no evidence of the massive personality change she was talking about.  She was acting like he had killed a bunch of puppies or something.  Given the fact that he thought that the party was for the basketball team, I get why he didn't invite her over.  And she only has herself to blame for him not kissing her.  So while I may feel bad that her feelings were hurt, that is more or less cancelled out by her complete overreaction to the situation.  I ain't saying she needs professional help, but she does need to figure out what she wants and talk with Stephen rather than going all psycho on him.

I do also think that Jedekiah overreacted somewhat.  Or, maybe it would be better to say that he overreacted to the party.  He said that Stephen used his powers to throw the party, to which I say "Huh???"  Did I completely miss something?  The only evidence I saw of powers regarding the party was when Stephen saved the vase from breaking and the stoner saw him.  Unless Jedekiah merely meant that the party would not have happened if Stephen hadn't used his powers in school and gotten on the basketball team.

I was amused by John's actions during the basketball game.  Sure, it was seriously petty, but it was also funny.  Since Stephen wasn't seriously hurt and no lasting damage was done, it was not that bad.  Now, the punching was a different matter.  The thing is that Stephen and John represent two very different ways to deal with what is going on.  Stephen is trying to integrate the Tomorrow People into society, whereas John has internalized Ultra's idea of keeping the two groups separate.  They are also both in love with Cara and she in love with them.  This is going to be seriously messy and I really hope it doesn't drag on too long, because love triangles can be seriously annoying.

I was impressed (but not surprised) that Stephen went after the rapist without his powers.  Stephen spent most of the episode being told that he was a useless screw-up and he wanted to change that, so he did.  He is not perfect, but he is a genuinely good guy who makes mistakes.  Unfortunately, he also needs a certain amount of protection at this point, although I hope that changes soon.  I can't say I was surprised that Cara could hear him because Stephen has already demonstrated that things that limit the abilities of others don't necessarily limit him.  Seeing his dad was really interesting.  I wonder what Thatnoss (probably spelled wrong) is/was and why it is important.

In two weeks, the next new episode, so see y'all then!

Thursday, November 14, 2013

My Review of The Vampire Diaries 5.07- Death and the Maiden

Someone returns, a few leave, there are dopplegangers galore, and we prepare for the next phase....

Amara, Silas, and Tessa are all dead.  Unfortunately for Silas, the other side still exists because Tessa used the blood of the three Petrova dopplegangers to transfer the anchor for the other side from Amara to Bonnie, thus bringing Bonnie back to life with some unintended consequences.  Bonnie will now feel the death of every supernatural creature before they go to the other side.  That is so not going to be fun.  I suspect that Silas and Tessa will be back at some point because they are both on the other side whereas Amara is not.  So now we have 2 people who can talk to people on the other side: Jeremy and Bonnie.  This should be interesting.

I did love watching Silas and Tessa face off against each other.  Neither could really hurt the other with magic, so Silas resorted to throwing a poker through Tessa's shoulder.  I was a little surprised that Silas was able to interfere with the transference spell.  I get that he is powerful, but I thought she was powerful enough to be able to stop him.  Although she was casting a major spell at the time, so it is possible that he was able to get in that way.  I have to say that I loved Silas' scene at the bus stop.  Warped, granted, but it was lots of fun.  His ruminations were giggleworthy and the look on the peoples' faces was just funny.  When the guy started puking up liquified organs, that was pretty gross but still sort of cool.

Caroline now knows that Nadia is Katherine's daughter.  I wonder if she'll do anything with the information or not.  I don't know if the gang even knew that Katherine had a daughter, although I guess she would have had to have one in order for Elena to exist.  Katherine is dying and only has a few months left to live, which totally sucks for her.  It seems as if this is the price for resuming humanity.  That and the fact that vampire blood is no longer efficacious when it comes to healing the remortalized person.  Unfortunately, there is apparently no cure for what Katherine is going through unless Bonnie can come up with some magical solution.  Which brings up a new point.  Is Bonnie still a witch?  Since she is the anchor to the other side, does she still have magical abilities or is this like being a vampire when you can only be one or the other?

Stefan is going to have to continue to live with the memories of what happened to him over the summer.  Elena is trying to help him move beyond it, but it is going to take some time.  I suspect that Damon will want to help, but it will not be easy on any of them.  Stefan was hoping that Damon and Elena would rescue him, but they did not.  Sucks to be him.

So, the next phase of the story is apparently going to be about the secret society back on the college campus.  I wonder if Bonnie, Elena, and Caroline will go back to campus or not.  If they do, Elena may have to do some fancy talking to get around the fact that Katherine pretended to be her and that she cannot go into certain buildings without permission.

Until next week!

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

My Review of The Tomorrow People 1.06- Sorry for Your Loss

Russell loses his father, Stephen loses a partner, a breakout emerges, we learn a little something about Jedekiah, and Stephen and Cara get a little closer...

Russell is a damn fine piano player.  That was not something I would have expected to learn about him.  I have to admit that I was a little amused to see that he used his telekinetic abilities to play the piano, even if it was unconsciously.  It was nice that he and his dad had a minor rapprochement before he left in the form of his dad actually smiling at him before he left (assuming that was real and not Russell's imagination).  It was also nice to finally get some backstory on Russell since he is the only one of the major Tomorrow People who we have not learned a lot about yet.  Using his abilities to cheat at poker was not smart.  Understandable, but still not smart.

Stephen seriously needs to have some faith in himself.  He is a great leader if he does what he thinks is right and doesn't doubt himself.  No, he doesn't have the training that John has, but he does have something else: a life outside of the conflict.  Between that and his compassion, he can be a great leader.  He does have to realize that not everything is his fault.  What happened to Darcy was a result of her actions.  If she had not told Ultra where to find her sister or if she had chosen to simply teleport away with Stephen and her sister earlier, things would have been different.  Granted, the second choice could have gotten her in trouble, but at least she would have been alive.  As it is, her sister is with the rest of the Tomorrow People and Stephen is riddled with guilt.

I was glad to see that Cara is able to see the wisdom in Stephen's approach.  Giving up all connections to your human life may be pragmatic, but it cannot be easy to deal with.  Yes, yes, I do get that it is better for all involved because it helps to protect the people you care about, but it is still obviously hard to deal with.  Stephen is reminding the group what it is like to be human again and reminds them that there is more to living than simply surviving.  He saved Irene and protected her while she was in the hospital, he is helping to keep the group informed about what Ultra is doing, and he is the son of their saviour.

Then there is the kiss.  Ok, kisses.  The first one was completely understandable.  Cara and Stephen were caught between two groups of Ultra agents, so Stephen decided to protect them and do something he has obviously wanted to do for some time by making out with her.  Completely understandable.  Not the best move, but understandable.  The second kiss was definitely less so.  The two of them definitely like each other, so there is no surprise there, but given that it happened while John was away?  Not good.  When he finds out about this, all hell is going to break loose.  He is not terribly fond of Stephen as it is, and this is just going to make matters worse.  Any guesses about where they were headed when they teleported out?

Stephen definitely needs to be careful with Astrid.  Between spying on Ultra, working for Ultra, working for the Tomorrow People, and now protecting Astrid, he is going to be a busy boy.  I don't know how she'll take the protection thing, but she will definitely need it, particularly if Ultra finds out about her.

If Ultra finds out that Jedekiah is schtupping a Tomorrow Person, it will be bad.  I cannot imagine that they will take that sort of fraternization well.  I do want to know who exactly she is.  At first, I thought she might be his daughter or something.  Then she loosened his tie and they were kissing, so I am assuming that she is someone else entirely.

I do want to say one thing about the previews for next weeks episode.  The whole "abuse his new powers" thing is an episode I would have expected much earlier, say in the second or third episodes *BEFORE* he knew how dangerous Ultra was.  I am really curious how they wil have him justify using his abilities that way.

Until next week!

My Review of Arrow 2.06- Keep Your Enemies Closer

Diggle goes to find Lyla, Oliver and Felicity tag along with an unintended guest, Moira's lawyer makes a demand of Thea, Roy runs into a little spot of trouble, and we learn a little more about Oliver on the boat....

After failing to help Diggle with Deadshot last season, Oliver is determined to help now.  And good thing he was there, because the plan would never have succeeded without Oliver's intervention.  I want to know what it was that Oliver said to that guy in the to get him to back off so quickly.  I would assume it had something to do with Oliver's place within the hierarchy of the Russian crime syndicate, but it could have been something else entirely.  Between that, Oliver's contacts in Russia, and Oliver coming to help Diggle fight his way out, he was absolutely vital to the escape.  It was nice to see Oliver makeup for what happened last time, even if his actions when Deadshot was in Starling City were understandable.

Isabelle definitely got under Oliver and Felicity's skin.  Ok, she got under more than Oliver's skin, but let's just leave it at that ok?  I do wonder if she and other people really think that Oliver is sleeping with Felicity or if that was her way of getting a dig in at Oliver.  I do get why people would think that something is going on, but I would not put it above Isabelle to say something in order to get into Oliver's head.  She is definitely starting to suspect that there is more going on than then is obvious on the surface, so Oliver needs to be ultra careful.

I was impressed with Diggle's restraint.  Granted, he did make a promise to Deadshot about getting out, so honor did prevent him from doing anything, but it still seemed to be a close call.  I was a little surprised to hear that he an Lyla were married.  That was definitely unexpected, although it does explain a lot about why he called her for help and why he will move heaven and earth in order to help her out if she needs it.

I was definitely annoyed that Thea listened to the lawyer and dumped Roy.  I think that, had she explained what was going on, he would have agreed to a break in order to help her out.  No, it wouldn't have been easy on either of them, but I still think he would have agreed to it in order to help Thea and Moira.  Her excuse for breaking up with Roy was pretty lame and totally transparent.  I was very happy that Moira cut that nonsense off at the knees and prevented Thea from making a huge mess out of everything.

Roy did the smart thing when he told Officer Lance about who he was working for.  Lance has come to respect the Arrow and knows that people working for him are not bad people.  Besides, Roy was helping to bring down bad guys, so it was not as if he did something horrible.  Thea's face when she saw Roy in the station was sort of funny.  She was so exasperated and then completely perplexed when she realized he was being released without being charged.

Slade and Shado survived the attack on the island, but now they are being threatened again.  The Japanese were apparently intent on creating super soldiers and had a serum of some sort on a submarine that was attacked and sunk by the island.  That is what the people on the boat are looking for.  Sarah was pretty convincing this episode.  I am surprised that Oliver is trusting her right now.  I suspect that she does something to redeem herself.  Either that or she was under duress when she betrayed him in this episode and he knows it.

Until next week!

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

My Review of The Originals 1.07- Bloodletting

Klaus and Elijah confront Marcel, Rebekah returns, someone from Mystic Falls pays a visit and wreaks havoc, and Davinna makes a new friend....

In case you missed it from the multiple stories this week, Tyler came from Mystic Falls and paid Klaus a visit.  Or rather, he kidnapped Hayley in order to get revenge on Klaus and stop what he thought was Klaus' nefarious scheme.  I say the last part because I honestly do not think that Klaus was planning to do what Tyler thought he was planning to do.  Basically, Tyler thought that Klaus was going to use the blood of the baby in order to create new hybrids.  I will grant that it is possible that Klaus was lying when he said that he was planning on doing this, but I doubt it.  The problem is that Tyler is so blinded by his (understandable) hatred of Klaus that he does not even stop to consider that Klaus may be telling the truth.  Also, what Tyler does is awful.  Not quite Klaus-level yet, but Tyler is definitely headed there.

Elijah not believing Klaus is also understandable.  Look at everything Klaus has done and explain why he should be believed.  I was glad that Elijah realized (too late) that Klaus was being honest.  The problem is that now Klaus basically considers himself to be alone and somewhat cornered.  That is a bad thing because Klaus is liable to lash out in unpredictable and violent ways right now.  Hopefully Rebekah can keep him somewhat even-keeled, but that is doubtful.  Klaus is paranoid and feeling abandoned, not to mention that he has a massive inferiority complex where Elijah is concerned.  All in all, this is not a good situation.

And Marcel is looking to make the situation even worse.  By plotting with Rebekah to take Klaus down, Marcel is going to play right int Klaus' paranoia.  With Elijah sick and being cared for by Hayley, Marcel and Rebekah (possibly) teaming up against him, and his pet vampire (Josh) freed from his compulsion, Klaus is going to be alone and incredibly dangerous.  Throw Tyler and his accusations into the mix and watch this recipe for a disaster explode at the slightest provocation.

The question is going to be where Davinna falls in this whole mess.  She likes Elijah and Klaus injured him, so I doubt she'll end up siding with Klaus.  She may side with Marcel since he has promised to help her with the other witches, but that is not a sure thing.  If Elijah gets better and comes to her, she may end up siding with him.  Her power will most definitively tip the scales of this particular war.

Watching her with Josh was just fun.  Well, other than the parts where she was scrubbing his brain free from Klaus' compulsions anyways.  It was nice to see her bond with someone in a normal adolescent way, particularly when they were talking about the weirdness that is their lives.  Hopefully they'll be able to continue this interesting bond in future episodes because it was very, very cool.

We'll be back in two weeks with a new episode, so until then, have fun!

Thursday, November 7, 2013

My Review of The Vampire Diaries 5.06- Handle With Care

Silas is mortal and on a quest to die with help from Jeremy and Damon, Caroline and Katherine investigate Professor Maxfield, Tessa plots against Silas, and we find the anchor for the spell that created the other side (and is it a doozy!)...

Watching Caroline and Katherine work together was completely amusing.  Caroline hates Katherine but she realizes (as Katherine rightly pointed out) that she needs the help from the plotting doppleganger to get the information to protect herself and Elena.  Katherine did a good imitation of Elena and the look on the woman's face (was she a professor?) when "Elena" walked into the house uninvited was hilarious.  I think that gobsmacked covers it.  Maybe Katherine will be able to infiltrate the group (forgot the name) and find out about their "tame" vampire.

She also needs to work with Doctor Maxfield to figure out what is up with her.  Between the streak of white hair and the tooth falling out, Katherine is seriously worried about her mortality.  I think it is fairly obvious that whatever happened to her after Silas drank her blood is slowly killing her.  I suspect that she lost the magic that was in her blood when Silas drank from her which is probably why she is slowly decaying.  Not sure why, but that is my guess.

Now for the trippy part of the episode.  It turns out that the reason the Petrova dopplegangers exist is because Qetsiyah didn't kill Amara, but made her immortal and then used her as the anchor for the spell to create the other side.  That was a very interesting  and nasty surprise.  By anchoring the spell in Silas' love and making her immortal, Qetsiyah virtually guaranteed that Silas would find it almost impossible to break the spell and be reunited with Amara forever.  Now, however, we have 2 human dopplegangers and 1 vampire.  Amara drank from Silas (who had the cure in his blood now) and became mortal, Katherine is already mortal, and Elena is human.  Also, the gang has to protect Amara in order to be sure that she can be used to destroy the other side after Bonnie is brought back.  Like I said, trippy.

Tessa is a seriously vindictive bitch.  Not without reason, but she definitely is taking things too far.  Not content to simply take out her anger on Silas, she has widened her wrath to include Elena, Damon, and Stefan.  Granted, Stefan betrayed her in order to protect Elena so that is part of the reason, but Elena has never done anything to Tessa other than look like Amara.  Then again, Tessa is obviously not entirely rational given the depth of her hatred and her desire for revenge, so there is that.  Restoring all of Stefan's memories in one fell swoop was an interesting method of revenge.  I suspect that Stefan will be able to adapt, but it will be interesting to see how his time in the safe affects him.

Will the gang be able to bring Bonnie back?  In large part, that answer depends on whether or not Silas is dead.  If Silas is dead, then I don't see any way for Bonnie to be brought back unless Tessa can be persuaded to do the spell (extremely long shot at best).  If Silas is alive, there will be the challenge of persuading him to kill Amara in order to destroy the anchor for the other side.  Good luck with that one.

Until next week!

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

My Review of The Tomorrow People 1.05- All Tomorrow's Parties

Stephen and John actually agree on something and then have a disagreement, a party goes bad, and Stephen meets Jedekiah's boss/partner....

Well, Stephen is officially in a serious pickle.  He is completely disturbed by what Ultra did to the Tomorrow People, but he also seemed to be bothered by what John and Cara did.  Thank goodness he can talk with Astrid now.  The only problem is going to be making sure that she is safe from both sides.  I loved the look on her face when he teleported with her to that spot where they first met.  That was so cool.  Unless something changes pretty drastically, I don't see her letting him go any time in the near future.

While John and Cara's reaction to what Kurt did may have been somewhat understandable, it was also deeply disturbing.  They acted like he purposely betrayed them, when what actually happened was that he was caught and saved himself.  Did he do the right thing?  No, but it was understandable.  I was also disturbed by the fact that she was so willing to use that serum to strip Kurt of his powers when she and John have railed against Ultra using it.  I think the problem lies in the fact that Ultra views the Tomorrow People as dangerous and is trying to wipe them out and the Tomorrow People view humans as lower lifeforms wholly separate from them and are fighting desperately for survival.  That particular combination makes for bad events.

As I've said before, I think that Stephen has the right idea.  He is maintaining contact with humans to keep his humanity, while simultaneously working to stop Ultra and help the Tomorrow People.  I realize that it is not a viable alternative for all of the Tomorrow People, but it may be viable for some of them.  But then you get into the question of what happens if Ultra catches them.  Unfortunately, there are no good or satisfactory answers to the problem.  John and Cara are being very pragmatic and are (unfortunately) losing touch with their humanity.

I wonder how much information Jedekiah's partner/boss got out of Stephen's head.  If Stephen is as powerful at blocking as he is elsewhere, then not much could have been retrieved.  I do want to note that just because Kurt confessed to passing the information under duress, that does not mean that nothing was taken from Stephen's head.  Also, Stephen made a mistake when he took the geneticist to the hospital.  While it was a good thing, by leaving her there he left open the very real possibility that Ultra may be able to get their hands on her and then on the rest of the Tomorrow People.

When Cara realized just what had been done to John, the look on her face was interesting.  She is insisting that she is only disturbed because he wasn't honest with her, but I also think that the fact that he can kill is not pleasing to her.  I do wonder if that is part of the reason that she reacted to Kurt the way she did.  If she felt that she had something to prove to John, then her reaction is completely understandable.  Not good, but understandable.

Until next week!

My Review of Arrow 2.05- League of Assassins

We get backstory on Sarah, trouble for the Lances, bad news for Moira, and an incredibly brassed off Oliver....

So, after the Queen's Gambit sank, Sarah was rescued by the people on the freighter and at some point turned into the person she is today.  Hopefully they'll explore exactly what happened because I am really curious how she went from who she was to who she is now.  At some point, she joined the League of Assassins and later left after a bad experience on an assignment.  I wish they had gone into more detail tonight, but they didn't.

Oliver's shock when he saw the assassin dressed like Malcolm was truly something to behold.  It was like his worst nightmare came to life.  Malcolm Merlyn was the hardest enemy that Oliver had to face, so to see someone like him was a nasty shock.  What made it even worse is the fact that the person Oliver faced was the man who trained Malcolm.  I do want to know when exactly Malcolm found time to leave his company, get the training he needed, and join the League of Assassins.  Also, I am surprised that they didn't seem to give him any assignments.  Either he was more valuable to them doing what he was doing, or he never really joined and was merely trained by them.

Attacking Sarah was not the smartest move.  While the assassins were highly trained, Oliver is not only trained well, but also quite pissed off.  Doubt me?  Witness his conversation with Felicity.  He was a man who needed to find someone to attack.  I truly think that if he had not been handed the assassins, he would have gone out and picked a fight.  If that had happened, I pity the poor person at the other end of that beatdown.  Oliver did better against Malcolm's teacher than he ever did against Malcolm.  I suspect that his anger gave him an edge he didn't have before.  Also, he is now fighting for something rather than just flailing around blindly on a course of revenge.

I must say that I half thought that Oliver was going to reveal who he was to Moira.  His conversation with her was ambiguous enough that he may very well have meant that the time for his secrets was over.  I do get why he is keeping his secret, and think he is right to do so, but if telling Moira his secret would have persuaded her to give up hers, I think he would have done so.  Should she have accepted the plea?  Probably, yes.  She was right when she said that the city is out for blood and hers is the most likely to be spilled.  Accepting the plea would have helped there and she could have told Oliver and Thea her secrets later.  At this point, whether or not she is convicted is a serious tossup.

I was glad that Sarah revealed herself to Officer Lance.  He needed to know the truth, but now he has to hide it from Laurel and his ex-wife, which will seriously suck.  That being said, out of everyone who doesn't already know about her, I think he was in the best place to find out.  He has plumbed the depths of his grief and knowing that she is alive could be powerful incentive for him.  Watching Sarah break that assassin's neck couldn't have been easy for him though.  But at least he now knows who exactly she is, which is a good thing.  I was impressed with how quickly he put all of the pieces together to realize who she was.  That was truly impressive.

Until next week!

Tuesday, November 5, 2013

My Review of The Originals 1.06- Fruit of the Poisoned Tree

Elijah and Klaus take drastic actions in response to a threat, Rebekah decides to leave, Marcel does some digging, and the witches learn why it is a mistake to piss off the Originals....

Did anyone not see Elijah killing that elder witch on his own?  After all, he planted that mile high loophole in his promise to Sophie.  He told her that his brother (Klaus) wouldn't kill her and that was it.  And he kept his promise.  He stopped Klaus from killing her and then killed her himself.  It can be hard to remember that Elijah can be as violent as Klaus is because Elijah is so cultured.  But if his ire is raised, it is best to make yourself scarce because he is absolutely deadly, as we saw tonight when he ripped out three hearts in a matter of seconds and then snapped the witch's neck with scarcely a pause.  It was funny to see the look on Klaus' face.  He was definitely enjoying the show.

I can't say that I was fond of the way Elijah manipulated Davina but I am not surprised that he did so.  The Originals have been working hard to keep Hayley's existence a secret from Marcel and if Elijah had been honest with Davina, it is possible that Marcel could have found out about what was going on.  Not that it mattered given the fact that Marcel found out anyway, but Elijah had no way of knowing that at the time.  When Davina finds out that Elijah concealed information from her, I am betting she'll be a wee bit upset.

I was a little disappointed that Rebekah went to leave.  Can't say I am surprised given the antipathy that exists between her and Klaus, but I was still disappointed.  At least we know she'll come back to help get Hayley back from Marcel.  Marcel has either forgotten how powerful the Originals are or he is overconfident.  Kidnapping the mother of Klaus' baby is a bad idea on so many levels.  Not only will Klaus be out for blood, but Elijah will as well.  Seeing as how his violence tonight was provoked by a threat to Hayley's life, I shudder at the implications for Marcel and his crew.  If Davina fights for Marcel, they may be able to hold the Originals off, but that's it.  If Davina does not intervene (or worse intervenes on Elijah's behalf), then Marcel doesn't stand a chance.  Klaus may allow him to live if he gets his hands on him, but Marcel better make plans to run or something.

The witches are now in serious trouble.  With all of their elders gone, they have no way to reaccess their magics unless Davina can somehow access them.  The only thing is that Davina refuses to allow herself to die, so they would have to find another way.  Lying to an Original has consequences as the witches discovered tonight.  I feel sorry for them.  I get why they lied, but lying to Elijah (in particular) or any Original is a bad idea.  Klaus and Rebekah may or may not take it phlegmatically, but Elijah generally doesn't unless he sees the reason as particularly good.

Watching Cami attempt to break free of Klaus ought to be interesting.  I do get why she is upset, but I have to wonder if she is overreacting slightly.  I think she was right to be worried about the lack of feeling in relation to her brother.  Where I think she overreacted was in her reaction to the witch being killed.  Was it disturbing?  Yes.  But it didn't exactly make her an accessory.  All she did was share with him some concerns about what happened to her brother, nothing accessory-like there.

Until next week!