Follow by Email

Thursday, October 30, 2014

My Review of Vampire Diaries 6.05- The World Has Turned and Left Me Here

Damon and Bonnie confront Kai, Alaric and Jo have a date, Stefan and Caroline have words, Tyler and Liv have a moment, and Elena gives Liam another chance…

Stefan has officially turned into the species known as douchebagus majorus.  Yes, that is what you call someone who keeps on dumping all of their problems onto other people and not dealing with the problems themselves.  Normally I’d be inclined to side with Stefan over Caroline, but in this case she was right.  He just doesn’t want to deal with anyone who reminds him of Damon, so he is cutting and running at the first possible moment.  I do get that he is in pain, but dumping your crap all over other people is just a bad idea, particularly when the person you keep dumping the problems on has feeling for you and you are taking advantage of them.

Stefan did have a point when he said that what happened to Ivy was partially Caroline’s fault.  If Caroline and Enzo hadn’t come looking for him, Enzo wouldn’t have killed Ivy.  That being said, if Stefan hadn’t run off and lied in the first place, Caroline wouldn’t have gone looking for him, so ultimately this was Stefan’s fault.  He just has to suck it up and deal.  Fortunately, Damon is now back and Stefan may be able to recover from his recent attacks of douchiness.

Of course, Damon being back does present a problem.  Elena has definitely started to move on thanks to the fact that she is refusing to allow Alaric to restore her memories.  I am seriously worried that when Damon finds out about what Elena has done, he will revert to his former ways and cause major issues.  I really hope he won’t, but given the fact that he does not react well to rejection, I fear the worst.

The one thing that may distract Damon from any revengey type thoughts is that he owes it to Bonnie to do his best to bring her back from Kai’s hell.  That is assuming, of course, that she is still alive.  She did take an arrow to the gut and Kai is pretty pissed, so it is possible that she is dead.  Honestly, I doubt it, but it is possible.  And did I detect a rather massive thaw in the relationship between Damon and Bonnie?  Methinks I did.

Alaric could potentially be in big trouble.  After the disaster that was a first date, he tried to compel Jo into leaving him, but it didn’t work.  So, is she on vervain or is she simply immune to compulsion for some reason?  I seem to remember Caroline’s dad also being immune to compulsion, so it could be someone taught them to discipline their minds or something else entirely.  If she is on vervain and knows about vampires, I am betting she is going to put the attempted compulsion together with Alaric’s reaction to blood and figure out what he is.

Is it weird that I thought that Liv smothering that guy was almost romantic?  Feels kind of twisted, but it was understandable.  Tyler was stressing out over the curse being activated again and she took the necessary steps to stop the possibility.  He’s right, he does owe her big time.  I just hope he doesn’t come to regret owing her.

And Tripp now has Ivy, which is so not a good thing.  She will probably break fairly easily and lead Tripp to Stefan and Caroline, which would be very bad.  Someone needs to deal with Tripp at some point.  I am also intensely curious as to who killed his wife.  I hope they don’t go predictable and make it Damon.

Until next week!

Monday, October 27, 2014

My Review of The Originals 2.04- Live and Let Die

Klaus goes to confront Mikael and drags Cami along, the wolves start to rebel against Esther, Elijah continues to mentor Gia and is involved in a massacre, and Kol finds Davina.

So much happened that I am not exactly sure where to start.  So let’s start with Klaus and Cami.  Searching for Davina, Klaus overhears her calling Cami and gives Cami the choice of talking Davina down or an unspecified something worse.  It was nice to see that Cami is still able to get through to Klaus.  She is the one human that he is comfortable around.  I think I might even go far as to say that she is the person he is the most comfortable around because she challenges him and doesn’t accept what he says at face value.  She knows who and what he is, but still tries to help him, which is totally cool.

Facing Mikael had to have been good for Klaus.  Despite everything, he still seems to need to prove himself to Mikael.  I suspect that Klaus let Mikael put the stake into his shoulder in order to be able to stab him with the knife.  Maybe I’m wrong, but it happened so fast that I can’t help but suspect it was purposefully.  Unfortunately for Klaus, he didn’t count on Mikael being able to suppress the pain of the knife long enough to actually remove it, which is so not a good thing particularly since Kol freed him from Davina’s bracelet.

Watching Elijah train Gia was interesting because he seemed to take bits and pieces of Mikael’s training without the almost sadistic edge that Mikael used to train Davina.  Like I said last week, Elijah is a good teacher and relating fighting to music was good for Gia because it gave her a frame of reference to use.  I have to admit that I laughed when he entered Marcel’s after the wolves left and snapped the vampire’s neck.  It was almost expected and definitely amusing.

Esther and Finn finally pushed the wolves too far.  Forcing the kids to kill in order to activate their curse was heartless by even the standards of their depraved standards.  The contemptuous disregard for the lives of the werewolves seems to have finally opened up the wolves’ eyes to how far they’ve fallen.  The worst part is that all of this is done to hurt Klaus and capture Elijah.  Sending the wolves to confront Elijah when they didn’t have a chance was almost as bad.  Wolves cannot stop Elijah or Klaus if their ire is raised.  The only beings able to stand against them are powerful witches or Mikael.

Hayley does need to realize that as long as the wolves are in Esther’s pocket, they are the enemy.  I get that they are her people, but since Esther is controlling them, they may need to be killed if necessary.  Taking down Esther is not going to be easy and there are going to be wolves killed unless more of them revolt like they did tonight.

Watching Josh make a love connection with Aiden was interesting.  Is this going to be a Romeo and Juliet style storyline?  Or maybe the two of them will somehow work to help bond different factions together against Esther and Mikael.  If Josh can bring along Davina and the vampires and Aiden brings along the wolves, they might just be able to defeat Esther.  Mikael is a completely different story.  Taking him down would require Klaus and Elijah working in tandem, possibly with a witch.  And if Davina can turn Kol against Esther, that would be even better.  Watching a witchy fight between Esther and Finn v. Davina and Kol would be interesting.

Until next week!

Thursday, October 23, 2014

My Review of Vampire Diaries 6.04- Black Hole Sun

Jeremy gets a much needed reality check, Elena learns how to start over and more, Stefan has a big mouth, Damon and Bonnie learn about Kai, Matt and Stefan both find themselves in WTF moments, and a parental bombshell of epic proportions is dropped…

Let’s start with that bombshell.  Dear readers, Sarah (aka the girl Elena drank from and Caroline compelled) is a Salvatore.  Her father is Zach Salvatore and her mother was Zach’s girlfriend who was killed by Damon.  Yeah, her many times great uncle killed both her mother and father.  Does that mean that the Salvatore mansion is now hers?  I assume not given the fact that I believe it was given to Matt (if my memory serves), but I could be wrong.

Speaking of Zach, turns out that Damon returned to Mystic Falls in 1994 in order to get back in Stefan’s good graces.  After Stefan rejected him because Damon fed off of Zach’s girlfriend, Damon killed her.  Somehow Sarah survived 3 months premature and spent time in the NICU.  Yeah, this is seriously messed up.  But that is why Damon and Bonnie are in 1994 Mystic Falls.  Not entirely sure how killing Sarah’s mom qualifies as Damon’s worst thing ever though.

But that point is moot because it turns out that Damon and Bonnie are not in Damon’s personal hell.  They are in Kai’s.  He was a member of a coven who cannot cast magic, but instead can suck it out of any witch he touches and then use it himself.  He killed his family and then the Gemini coven exiled him to this dimension as punishment.  So if Damon and Bonnie want to come back, they have to bring Kai with them because only he knows how to get back.

I cannot express how incredibly happy I was that Alaric finally decided to give Jeremy a badly needed 2x4 upside the head.  Jeremy is right, he has lost a lot but, as Alaric pointed out, Alaric has lost just as much, if not more.  It was good that Jeremy vented his frustration and rage on Alaric and just got it out there, because if he had kept on drinking, it would have ended badly.

I loved the scene with Elena and Stefan in the restaurant.  I had heard about the proposal and was seriously curious about it.  The whole invented dialogue was absolutely hilarious and appropriately over the top.  It’s too bad that Stefan has a big mouth and told Elena about what she had Alaric do.  To her credit, she didn’t get mad at anyone but instead went to Alaric to get answers.  That was a very good thing for her to do.  I don’t know if she’ll get her memories back, but if she doesn’t drama is guaranteed.

Poor Matt.  He pretends to know nothing about vampires, only to have Tripp take him to a location where Tripp is holding Enzo prisoner.  That is so not a good thing.  I so hope that Enzo reins in his mouth and doesn’t give away that he knows Matt.  I am really worried about who killed Tripp’s wife.  Given the fact that no one knew he was a Fell, I assume that he has been gone for a while, so presumably it isn’t any of our gang.  Damon is a definite possibility though.  As if he needs more trouble on his plate.

And Stefan’s dead girlfriend?  Not so dead after all.  Enzo fed her his blood before he killed her and she is back and hungry.  Oh boy…

Monday, October 20, 2014

My Review of The Originals 2.03- Every Mother's Son

We get a bit more Mikaelson history, the dinner party from hell, some seriously twisted “love”, and an effort to ensure the past doesn’t repeat itself…

Wow, Esther is seriously twisted.  The part that really weirds me out is that I think she honestly believes herself when she says that she is doing what she is doing out of love.  She is worse than Mikael is.  At least he is honest about being a monster.  Esther, on the other hand, has deluded herself into thinking that what she is doing is about loving her children and “releasing” them from the curse of immortality she laid upon them.  She is so convinced that she is doing the right thing that she is willing to destroy everything Klaus and Elijah hold dear to force them to submit to her wishes.

Finn is almost as bad.  He has drunk deeply of the Esther kool-aid and is shocked when he thinks she might be letting up on Klaus and Elijah.  And he claims that Elijah kept him daggered because he was jealous of the fact that Finn is older?  Talk about delusions of adequacy!  Those two are seriously scary if only because they will never let up because they are convinced they are right and if you don’t agree with them, you must be forced to submit.  Kol, Klaus, and Mikael may be sadistic and monstrous, but (like I said) they own up to what they do.  This family needs serious therapy.

Klaus and Elijah had a good idea when they decided to keep track of who Esther hops to.  What would be even better would be if they could somehow bind her to one person.  Problem is I don’t know if any of the New Orleans witches have the power needed to bind Esther.  Davina probably has the power, but there is as much chance of her helping out Klaus and Elijah as a snowball has of surviving in the fires of perdition.

At least we know that Esther was a good mother once upon a time.  Well, sort of.  When I saw the necklace, I assumed it was a charm to keep the werewolf side of Klaus suppressed, which it was (sort of).  The fact that it weakened him so that he wouldn’t kill anyone thereby activating the werewolf curse was ultimately at the root of his problems with Mikael.  Well that and the fact that Klaus is the product of an illicit affair between Esther and a werewolf.  This is almost enough to make you feel sorry for Klaus.

Watching Elijah be a mentor to Gia should prove interesting.  He is patient enough to be a good teacher if he can manage to survive the onslaught that his parents will bring.  Elijah sees a chance to help Gia and save her from a fate similar that which befell his family and Marcel.  He and Klaus need to figure out a way to stand firm against their parents, which is not going to be easy.  Throw in Davina and this is not going to be pretty.

Ultimately, I hope Davina and Kol do the right thing and side with Klaus and Elijah against Mikael and Esther.  While both Klaus and Elijah may be ruthless, they are both infinitely better than either of their parents.  And since Kol is no longer a vampire, there may be a chance that he can be somewhat tamed.  Slim, granted, but hope springs eternal.

Then there is Hayley.  Unfortunately Esther got into her head and that is not a good thing.  It seems that Hayley is shaking it off, but I am worried about her now.  She is tempted, with good reason, but Klaus and Elijah do need her.

Until next week!

Thursday, October 16, 2014

My Review of Vampire Diaries 6.03- Welcome to Paradise

Post-Damon wiped Elena worries about everyone else, Caroline makes a confession, Enzo continues to be a dick, Stefan makes a surprising move, Matt and Tyler make a disturbing discovery, and Damon and Bonnie meet someone new….

Was anyone else slightly disturbed by Elena tonight?  I totally get why she is acting the way she is, but it is still odd to see her so happy all the time.  It is also really sad that it took a mindwipe to make her that happy.  At least she was able to notice that Caroline was not happy and tried to take steps to take Jeremy in hand.  Unfortunately for her, Sarah remembers everything that Elena did because the compulsion Caroline laid on her ended when she crossed the Travelers’ border spell.  This is not good.

That being said, I cannot blame her for running away.  Well, mostly.  To be honest, if I were hooking up with Jeremy, I don’t know if I could tear myself away.  Shameless?  Yes, but damn, is he good looking without a shirt or what?  (Ok, back to the episode now.)

I really hope Jeremy doesn’t just blow Elena’s words off.  I totally get why he is acting the way he is (look at what I said in the premiere about his history with girls), but he needs to buck up and help his sister out.  I hope that he, Matt, and Tyler can work together to figure out what is going on in Mystic Falls and maybe even find a way to bring down the barrier.

Which leads me to Caroline.  That poor girl is having some serious issues right now.  Her remaining best friend has been mindwiped (at her own insistence), her other best friend is (supposedly) dead, she can’t go back home, and the guy she likes is completely ignoring her and seemingly oblivious to her feelings.  At least Elena can concentrate on helping her out.  And unless I am very much mistaken, Elena has cleared the way for Caroline to pursue Stefan if she wants to.  Which is a good thing, because the guy Elena tried to hook her up with is more interested in Elena than her.

Half the time I want to kill Enzo and the other half I want to thank him.  I am glad he saved Stefan, but he is also almost as big of a dick as season 1 Damon was.  He has serious impulse control issues and seems to revel in the damage he can cause.  Caroline tried to warn him to keep a low profile, but Enzo really doesn’t care.  And Stefan certainly got a measure of revenge by shooting him with the stakes and leaving him for Tripp.

I must admit that Stefan is almost as big of a dick as Enzo is right now.  Granted, the revenge thing is totally understandable (or, laudable), but the way he is treating Caroline is just stupid.  He is so wrapped up in his need to get away that he is oblivious to the fact that she has serious feelings for him and has for some time.  Hopefully someone will slap him across the face with reality soon.

Tripp is training others to be vampire hunters?  Oh boy….  Well, at least Matt knows now, so he can keep an eye on things.  And Tyler needs to be careful with Liv.  That is a pairing I really don’t care for, but then again I can’t stand either character….

Bonnie has her magic back, which is good.  The bad news is that she and Damon have made a new acquaintance who claimed that he forced her to get her powers back to get out from whatever hell they are in.  Raise your hand if you actually trust this guy.  No hands?  Yeah, that’s what I thought.  Bad, bad, bad news…

Until next week!

Monday, October 13, 2014

My Review of The Originals 2.02- Alive and Kicking

Klaus and Elijah find out some disturbing information, Hayley takes charge, Esther continues to plot, Kol begins to waver, and we find out more about Elijah and Marcel’s relationship…

You have to feel for Elijah.  He is a fundamentally decent individual, but he keeps doing things that he would rather not do because he thinks that they will be in the best interest of his family.  This week showed him walking away from two individuals he cares deeply for because he thinks that these individuals may be able to help Klaus.  When Marcel was still young, we saw that he was very close to Elijah, but Elijah walked away because he wanted to keep Marcel close to Klaus, hoping to help Klaus keep some semblance of balance.  In the present, he walks away from Hayley for the same reason and because he thinks that Hayley needs Klaus.  Is he right?  Who knows.  Hopefully he’s right, but his unending quest to help Klaus become a better person seems to be futile given Klaus’ temperament.

Klaus has got to be terrified.  Not only is Esther back in the body of a young Harvest witch, but Mikael is also back and he has the white oak stake.  Those two are the two people he fears the most in the world and they are both back and out for his blood.  Davina has a tenuous hold on Mikael thanks to her bracelet, but as we saw tonight, if she loses it, Mikael is dangerous to her.  As much as she might hate it, she would do well to work with Elijah.  Klaus?  Not so much, but Elijah can be trusted as far as any Original can be trusted.

Esther has cause to worry too, but I don’t think she realizes it yet.  Kol is so ready to slip away from her.  The only thing keeping him close to her is the fact that she seems to control his existence in Kaleb’s body.  Other than Klaus, Kol is the most dangerous and unpredictable of the Original siblings.  He enjoys killing and is very uninhibited in his use of violence.  He also bears no love for Esther and would betray her in a heartbeat if he could do it and not suffer the consequences.  I suspect that he may try and use Davina to help him get away from Esther’s control.  The only problem is that he would probably have to tell her who he is and I don’t see her helping him under those circumstances.

You have to admire how Klaus played “good Hybrid, bad Hybrid” to get Hayley in with the pack.  He purposefully made himself into a menace that only she can hold back.  It was incredibly obvious, but effective.  She may not have full control of the pack, but she is in charge of a part of it and that is important.  Now she just has to figure out how to peel the rest of the pack away from Esther.  I suspect that will be easier said than done.  Anyone want to bet that Esther has done something to the moonlight rings that would harm any wolves who leave her?

What is there to say about Finn other than the fact that he is still the same Esther-whipped, will-less, self-hating flunky that he has been since we first met him?  Will he ever change?  Doubt it, but hope springs eternal.

Until next week!

Thursday, October 9, 2014

My Review of Vampire Diaries 6.02- Yellow Ledbetter

We explore Elena’s feelings for Damon, get to see where Damon and Bonnie are, Caroline and Enzo team up, Enzo and Stefan have a disagreement, Jeremy continues to spiral, and we learn some interesting information about Tripp….

It’s official, Elena’s feelings for Damon have officially been excised thanks to Alaric and Caroline.  After some serious exploration of her feelings for Damon, Elena hits a wall and can’t find the key memory that is at the root of her feelings for Damon.  Unsurprisingly, she was ready to give up and go back to Luke to get more drugs in order to get her feelings under control.  Fortunately, Alaric was persistent and decided to ask Caroline for some help.  Caroline told Alaric that Elena actually fell for Damon while she was still with Stefan and that the wall is her refusal to admit it.  After a very sweet talk about how lucky she was to be in love with two people in her short existence, Elena figures out that she fell for Damon when he gave returned the necklace Stefan gave her even knowing how important it was to her and Stefan as a couple.  After that?  Damon went from “He was my boyfriend, I loved him and he died.” to “He was Stefan’s brother.  He was a monster.  And he died.”  That sound?  That would be Delena fans screaming about that line…

Did Elena do the right thing?  Despite everything, I would say yes.  She was having trouble holding everything together and we all remember what happens when Elena the vampire starts to fall apart.  She turns off her emotions and turns into another Katherine.  This is going to be more than awkward when (yes, when not if) Damon returns unless Alaric can somehow reverse what he did.  I just wonder who Damon will be more pissed at: Elena for asking for the memories to be removed or Alaric for actually doing it.  And how will Enzo react to what Elena did given how he reacted (snapping Stefan’s lady friend’s neck) when Stefan moved on?

I am torn between annoyance at Caroline for making what Stefan did about her and feeling sorry that she was the only one who seemed to hold it together and then to find out that Stefan lied about what he was doing for months.  I get why she was upset that Stefan didn’t return her calls, but remember that he was on his way out of Mystic Falls anyway in order to give Delena room and he lost his brother.  While his way of moving on was harsh, it was also completely understandable.  Should he have lied?  Probably not, but if he hadn’t, people would definitely have come looking for him, so I can’t blame him for lying and wanting to put distance between himself and Mystic Falls.

Watching Damon and Bonnie be forced to be together and arguing over just whose hell they were in was amusing.  Turns out that they got put into some sort of weird time pocket where they are reliving the same day in 1994 (April 10th, I believe) over and over again.  Bonnie theorized that this was supposed to be just for her, but when she and Damon held hands, he was dragged along for the ride.  Apparently someone else was dragged along as well because Bonnie heard a sound and there was a crossword puzzle that she couldn’t finish that was inexplicably solved on its own.

Jeremy continues to drink to dull the pain of losing Bonnie.  He is also calling her phone (which he is paying for how?) and leaving angry voicemails.  He is also sleeping with Sarah, the girl Elena fed off of last week.  Turns out that her dad lives in Mystic Falls and she has decided to look for him.  Anyone want to bet that her dad is (was) Bonnie’s dad?

Tripp (the head of the civilian protection force) is a Fell and full well knows about vampires.  How do I know this?  Well, he said he was a Fell and the truck full of vampires he brought into the town and then burned to a crisp was a great indicator.  Given the history of the Fells on this show, this cannot be good.

Until next week!

Monday, October 6, 2014

My Review of The Originals 2.01- Rebirth

We reminded why the Originals are not to be trifled with when Klaus and Elijah execute a plan of revenge, we find out just who exactly Esther brought back with her, and why Marcel continues to fight for New Orleans….

When Esther came back at the end of last season, I suspected that it was Finn who came back with her, so I was not at all surprised when it was revealed that he was with her.  To be honest, he is my absolute least favorite Original, mainly because he is the least developed and also because he is such a slave to Esther’s will and plans.  But I nearly fell off of my bed (yes, I watch TV on my bed) when Kaleb was revealed to be Kol.  I was also seriously excited because aside from Elijah, Kol is my favorite Original.  It was also really nice that Daniel got to use his native English accent and not try to sound American like he did when he was Isaac on Teen Wolf.  Since Kol is (after Klaus) also one of the more unpredictable of the Originals, I am really curious as to why he has teamed up with Esther.

Now that the entire family (aside from Rebekah) is in New Orleans, there is going to be a particularly ugly war that is going to take place.  Davina has Mikael under her thumb, Esther has Finn (as a human) and Kol (as a witch), and Klaus and Elijah have Hayley.  This family feud is not going to end well for anyone particularly since neither Klaus nor Elijah seem to have an inkling that the rest of their family is back and in a bad mood.

At least Klaus and Elijah no longer have to worry about the werewolves.  Between Elijah, Hayley, and Marcel, the werewolves leaders have been taken out and the moonlight rings have been destroyed, restoring Klaus to his full power.  No matter how often it happens, I am still shocked at the sheer ruthlessness that Elijah is capable of.  He is normally so cultured that it is easy to forget that he can be as vicious as Klaus when his ire is raised.  And having all of the historic buildings declared public was a good move.  I would almost feel sorry for Francesca and her wolves, but they brought this entirely on themselves.  Family is of the utmost importance to Elijah and when they threatened Klaus, Hayley, and the baby, they crossed a serious line that demanded a response from Elijah, not to mention the personal offense that both Klaus and Hayley felt because they were targeted.  Yeah, that pretty much extinguished any twinge of pity that I may have felt for them.  And as for the painting in blood?  Yeah, Klaus took that one very literally (eeewww…..).

Cami is never going to escape the supernatural beings of New Orleans.  Not only has she been sleeping with Marcel, she helped Klaus and Elijah, and she has been targeted by Finn and Esther.  I am not sure why she is important to them, unless it is a matter of the fact that she is close to Klaus and Elijah.  I doubt it is that simple, but you never know.  And because Kol is getting close to Davina, Mikael is now within reach of Esther’s influence.  Having the two of them team up is even worse that what is happening right now.  Mikael has the stake and bears a hatred for Klaus that boggles the mind.  Esther has already tried to destroy her children during season 3 of The Vampire Diaries, so putting the two of them together will not be a good thing.  Of course, that assumes that they will actually work together and not try and destroy each other, which is almost as likely as the two of them teaming up.

Watching Klaus, Elijah, and Hayley navigate their way through the complicated relationship they have is going to be interesting.  Only Klaus has the experience to advise Hayley about what it is like to be a hybrid, but the two of them can barely stand to be around each other, so that is going to be interesting.  Add onto that the fact that Hayley is pushing Elijah away and you have the potential for a very, very complicated story.

I have to say that Marcel’s reason for sticking around is a good one.  He is fighting to preserve the city and all that it has to offer.  As such, he is a serious wildcard in the upcoming fight.  I suspect that he will team up with Klaus, if only because that is the best way to keep himself alive, but if Davina somehow manages to break the bond between Klaus and his line, then Marcel will probably align himself with whoever is more likely to win in order to make sure that New Orleans manages to stay around.

Speaking of wildcards, I honestly suspect that Kol will turn on Esther unless she somehow has him under her direct control.  Unless my memory is very bad, he turned on her when she tried to destroy him and his siblings and I don’t think that Klaus has done anything so bad recently that would cause Kol to want to kill him.  I could (of course) be wrong, but that is my suspicion.

This looks to be a very interesting season with the plethora of Originals in New Orleans.  Until nest week!

Thursday, October 2, 2014

My Review of Vampire Diaries 6.01- I'll Remember

Welcome back to a new season of The Vampire Diaries.  Tonight Elena goes to extremes to avoid mourning, Jeremy does some serious wallowing, Caroline is obsessing, and Stefan has given up.  Everyone else?  They’re dealing….

Not entirely sure if I am surprised that Elena is living in severe denial.  Granted, the lengths she is going to in order to avoid her pain is extreme, but remember what she did when Jeremy died?  Yeah, so not surprised here.  Using witchy herbs in order to give herself hallucinations of Damon, hunting humans on the periphery of the Travelers’ anti-magic spell, and utterly refusing to accept that Damon is gone is par for the course for vampire Elena in mourning.  Her request to Alaric to compel her to forget Damon?  Slightly surprising, but not out of character.  I am surprised that she hasn’t already turned off her humanity in order to avoid the pain.

Jeremy also deals with his loss in a completely unsurprising way.  Drinking, sitting around playing video games, and sleeping with different girls sounds like something someone in severe pain might just do.  Don’t forget, not only did he lose Bonnie, he also lost Elena and Alaric to the spell as well as his hunter abilities.  So yeah, not too surprised.  Then there is also the fact that every girl he has dated has been killed, so it is probably easier for him to me Ms. Right Now in order to avoid pesky emotional attachments.

Caroline’s method of dealing is actually fairly healthy.  She is looking for a way to shatter the Travelers’ spell, thereby enabling everyone to go home.  Not entirely sure that dropping out of school was the smartest idea, but given the amount of time this crew does not spend in school, I am not exactly surprised.  At least she gets to see her mom for picnics.

Stefan has fled to Savannah in order to start over.  I wonder if he was ever actually searching for a way to bring Damon and Bonnie back or if he simply decided early on to just forget it.  I’d like to think that he was actually searching for a way at first, but I can’t say that I would be shocked if he decided not to.  He definitely seems to want to wash his hands of Mystic Falls and start all over.  Yeah, so not gonna happen, but you can tell that is what he wants.  Maybe he think that he is finally giving Damon release after being the one to have turned him into a vampire in the first place.

Everyone else is pretty much dealing with their issues.  Alaric is teaching about the occult at Whitmore, Tyler is a student now and trying to avoid triggering the curse again, and Matt is working with a civilian protection group to protect the town.  The whole group has lost so much over the years, so it is not terribly surprising that they’re dealing with everything fairly well.  Tyler just really needs to learn how to keep that temper of his under control because if he wolfs out, it will be bad.  I wonder if he can remain in Mystic Falls as a werewolf.  I would assume he could because I believe that werewolves are naturally occurring and not magically created like vampires.

And what the heck was up with Damon and Bonnie at the end?  They appeared to be alive somewhere but with the Other Side gone, where the heck are they?

Until next week!