Follow by Email

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.23- Lian Yu

Oliver puts together quite the band to take on Chase and Talia and the flashbacks come full circle...

Well, as promised, the flashbacks are officially over.  The last set of flashbacks ended with Oliver putting on the costume we saw from the pilot and getting rescued.  I have to admit that I wondered if he was going to be rescued right then or if he was going to be on the island a bit longer.  We had been told last summer that the flashbacks would end this season, so I knew he would be rescued, the only question was whether he would be rescued by the crew Anitoly sent or not.  But he was and now that circle is closed.

The fight against Chase was as vicious as could have been expected.  Some of my guesses from last week were correct in general, even if the specifics were wrong.  Nyssa did fight Talia and Oliver did fight Chase, but, interestingly, Oliver chose to send Malcolm with Nyssa to find William while he and Slade went to find everyone else.  Slade has calmed down dramatically since we last saw him and actually worked very well with Oliver.  Malcolm also worked rather well, mainly because Oliver chose to keep him close to Thea, knowing that Malcolm would (and apparently did) die to protect her.  I say "apparently did" because, while we saw an explosion, we never actually saw Malcolm die, so there is always the possibility that he somehow survived.  Slim chance, I know, but without seeing some sort of proof, I will still list him as apparently dead.

The other thing I got right is that Slade did take on the minions, and he did quite well at it too.  Wild Dog and Diggle also did a good job fighting the minions in hand-to-hand combat.  I have to admit to being surprised at how easily Nyssa was able to defeat Talia.  I honestly thought that the fight would have lasted longer.  Instead, it was very brief and ended with Nyssa victorious.  The scream between the Black Siren and the Black Canary was sort of fun to see and I loved that Lance clocked the Black Siren upside the head to knock her out.

Putting the makeshift team together to save his friends and family was vintage Oliver.  As I've said many, many times before, he can be extremely pragmatic when the situation warrants it.  He knows he can trust Nyssa and he knows that he can trust Malcolm to protect Thea.  Other than having the information about his son, I'm not sure why Oliver thought he could trust Slade, but I am glad he did because Slade acquitted himself nicely in this fight.  Oliver doesn't like him, but knows that he can work with Slade if needed, and boy was it needed tonight.

What I am really curious about is how the hell Chase managed to plant and network that many bombs all over the island without ARGUS finding out about it.  Something about that is just really weird.  That said, I think I can overlook that plothole because the rest of the episode was so awesome.  Oliver told Chase that he wouldn't kill him, and he meant it.  He shot Chase in the leg with an arrow, but he didn't count on Chase being willing to kill himself in order to finish his revenge.

We know that the whole team isn't wiped out because Black Canary, Black Siren, and Wild Dog were all recently promoted to series regulars, so they (and presumably the rest of the team as well) got away from the explosions somehow.  Did they manage to get to the boat in time?  Or maybe they went into the ARGUS facility and escaped the blasts.  We'll just have to wait and see what happens when the show returns in the fall.

Until then!

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

My Review of The Flash 3.23- Finish Line

The team takes on Savitar with a result that wasn't predicted, but makes sense...

As I guessed last week, HR traded places with Iris and was killed as a result.  What I got wrong was when the switch happened.  I thought that someone had switched him and Iris while Savitar was running around, but HR had actually switched places with Iris earlier.  That was quite brave of him and, as I said last week, it makes sense because he felt guilty that he had inadvertently revealed where Iris was when he thought that Savitar was Barry.  The good news is that HRs death brought Harry back to help the team out.  While I did enjoy HR, Harry is my favorite version of Wells that we have met so far.

I must admit that I did think that Savitar was actually going to go down the path that Barry had suggested.  Well, I did until he was talking to Barry and Iris alone and he was talking about how hard it would be for him to find a place in the team.  At that point, I knew that he wasn't going to give up.  What I didn't expect was for him to cause the Philosopher's Stone to blow up (or whatever it did).  I'm not sure if he was trying to kill Barry and the gang or if he was trying to do something to distract them.

The final fight which pitted the Flash (Earth-1), the Flash (Earth-2), Kid Flash, Gypsy, and Vibe against Savitar and Killer Frost was pretty cool.  I think the coolest moment was when Barry vibrated his way into Savitar's suit and then cause it to explode.  That was pretty cool and reminded me of how Neo killed Agent Smith in The Matrix.  The part I really didn't expect was for Iris to shoot Savitar.  I totally get why she did it, but it was unexpected.  When I heard the shot, I half expected Joe to be the one with the gun, so seeing Iris be the one who shot Savitar was a twist that I didn't expect.

As for the ending, we know that Barry isn't going to be trapped in the Speed Force jail for longer than an episode or two.  I am working on the assumption that he will somehow get out of the jail either at the beginning of the premiere or right at the end.  My only question is how they will get him out without destabilizing the jail again and unleashing havoc on Central City.  If a speedster has to be in the prison, then someone will have to take his place.  The only other option that I can see is for them to somehow shut the prison down after they get Barry out.

Having Barry go to the prison is a fitting end to the season.  While the havoc he wrought was unintentional, Barry did make a lot of mistakes that he needed to pay for.  If he hadn't created Flashpoint, then Savitar would never have been created, the Dominators wouldn't have come to Earth, and the Reverse Flash wouldn't have been around to mess with reality using the Spear of Destiny.  My one question is why no one thought to see if Jay Garrick could have gone back in.  I do get that Barry sees this as his penance for what he has done, but if Garrick had volunteered to go back in, that would have put someone in the prison and stabilized it.

Then there is Caitlin.  She decided not to take the therapy that would have erased her metahuman cells, so she still has her powers.  However, she isn't Killer Frost anymore.  If she can figure out a way to use her powers without going all dark side, she would be very useful to the team.  She just needs to figure out how she can do that.

Overall, I can't say that I loved this season.  It was fairly uneven and a little too dark for this show.  Next season, they really need to bring back some of the lightness and fun from the first season.  With Barry being gone, I have to wonder how the team will cope.  Wally will have to step up and protect the city and everyone else will have to go on with their lives.  I just hope that not too much time passes between now and when Barry is freed.  I also hope they don't have Iris go down a path where she obsesses over how to get Barry back.  This will put a crimp in their relationship, methinks.

Until the fall, have fun!

Thursday, May 18, 2017

TV Schedule for 2017-2018

Well, the TV schedule for next year has been released and I have my schedule worked out.  I am only adding a few shows after having dropped several this year.  I have a couple of slots with more than two shows, which is never fun, but I'll deal.  New shows will be bolded.  Shows in new timeslots will be italcized.  Shows with a (?) by them are new shows that I will try out and see if I like them.  So here is my schedule:

Sunday:

10 pm- Madam Secretary (CBS) & Ten Days in the Valley (ABC) (?)


Monday:

8 pm- Lucifer (Fox) & Supergirl (CW)
9 pm- The Gifted (Fox)
10 pm- The Good Doctor (ABC) & Scorpion (CBS)

Tuesday:

8 pm- The Flash (CW)
9 pm- Bull (CW) and Legends of Tomorrow (CW)
9:30 pm- The Good Place (NBC)
10 pm- Gospel of Kevin (ABC) (?)

Wednesday:

8 pm- The Blacklist (NBC) & Riverdale (CW)
9 pm-  SEAL Team (Fox) (?)
10 pm- Designated Survivor (ABC)

Thursday:

8 pm- Supernatural (CW)
9 pm- Scandal (ABC), This Is Us (NBC), & Arrow (CW)
10 pm- How to Get Away With Murder (ABC) & Law & Order True Crime (NBC) (?)

Friday:

8 pm- Once Upon a Time (ABC), MacGyver (CBS), & Blindspot (NBC)
9 pm- Marvel's Inhumans (ABC)

Returning at midseason:

The 100 (CW), The Originals (CW), iZombie (CW), Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (ABC)

New for midseason:

Black Lightning (CW), The Crossing (ABC), Deception (ABC), Instinct (CBS)

Dropped by me:

Quantico (ABC), Timeless (NBC)

Cancelled by the network:

The Vampire Diaries (CW), Grimm (NBC), Conviction (ABC), The Real O'Neal's (ABC), Secrets & Lies (ABC), American Crime (ABC), Bones (Fox), The Blacklist: Redemption (NBC)

Dropped by me and then cancelled:

Pure Genius (CBS), Time After Time (ABC), Frequency (CW), APB (Fox), Scream Queens (Fox)

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.22- Missing

Oliver finds himself teaming up with an unlikely group of people after Chase kidnaps his entire team and heads to Lian Yu...

The team that Oliver has put together to take on Chase and Talia is a powder keg that could very easily explode in his face.  First, there is Malcolm Merlyn.  There is absolutely no love lost between him and Oliver.  That being said, I think this is a situation where Malcolm can be trusted to be at least moderately helpful.  Whatever faults he may have, and there are quite a few of them, Malcolm has shown an unswerving dedication to keeping Thea safe.  While his ideas of what is in her best interest generally diverge from what she actually wants, he does have that going for him.  While I wouldn't trust him unreservedly, he can be trusted to at least make sure that she is kept alive.  That being said, I suspect that if he thought that teaming with Chase would be the best thing for Thea, he might choose that route.  However, I don't see that being the case.

Then you have Nyssa, who is by far the most trustworthy of the group.  The only issue with her is how she will react to Talia's presence.  There doesn't seem to be a whole lot of love there either, but I would never discount family ties.  Then again, she is still technically married to Oliver, so I think she can be trusted to stay with him.  And she is definitely a formidable warrior who has shown herself capable of taking down almost any foe.  The only people who give her trouble are Oliver and Malcolm, and I think we can safely assume that both Talia and Chase would give her difficulties as well since they are both of a similar caliber.

Then there is Deathstroke.  He is going to be the biggest wildcard.  He hates Oliver, even before Oliver locked him up on Lian Yu. so I have to wonder how Oliver is going to manage to get him to work with the group to fight Chase and Talia.  The good thing about him is that he has a completely different fighting style than anyone else.  All of the other major actors in this brewing fight have undergone training by the League or someone affiliated with the League, so having him along could be useful to Oliver.

Then, of course, there is Oliver himself.  He has received training primarily from the League or someone close to it, but he also learned from Deathstroke.  Also, he is the man who killed R'as Al Ghul which makes him uniquely dangerous.  He has reached the point where he is willing to work with anyone who he thinks will help him out, which is always a dangerous place for Oliver to go.  If either Felicity or Diggle had been around, I don't think Oliver would have done what he did.  Then again, if Chase hadn't kidnapped them, there would have been no reason to accept Malcolm's help or go to get Deathstroke.

I am very interested to see how this is all going to play out next week.  I am sure there will be some sort of mind games involved, but I suspect that we have passed most of that and are headed more in the direction of a straight out fight.  The big question is who will fight who.  I suspect that Oliver will task Malcolm and Deathstroke with taking on the minions and freeing the gang while he and Nyssa take on Talia and Chase.  That would make the most sense because that would put the person Oliver can trust the most by his side against two incredibly dangerous enemies.  The downside is that it would means that he would have to have the two people he trusts the least save his friends and his sister, but I think that would be a risk worth taking otherwise he could end up fighting three people on his own.

One worry I do have is whether or not Chase or Talia has managed to get Deathstroke to their side.  If so, this fight will go poorly because having the three of them team up will be very, very bad for Oliver.  But, we'll have to wait and see.

Until next week!

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

My Review of The Flash 3.22- Infantino Street

The day of reckoning has arrived and the entire gang is working tirelessly to sae Iris from Savitar. But did they succeed?

Apparently, the answer is "No" since we saw Savitar stab Iris.  That being said, there are some inconsistencies between the way this final scene played out from how we have seen it before.  In previous iterations, Barry did not have the Speed Bazooka, but this time he did.  Also, in at least one previous iteration, we saw HR on the roof of the building with Joe, but he wasn't there this time.  Between that, HR's feeling of guilt over having revealed Iris' hiding place to Savitar, and the reminder of the disguising technology, I have to wonder if maybe HR managed to somehow switch places with Iris while Savitar was running around while Barry was shooting at him.  With everyone focused on Barry shooting at Savitar, it is possible that HR (or someone else for that matter) could have switched places with Iris in order to save her from being killed.  I'm not sure if I would say that it is likely, but it is definitely possible.

One reason why I am doubting that Iris is actually gone is that it would be a major change to the show, such a major change that I am not sure if the writers would go there.  Unlike Laurel's death last year on Arrow, Iris' death would be much more consequential.  We've already seen how Iris' death would impact the team, so I don't think they are going there.  I guess they could if they wanted to examine how Barry could handle things differently, but that does not seem at all likely to me.  As always, I have to say that I could be wrong, but her actually dying here strikes me as being very wrong.

That being said, I did appreciate that Barry did show the lengths he was willing to go to (or not go to) in his efforts to save Iris.  I am not entirely sure I agree with Lyla's reasoning to not give the Dominator tech to Barry, mainly because what he wanted it for was not to change the past but to alter the future, which is a different creature altogether.  I did appreciate that her decision did lead Barry to get Snart to help him.  That was just something fun to watch.  Snart is always fun to see, so seeing him help Barry just made things lots and lots of fun.  It also showed that, while Barry is definitely willing to bend the rules to help people he loves, he does have his limits.  He could have sacrificed Snart to save Iris, but he wouldn't have, which is a good thing.  I am scratching my head a little about why that made Lyla change her mind so quickly though.  I appreciate that it did, but that did seem a bit mercurial of her, however necessary it was for the plot.

The other major story, which I think will be explored more next week, was the fight between Cisco and Killer Frost that has been brewing for a while.  He hasn't lost his hands (yet) or anything, but she is convinced that she must get rid of Cisco in order to "ascend" with Savitar.  That makes me wonder if Cisco is some sort of major threat to Savitar.  After all, if he somehow convinced Killer Frost to go after Cisco, it is entirely possible that it could be because Cisco can do something to him.

Until next week!


Wednesday, May 10, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.22- Honor Thy Fathers

Mayor Queen deals with the fallout of Chase being revealed as Prometheus while Oliver and Thea find out something disturbing about their father and the Green Arrow and his crew rush to stop a horrific plan...

Oliver certainly had his work cut out for him tonight.  As mentioned last week, there was some major fallout from the revelation that Chase is Prometheus.  Because he was the DA, all of his prosecutions are now suspect, so 36 people were freed.  While Oliver and the gang managed to capture one tonight, I am more than willing to bet that this storyline will be a major role in next season, particularly if (as I've heard) the Vigilante plays a role in next season.

This problem is still not a major issue yet, but Oliver and Thea faced an earth-shaking revelation tonight.  In 2002, Robert Queen got in an argument with a city councilman and the councilman died.  While the death was an accident, that doesn't prevent Thea from being even mor3e convinced that she is descended from, or raised by, monsters, which means that she is one too.  I have to admit to rolling my eyes at that one.  I get why she and Oliver would be upset about what happened, and the fact that it was covered up, but it was clearly an accident.  That means that Robert Queen is not a monster because of this, if he is at all.  I think Oliver had it right when he explained that it just means that Robert, like Moira, was a complex person who didn't always do the right thing.

I think the problem with Thea is similar to the problem with Diggle.  Both of them view the world in very binary, black-and-white terms.  You are good or bad, evil or not, a monster or a savior, but not something in between.  The problem is that most people really are somewhere in between.  They aren't perfect, but they're not monsters either.  I also think that Thea feels guilty about things she has done in the past, so she is looking for an excuse to hate herself, not unlike Oliver a few episodes ago.  They both need to accept that they have done some wrong and some right and really focus on how they help people.  As Oliver noted, they are not their parents, nor are they defined by their parents' actions, unless they choose to define themselves that way.  They are each their own person who must stand or fall based on what they have done, not what their parents have done.

I do admire how Oliver managed to capture Chase.  However, I have to wonder (given the look on his face at then end of the episode and the preview for next' week's episode) if Chase already knew how his dad felt about him or if Chase planted that story in order to make Oliver think he had a leg up on Chase.  The entire thing was way too easy.  And easy, in this world, makes me very, very nervous.

I really hope that Rene is ok.  Not showing up for the hearing to get his daughter, even given how nervous he was early in the episode, is not a good thing.  Here's hoping that something didn't happen to him.

And Kovar is on Lian Yu with Oliver?  That is so not a good thing.....

Until next week!

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

My Review of The Flash 3.21- Cause and Effect

Barry finds out why the other Barry became Savitar which causes Julian and Cisco to take drastic actions to stop the events from unfolding....

So, the Barry who became Savitar is not an alternate version of Barry, but a time remnant of Future Barry who was left over after Barry created Flashpoint in order to stop Savitar.  This is a perfect illustration of something I have talked about before.  With all of the time travel that takes place on this show, sometime the effect of an action precedes the cause.  So here's what happened:

In order to stop Savitar, Future Barry created time remnants of himself much like Barry did last year when he was racing Zoom.  Of these time remnants, one survived and was; for some reason; cast aside because he wasn't the "real Barry".  To get revenge, he became Savitar and went back in time in order to get revenge on Barry and force him to create more time remnants so that one of them will become Savitar and start the cycle all over again, thus creating what Cisco called a "closed loop" or; in a less elegant form; a perpetual series of events where each cause creates an effect which then causes the cause.  Yeah, take a second to wrap your mind around that one.

At this point, the only way to stop Savitar will be for Barry to somehow break the cycle by not using time remnants to fight Savitar.  Which leads to an interesting question: why isn't the Black Flash after Savitar the way it was after Thawne on Legends?  Or maybe that is the key to defeating Savitar.  If the Black Flash comes after Savitar, then Barry can defeat Savitar without creating a new one.  But allow me to speculate a little further.  What if the "casting off" Savitar referred to was an attempt by the Black Flash to destroy the time remnant?  That would explain the scars on his face and why Savitar is in the suit.  The suit might somehow protect him from the Black Flash.  I know it is all highly speculative at this point, but it is worth considering.

Then we have Cisco and Julian's attempt to try and stop Savitar.  The idea wasn't a bad one per se, but it wasn't terribly well thought either.  By preventing Barry from creating memories, it would doom him to only ever knowing what he knows now, which would mean that any future villains Barry would have met would have an advantage because he wouldn't necessarily remember that they are villains (as one example).  The fact that it backfired so spectacularly was sort of amusing.

It was fun to see Barry be the way he was in the first season, when his powers were new and he was discovering everything for the first time.  He was so happy with everything that was going on and his sheer joy at being able to speed around was just fun to watch.  Unfortunately, the other unintended side effect of the attempt was to strip Wally of his powers because, without Savitar to give him his powers in this timeline, Wally was powerless.  So, not the worst idea in the world, but not well thought through and with horrible side effects.

It was also fun to see HR and Brand try and resist the romance and see how HR's word gave her the spark she needed to complete the Speed Bazooka.  I am definitely enjoying watching this.  I don't think she'll stick around, so I'll enjoy this while I have it.

Until next week!

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.20- Underneath

Oliver and Felicity get lots of enforced alone time (thanks to Chase) while the gang tries to figure out how to rescue them and Diggle and Lyla try to work through their differences regarding ARGUS....

This was an episode that wasn't so much about moving the overall story along as much as it was cleaning up the personal messes between the gang in order to allow them to focus on the bigger picture.

First off, I was so glad to see Lyla call out Diggle on his behavior.  Is she running ARGUS the way he wants her to?  No and she is also not running it in the most moral way, mainly because she is operating in a world of grey.  And, as she pointed out, Diggle has tended to support Oliver in most (but not all) of his decisions, so she; as his wife; deserves to receive the same consideration, at the very least.  I know I harp on him a lot, so it was nice to see someone on the show call him out on this sort of thing.  As for the whole stealing and improving Curtis' tech thing, I think that would barely have been mentioned if he hadn't already been upset at her, so I won't even really look at that.

Then there is Oliver and Felicity.  It was nice to see the two of them talk about what has happened between them and for Felicity to acknowledge that Oliver's keeping William a secret wasn't that big a deal.  I was not fond of the way they retconned her reasons though.  Last year, she was fairly specific that she was upset that he hadn't included her in any decisions and now they are having her say that she was really upset that he didn't trust her enough to tell her about him.  Personally, I think both are bogus.  The idea that you don't keep secrets from someone you trust is not really a good one.  Everyone (well, most people) is going to keep something from people around them, no matter how much they trust them.  They may be embarrassed, they may just not want to talk about it, or it may be one of a million other things.  It doesn't automatically indicate a lack of trust.

It was good that Oliver told Felicity what Chase had done to him and what he learned about his inspiration for becoming the Hood in the first place.  That was something that did need to be shared because that sort of secret could really eat away at everything.  And  she handled the whole thing perfectly.  She said what a lot of people have said, which is that he really is not as bad as he sees himself to be.  Is he perfect?  Hell no.  But he is not a total monster.  He has done some really heinous things and some things that cross moral lines, that is for sure.  And while his initial reasons may not have been the best reasons, the reasons for doing what he is doing have changed over time.  And that is a good thing.

I hope they deal a little more with the storyline they touched on briefly about the criminals that Chase has put away.  That sort of story could really go far in powering a season long arc of trying to recapture people that were released after it was revealed that Chase is Prometheus.

Until next week!

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

My Review of The Flash 3.20- I Know Who You Are

The identity of Savitar is revealed, and it's a doozy!  Meanwhile, Cisco deals with his feelings about confronting Killer Frost and HR starts falling for a physicist...

So a future Barry is Savitar.  And this Barry is very, very different from the other future Barry we saw last week, so I can only assume he is from a different timeline or a different earth.  This whole thing leads to a very interesting conundrum: How does the future Barry from last week trap Savitar in the Speed Force and why is Savitar trying to kill Iris?  If Savitar is future Barry and knows what Barry will do, then how can he be trapped by future Barry?  And how did he come to be the way he is?  My suspicion, at this point, is that some future event (or event in an alternate timeline) caused that Barry to lose Iris, which led him to become Savitar and to try to kill other Iris' to prevent other Barry's from being happy or something like that.  Or, it could be that he needs to kill Iris in order for Barry to turn into him so that Savitar can continue to exist.  The only problem with the last is that it assumes that Savitar changes each time.  If Savitar is trapped in the Speed Force each time through the timeline, it is possible that this Savitar is the original and that he has been trapped in the Speed Force over and over again, which would explain his madness.  I guess we'll have to wait until next week to find out for sure what happened.

I can't say that I blame Cisco for being unwilling to fight Killer Frost.  After all, she does take his hand in the future and he doesn't have full control of his abilities.  I didn't think his control was that bad because he has not seemed to have had a ton of trouble controlling his abilities, but maybe he has been having more trouble than he has been letting on.  My thought about his reluctance was that he just didn't want to hurt her at all because she is his friend.

You have to wonder how everyone else is going to react to the news that Barry is Savitar.  The one thing we know for sure is that it is going to be confusing for everyone.  I just hope that we get some explanation about why Barry became Savitar relatively quickly because we only have a few episodes left.

I find it hard to blame Tracy for wanting to run away from everything, after all, it's not every day you find out that a speedster from the future wants to kill you to prevent you from trapping him in a force you only speculatively knew about.  Yeah, this will mess with your mind for sure.  Here's hoping they can figure everything out.

Until next week!

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.19- Dangerous Liasons

In an effort to find Chase, Felicity takes some questionable steps; Diggle finds out some disturbing information, and Lance helps Rene out...

Did Felicity do wrong?  That is the big question tonight.  She's right when she said that Oliver has taken some questionable steps in the past, but by involving Helix and helping them to free someone who was in Helix's custody, she did take some steps that Oliver hadn't in the past.  She's right that they did need help to find Chase, but freeing a prisoner was a bit of an extreme way to get that help.  That being said, I find it hard to say that she was wrong, if only because sometimes extreme situations do call for extreme measures.

I get the feeling that Oliver might agree with this on some level because he really didn't put up much of a fight with her when he talked with her in her apartment.  Then again, he did go with the team to stop her, so I could be wrong.  It could also be that he realizes that, in this situation, he doesn't have much of a leg to stand on.  at least he and Felicity will have plenty of time to figure things out next week, seeing as they're trapped in the lair and everything.

So about that program that the freed prisoner gave them.  Was it intended to send out that EMP or did Chase do something to harm Oliver and Felicity?  If it was intentional, then that puts tonight in an entirely different light and Felicity was a fool to trust Helix.  It's entirely possible that Helix is working with Chase and that the code that Felicity was given was meant to cripple the lair in order to give Chase time to do something.  Or it could be that Helix was hoping to catch the entire team together and cause problems because of what happened.

And that leads to the next big issue: Lyla is turning into Amanda Waller.  I know she became the head of ARGUS with the intention of reforming it, but what is right and wrong can often change depending on your perspective.  Lyla has been tasked with protecting her agents and the world, so she is going to have different priorities now.  Operating a secret jail is so not kosher, but it is hard to blame her for wanting to keep someone who had hacked into ARGUS put away where she could keep an eye on him.  Here, once again, Diggle's perfectly black and white view of the world rears its head.  Granted, this time I do think he is right, but that doesn't mean that Lyla doesn't have any valid points.  The world she is operating in is all sorts of different shades of grey, so sometimes she has to do things that are not exactly kosher.

I did enjoy the subplot of Lance helping Rene reunite with his daughter.  That help provide some sweet interludes to a fairly dark episode.  And I am even more glad that Rene finally decided to fight to get his daughter back.

Until next week!

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

My Review of The Flash 3.19- The Once and Future Flash

Barry goes to the future to find out who Savitar is and finds out some unpleasant information while the gang deals with the fallout of what Julian did to Caitlin...

While we didn't get to see who Savitar is (BOO!!), Killer Frost did and she certainly seemed to know who he is, which leads me to suspect that Savitar is someone we know.  One fairly obvious answer is Ronnie.  When we last saw him, he was flying into the singularity, so he could have been trapped in the Speed Force for a long time or he could have been thrown out of time.  And since the singularity was caused by Barry, that would certainly explain why Savitar has such a hatred for him.  That being said, I am not sure how Ronnie could have become a speedster, unless the suit is what gives him his speed, so that is an issue.  Based on what the future Killer Frost said to our Barry, the person who is Savitar is close to him, but since we saw the rest of the gang in the future, and we know that Savitar is trapped in the Speed Force, I am not sure who else it could be.

The future versions of everyone were pretty much what I would have expected.  Having lost Iris, Barry seriously drifted from the group which led to the group completely falling apart.  Joe is still grieving Iris' death, Wally tried to avenge Iris but ended up being paralyzed and in some sort of catatonic state, and Julian went back to science.  About the only surprising thing was that Cisco had fought Killer Frost and she froze both his hands, so he lost them and had to create robotic ones for himself.  Consequently, he lost his powers and everything else as well.  Oh, and Killer Frost was captured and being held in the prison where Julian worked.  And good old HR kept writing books (or a book anyway).

One thing that I did find interesting is that the city wasn't completely taken over by villains in the Flash's absence.  You did have Top and Mirror Master who seemed to be on a bit of a crime spree, but that was it.  I was pleasantly surprised that the writers didn't slip into that particular trope of a city going to hell in a handbasket with the absence of the hero, since that is something that could very easily have happened.

So the next thing for the gang to do is find the physicist who created the trap that Barry used to finally cage Savitar in the Speed Force and get her to create it early, because if they can, then Barry can save Iris.  I'm not sure what the effects of changing the future that way will be, but I am not sure if things can get any worse for the group.  But, as we know, messing with time is a dangerous thing, so trapping Savitar 4 years early could have unknown consequences.  After all, that would mean saving at least one life (Iris), if not more, and who knows how people being alive who should have been dead will affect the timeline.

Until next week!

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 4.20- Until Tomorrow

Jesus has some serious problems with Brandon and Emma, the school board pulls an underhanded maneuver to get their way, Callie does something very Callie-ish and misses some very important news...

Callie has gotten herself in quite the pickle here,  Because she thought she was going to go jail, she decided to save Christina from Diamond's pimp by pretending to be Christina.  Very Callie-ish of her, jumping in to save someone without really thinking it through.  The idea of letting Stef track them using the phone was smart, but once the phone was sent away, she knew she was in trouble.  And for someone who has already been the victim of rape to be placed in that situation has to be a nightmare.  I have to assume that they will get the current problem solved relatively quickly, but the emotional repercussions for Callie could be dramatic.

Unfortunately, what she didn't know is that Mike had already gotten a confession out of the grandson about the murder, which could have been used to show that her fears were justified and that she acted in a way that was not illegal.  I''m just worried that Detective Grey will figure out what has been going on and take steps to stop it because it will reflect badly on him.  Either that or the grandson's lawyer will find some way to get the confession excluded, which will put Callie right back int he same situation.

And then there is Anchor Beach.  The way Drew, Nick's dad, and the school board pushed through the vote to convert Anchor Beach to a private school was absolutely disgusting and underhanded.  First, forcing Monte out in order to put Drew in charge and then making the session closed instead of open, while technically legal, was just awful.  They didn't get any input from any parents at the school other than the board, who appeared to be rich, white parents who could afford the $30,000 a year tuition while excluding the "riff raff" that had been there.  Nick's dad was only doing ti because he was mad about what happened to Nick although it was mostly his fault.  And to close the session after telling everyone it would be open was just wrong.  I almost have to wonder if this was something the board has wanted since they put Monte in place instead of Lena.  I hope the kids and parents protesting outside of the school has an effect, but I am afraid it won't.

And then there was the whole Jesus situation.  When he was talking with Stef and Lena, he seemed to be ok, but then he confronted Mariana who told him that Brandon knew about the abortion and he completely flipped out.  I get why he is upset, but; as I've said in the past; I am very much in Emma's corner on this one.  Jesus was not, and still is not, in the place where he can be a good father and Emma is certainly not ready to be a mother herself.  Telling Jesus given the way he was reacting to everything was also out of the question, so she was caught between a rock and a hard place.  Tell Jesus and risk him seriously flip out and potentially do something dangerous or not tell him and then have him flip out later when he does find out.  So yeah, I think she did the right thing.  And Brandon was being a good friend to Emma by keeping her secret, something that Mariana (as we saw last week) is utterly incapable of doing.  So Jesus now has it in his head that Brandon got Emma pregnant and that is why she got the abortion, which means he is right back to where he was after he got back home.  Seriously sucky situation.

I have to wonder how Jude is going to react to everything going on with Callie.  He seems to have realized that she is trying to help people when she does impulsive things, so I hope he'll be supportive of her when she comes back.  That conversation the two of them had on the beach, where he said that she was his hero, was a very touching scene.

Until July 11th!

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 4.19- Who Knew

All sorts of secrets are outed, some intentionally with good reason, others accidentally that probably should have stayed buried for now.

As much as I love Mariana, she is the worst possible person to confide anything to.  She is constitutionally incapable of keeping a secret that is not her own.  While I do think she did the right thing by telling Lena and Monte what Jude told her, if I were him, I never would have told her in the first place.  I get why he didn't want to say anything, after all, he was there after hours and for not the best reason.  But something like that needed to be shared/

That being said, Mariana's "anonymous" Twitter account is going to cause a ton of problems.  First, she tweeted about the school potentially becoming private before Lena told her and Brandon not to say anything and then there was the post Jesus saw about Emma's abortion.  Mariana, your complete inability to keep something a secret is the reason people don't confide in you.  Emma was going through something really, really hard and she knew that she could rely on Brandon.  Mariana is entirely too quick to judge and doesn't really think about how things affect other people.  Granted, a lot of that is because she is the stereotypical teenage girl (sorry, but she does fit that particular bill!), but still, it gets annoying sometimes.  Brandon is right, Jesus is not in any position to handle a baby right now and Emma isn't either.  Could she have carried the baby to term and the given it up for adoption?  Sure, but that would have caused more problems and stress for Jesus, which would have been a bad idea.  I get that Mariana is upset about what Emma did, but she really doesn't get a voice in it.

So Stef and Lena are all caught up on the abortion and whatnot.  They reacted pretty much as I would have expected.  After questioning Brandon a bit, they acknowledged that he had done the right thing and thanked him for it.  I hope that they talk with Emma before talking with her parents or before either Jesus or Mariana talk with them.  Emma didn't want to tell them and I think it is incumbent on everyone else to respect that.  But, given Jesus' temper and Mariana's inability to keep a secret, I worry that one of them will say something to her parents, which is going to open a whole new can of worms.

As for Mariana and Ana, I am not sure what to think.  Both Mariana and Jesus have independently had similar memories, so it is possible that something like what they are remembering did happen.  It is also possible that they are not remembering accurately, particularly since they are talking about memories from such a young age.  The conception of time is a whole lot different when you are a kid, so it is possible that what they are remembering as a day or more was not that long.  Then again, it is also entirely possible that Ana did leave them alone for that long when she was on drugs.

As much as Brandon may dislike it, I can't say I totally blame Stef for being a little concerned where he and Callie are concerned.  We have heard his empathetically say that he wouldn't do anything with her, but we know he did.  I do think that the two of them are in a better place now to be friends, so I don't think there is anything to worry about.  But Stef's concern is not completely groundless.  Then again, neither is Brandon's frustration.  But he does have to realize that his past actions have put his judgment into question, so he does need to deal with it in a way that does not involve blowing up at Stef.

Poor Callie, Her former foster brother is now saying that he is guilty of the murder and that he used her, and she used him.  Was he a cause to her?  Yes.  But she cared deeply about his being free if he was innocent, so the cause was just.  I don't know if we can believe him, so I hope we get a more definitive answer later on.  I do think it is very possible that he didn't commit the murder, but said he did in order to get her to go away or because he is mad at her.

And Stef now knows that Diamond is still communicating with her pimp.  Hopefully, she can use what she is discovering to take down the pimp and get Diamond out of the situation she is in.

Next week, the season finale.  Until then!

Thursday, March 30, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.18- Disbanded

Sorry this is late, I fell asleep early last night and didn't get a chance to write this.

Oliver continues to spiral while Diggle and the gang do their best to keep going, Felicity continues to consort with the hackers, and Oliver makes a move that shocks Diggle....

It is hard to be against what Oliver was trying to do tonight.  As I said last week, he was right that his initial reasons for going on his crusade were not right, but over time that changed and the crusade became a good thing.  He moved from just killing those who had done wrong and started actually bringing them to justice, so his focus changed from vengeance to justice.  And after what has happened to other people around him, I get why he wanted to push the team away to keep them as far from him as possible.  What he didn't consider is that by pushing them away, he was actually making them less safe because that would make it easier for Prometheus to go after them because they would be separate from the group.

Bringing in the Bratva to kill Chase seemed a touch excessive to me.  Again, I get his reasoning: he wanted to spare the team the agony of killing someone, particularly since he had seen the suffering Diggle had been undergoing after killing his brother.  The problem is that Oliver had no way of controlling the Bratva and he had also allowed them to steal from the needy people in the city.  That was totally not cool of Oliver.  I am glad that he finally decided to try and stop them, even if it was a bit too late.

I must also say that I am not impressed that Gregori felt that he needed Oliver to remain a good person.  I get that he had been using Oliver to do the heavy stuff while he led, but he really needs to learn to stand on his own.  I don't know if we've seen the last of the Bratva or not, but it seems like we very well might have because they were not happy when Oliver decided to try and stop them.

I am glad that Diggle kept trying to get through to Oliver.  Oliver definitely needed to have his tree shaken a bit and Diggle did a good job of that.  I am also glad that the team figured out a way to how that Adrian Chase is Prometheus.  What they couldn't have foreseen was his figuring out what happened and killing the marshals guarding him.  This is not going to be pretty.

I am seriously worried that the hackers know who everyone is because they can now do some serious damage to the team.  Hopefully Felicity and Curtis can figure out a way to mitigate any damage, but I am not hopeful on that score.

Be back on the 26th, so until then!

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 4.18- Dirty Laundry

Things start to come out as Lena get stressed by everyone's requests, Callie goes on a road trip with Aaron, and Jude makes a surprising decision after more bullying....

Poor Lena.  She had so many people come to her tonight to get help or advice and she is having her own troubles on top of everything else.  I did giggle through that entire awkward conversation with Jesus and Emma about them having sex, what positions they used, and how they should have it for the foreseeable future.  She was so embarrassed to be having that conversation with them.  The funniest part is that they didn't seem embarrassed at all.  That's good that they can talk with her openly about sex, but watching her be so uncomfortable was definitely amusing.  It was also really nice to see her and Stef using some of those techniques they learned in therapy to work through everything.  I think I was most impressed that Stef was the one who initiated that particular conversation.

Speaking of Stef, she now knows about The Letter.  I really, really hope that she talks with Brandon first since she found it in his pants.  If she talks with Jesus, who has no clue what it says, and it slips out that Brandon knew about the letter, things will get ugly.  To be fair to Emma, she did try, several times, to tell Jesus that she had been pregnant, but he never really let her say anything.  And it really isn't Brandon's place to talk about The Letter, so there's that.  But it will still get ugly.

As for Jesus, it is good that he can read again.  I am just worried since he has decided to not take the pills since they seem to be affecting his sex drive.  I get that he has a beautiful girl and wants to have sex with her, but taking those pills is so much more important than getting laid.

Then there is Jude.  I wish I could say that I was really surprised that he decided to bully the bully, but I am not.  He's changed a lot from the sweet kid we were introduced to in the first couple of episodes.  In this case, I can't exactly blame him for wanting to get revenge.  That student has been being a complete ass and wanting to get revenge is a very human thing.  Posting a bad grade all around school was definitely going too far, but it did put him and Noah in the position to hear Drew and some other guy talk about turning Anchor Beach into a private school.  If only there is some way they can tell Lena about this without revealing how they found out.

I am so proud of Callie.  Standing up to Aaron's parents after the way they were treating him was absolutely the right thing to do.  I get why he was upset, but he was being emotionally abused and completely (and purposefully) misgendered, which is also a form of abuse.  I appreciate that he wanted to visit his dad on his birthday, but I do think he needs to either stand up for himself or stop going home if he is going to be treated that way he was tonight.  Hearing them call him "Allison" and "her" and their "daughter" was just completely wrong.  He is their son and if they cannot accept that, he needs to cut ties.  I know, that is easier said than done, but it needs to happen, if only for his own mental and emotional health.  I am not entirely sure what to make of their romance.  She just broke up with AJ, so I am not sure that immediately getting into a relationship with Aaron is such a great idea.

I sort of want to slap Mike upside the head for not helping Gabe out.  I know he wants to move forward with Anna, but helping out Gabe would have really helped both Mariana and Jesus, so I wish he would have done so.  I was very proud of Anna for trying and wish she would have figured out some other way to help Gabe out;.  Hopefully, he will be able to stay in the garage for now so that he can help them complete the treehouse.

Until next week!

My Review of The Flash 3.18- Abra Kadabra

Barry and the gang confront a villain from the future and Barry learns the wrong lessons while Julian makes a decision after something happens to Caitlin...

Time travel?  Again?  Barry, this cannot be a good idea.  Yes, you may have opponents from the future, but haven't we figured out that time travel is just a bad idea?  After all, what if he had made the decision before to time travel?  Then Savitar would be expecting him to do so and would be prepared to stop him.  Sorry, but this has horrible idea and potential disaster written all over it.  I'm just thinking that maybe Barry should try something else first.  After all, messing with time is what got us in the current predicament in the first place.  Traveling to fix it?  Oy!

As for Abra Kadabra, if Gypsy hadn't interfered with what Joe was doing, it is entirely possible that we would know who Savitar is.  And, to be honest, I think what Barry et al should have done was tell Abra that they would free him if he told them who Savitar is and then free him into Gypsy's hands.  Nice?  No, but it would have helped them stop Savitar and prevent Abra from going around killing people again.  I know it is not nice or heroic, but in a case like this, it may have been their best option.

Abra Kadabra was a pretty cool villain.  Not my favorite, but still fun to watch.  I think my favorite scene was watching Barry and Wally chasing him while Gypsy and Cisco went to different places.  Barr's move of phasing through the ship and knocking Abra out that way was particularly cool.

So Caitlin is apparently gone and Killer Frost seems to have reentered the building after Julian removed the necklace that held Frost at bay.  While I am totally sympathetic to his reasons for doing so, he did ignore her explicit instructions to not remove the necklace because she would rather die than become Frost again.  I do not think she is going to be happy with him now.

Over the past few weeks, you may have noticed that my reviews for The Flash have become shorter.  That is because the show is definitely losing some of what made it so much fun to write about in the past.  The review for last week's musical episode more or less wrote itself, but I have been having trouble writing these otherwise because the show seems to just not be as good as it once was.  I will definitely finish reviewing this season, but unless the show takes a dramatic turn for the better, this may be my last season reviewing this show.

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.17- Kapiushon

The show takes a dark turn as Oliver is forced to confront the real reason that he became the Hood....

When I saw things earlier in the week talking about a "game changing" revelation, I wasn't expecting the revelation that we got: Oliver started killing people because he liked killing them and he started using the list as an excuse to keep killing.  So he created the persona of the Hood as a way of walling off those dark impulses from the Oliver Queen persona so that he could live with himself.  That tells me that Oliver is not some psychopath who gets off on killing, because someone who truly loves killing for the sake of killing wouldn't need to create a whole new persona that way.

Given everything that happened to Oliver on the island, I think he was confronted with situations that he had never seen before and was looking for a way to get back control and power when he had completely lost the control and power he had as the scion of a rich family in Starling City.  He also has only ever gone after people who did wrong, so there is that.  Ultimately, however, the start of his crusade was rooted not in a desire to do good, but rather a desire to channel these dark impulses he had, which does undermine a lot of the initial good he has done.

All that being said, Oliver has changed a lot over the years.  He recognized that giving free rein to the dark impulses of killing was not a good thing, so he turned from them and did start doing things in order to help people in the city.  Oliver's conscious decision to turn from the monster the Hood was to become the Arrow and then the Green Arrow shows that he does truly have good intentions in mind now.

My other question lies in wondering why the act of killing felt good to him.  Did he enjoy killing for the sake of killing?  As I say above, I suspect that the answer is no, otherwise he probably would have been a bit more indiscriminate in his choices of kills.  I suspect that he enjoyed killing people who had done wrong because he was able to help people who had been harmed and punish people who would not otherwise have been punished.  Does that make the killings right?  No, but it does make them a little less horrific.

Obviously, the rest of the season is going to be spent figuring out how Oliver can reconcile these dark impulses with his current set of morals and practices.  I am curious about how the rest of the team will react when Oliver (or Chase) reveals this information.  And I wonder how long Oliver's decision to quit being the Green Arrow will last.  I suspect not long at all, unless he wants to start confronting Chase as Oliver Queen openly, which would not be a good idea.

Until next week!

Tuesday, March 21, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 4.17- Diamond in the Rough

Mariana decides to help Jesus out, Callie tries to make things better with AJ, Stef handles her first case as a detective in Human Trafficking, and there is fallout from the LGBTQIA sex-ed class...

So Monte is now out of a job.  While I wish I could feel worse for her, she has been so all over the place that I am having a hard time finding a lot of sympathy.  That being said, I wouldn't wish what happened to her on anyone.  As I said last week, the LGBTQIA sex-ed class was totally needed and I think that permission slips shouldn't have ever been required since it wasn't a school activity.  Drew using this as a method to push Monte out the door so he could take over as principal speaks to a total lack of principles on his part.  If Monte had not required the permission slips, this all could have been avoided since the event was outside of school hours and not on school property.  I just worry what this means for Lena and for the school.  Drew does not seem like a very good or decent guy, so I am very worried now.

While I love that Mariana wants to make Jesus feel better, I'm not sure lying to him about the project was the best option.  At least, I assume she is lying because the last thing we heard was the Drew had turned the idea down.  I guess she could have taken the project on as her own, but without further proof, I don't think she did.  My issue with the lying is that Jesus will have a bad reaction when it comes out that she lied.  I personally have no problems with the occasional well-intentioned white lie, they can be problematic when the fact comes out that there was a lie.  While Jesus can get better (at least partially, not sure about fully), he may need to end up staying back a year.  As hard as being kept back a year will be for him, I think taking classes that are beyond what he can handle will be even more discouraging for him.

I cannot say I am fond of AJ right now.  While I get that Callie can be a lot to handle, AJ knew how she can be before he started dating her.  When she is convinced that she is right or that there is an injustice, Callie will stop at nothing to make sure things work out.  It does lead her to do stupid things occasionally, but it is not like AJ didn't know that already.  So by cheating on her with another girl and then basically blaming her because it's "too hard" to be with her, AJ is just being a jackass.  I'm not saying that he doesn't love her, but I can't say he does either.  All I can say is that he thinks he does, but his actions sure don't seem to reflect it.

Stef did a good thing, putting Diamond in GU, but I was a little surprised that people weren't being more careful around her.  I know she asked for help, but she was clearly reluctant to turn on her pimp and everyone in that group has been around (or have been!) girls who excel at the sneakiness, so you'd think they would see the signs.  I also know that GU has the whole, "We trust you until you give us a reason not to" thing going, so that might be part of it.  I love that Daphnae is working for GU now.  It was really, really cool to see her story come full circle that way.  I don't ever remember hearing if she got her daughter back, so I wonder if she did.  Because she has seriously pulled her life together now and she has shown that she really wants to be a mother, so I hope she got a shot at it.

Until next week!

My Review of The Flash 3.17- Duet

An aptly titled and very, very fun episode where our protagonists sing their way through their thoughts and recent actions....

This was an excellent and totally fun episode to watch.  Everyone was at the top of their game and they had great singers on these casts.  I had heard Jesse, Victor, John, Grant, Melissa, and Darren sing before, and I knew that Jeremy was good because he has a musical theater background, but I didn't realize how good Carlos was.  The episode was fun, cheesy (in the best possible way), and a total blast.  You could tell that everyone was having a grand old time, which made it that much better,

I think my favorite song was the "Superfriends" duet with Grant and Melissa.  The two of them play off of each other magnificently and the lyrics were totally spot on.  Melissa's rendition of "Moon River was gorgeous as was the original solo Grant had at the end.  Listening to Victor, Jesse, and John sing "More I Cannot Wish for You" together was tremendous as was the quartet of  Darren, Jeremy, Carlos, and John singing "Put a Little Love in Your Heart".

As terribly cheesy as it was to have the Music Meister basically be a twisted fairy godmother type character for Kara and Barry, it fit in perfectly with the episode.  Barry and Kara both needed some perspective about their love lives and that is what the Music Meister gave them.  Like I said, it was twisted, but also perfect.  Seeing how they needed the fathers to look at why their kids were doing what they were doing allowed both Barry and Kara to get some much needed insight about how they have been screwing things up.  Kara's anger towards Mon-El about his lies is totally understandable, but she never really thought about why he lied.  And Barry needed to see that while his actions may have been a bit misguided, he needs to do what he can to keep the love around in his life.

Another total highlight was when Barry was imitating Superman during his duet with Kara.  That was really funny and was something that Kara needed to hear.  She is often being compared to Superman, so having someone appreciate her for being her (and saying so outright) was really good for her to hear.

As far as overall storylines movement goes, there was not a lot that happened tonight.  It was mainly a chance for the gangs to stop and reflect on what has happened and where they need to go from here.  Barry and Iris are engaged again and this time it seems that it will stick.  Wally had the chance to work out a little of his fear about what happened to him in the Speed Force.  That is an area where HR really sowed his value to the team.  He may not be the scientific genius that either of the other Wells' were, but he is really good at figuring out how to mentor and help people be what they can be, and that is what Wally needs.  I also loved Cisco's reaction to seeing J'onn's Martian form.  And the triple team of Cisco, Kid Flash, and the Martian Manhunter on the Music Meister was also really cool to see.

My sole annoyance is that this was announced months ago as a musical crossover with the implication being that both episodes would be musicals.  So when there was no crossover or anything last night, I was a little annoyed.  I think that is a problem that they need to work on.  It seems that when crosssovers happen with Supergirl, the Supergirl episode is only ever peripherally involved in the crossover itself.  I guess it probably has to do with Supergirl being on a different earth, but if they could integrate the show better into crossovers, that would be awesome.  That being said, this was an awesome episode, so this complaint is not that major.

Until next week!

Wednesday, March 15, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.16- Checkmate

Oliver finds out the identity of Prometheus which sends shockwaves through the team and Felicity continues to work with the hackers...

Oliver's day officially sucked.  First, he finds out that Talia is Ra's al Ghul's daughter and that she trained Adrian (aka Prometheus) because Oliver killed her dad.  So now he has another major enemy out to get him.  And both are determined to make him suffer, not to kill him.  While I think that Oliver could defeat Adrian on his own, trying to defeat both Adrian and Talia might prove to be awfully difficult.  If he had Nyssa with him, it would greatly increase his odds of winning.  It is possible that the rest of the group could take on Talia while Oliver fights Prometheus, but I don't know if they could take her.  Malcolm won't help out and Sara is off with the Legends, so Nyssa is the only person not working with the group right now who would be able to take on Talia or Prometheus.

I can't say that I was shocked that Adrian stabbed his wife or that Oliver had Diggle bring her to the confrontation.  When Oliver said that Adrian had a weakness, his wife was the only logical option.  And Adrian is determined enough to kill his wife to make sure that he can take Oliver down.  While it did throw him off, I am not sure that it was a good idea for Oliver to bring her along.  Yes, she was Adrian's one weakness, but there was a seriously high probability that she would be killed, so bringing her along was not good.

Felicity really needs to be careful where Helix is concerned.  I get that they have lots of information and can really help her out, but she is doing some seriously shady stuff for them.  Without having the whole picture about why they wanted her to do what she did to the drone, it is hard to say much else.  Just be careful and make sure that she protects herself.  I have a feeling that this group could turn on her really, really quickly if she doesn't do what they want.  Not good, not good at all.

The rest of the team is obviously in shock from the news about Prometheus.  The problem is that there is not really anything they can do to stop him, particularly since there is nothing publicly linking Adrian and Prometheus.  With the captain now in a coma after Adrian attacked him, there is not a whole lot anyone can do.  And now Adrian and Talia have Oliver, with Adrian saying that he is going to help Oliver get to know himself.  So very, very bad.

Watching Oliver's first go as the Hood in Russia was sort of interesting.  You can see the moves he used in the first season are all there.  He kills people without compunction and has a singular focus.  My big question is how Oliver gets from Russia back to Lian Yu.  Does he have a falling otu with Anatoly or does he go back willingly?

Until next week!

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 4.16- The Long Haul

Callie continues to dig herself in deeper, Stef's mom has a surprise for Stef, Jude is teased because of the LGBTQIA sex-ed class, Emma write a letter to Jesus, and there's a wedding....

Let's start with the sex-ed course.  While one part of me sympathizes with the need to have parents sign off on their kids learning about sex-ed, most of me thinks that it is just a horrible idea.  The whole idea of needing permission to learn about sex is rooted in the false ideas that sex is nothing that should not be talked about and that teaching someone about sex is tantamount to encouraging them to have sex.  Americans are far to puritanical about sex.  While I am not saying that we should all be having sex in the streets, sex is a natural and wonderful thing, not something to be ashamed of.  Far too often, the people who need to learn about sex the most are the people who don't learn about it at all.  Because of the fact that we have so intertwined sex and religion, we have made something which should be commonsense into a part of a larger cultural war.

I get that people have religious feelings about sex, but there are times where the religious views of the parents need to be overridden, and this is one of them.  Not teaching a kid about sex merely makes them more curious about it and causes them to be ashamed of it.  Trust me, I grew up that way.  I was made to feel that sex (and my attraction to men) was something to be ashamed of.  I never had sex-ed, so I had to learn everything on my own, which is not ideal at all.  And Lena is right, what do you do when there are kids who need to learn about sex, but can't because their parents make them feel afraid or uncomfortable?  In a situation where the child's mental, emotional, or physical health is in danger, any parental rights are null and void.  The life of the child must take precedence.  Unfortunately, given the society we live in, Lena is going to get in trouble for teaching kids without parental consent.  Whether or not what she did was technically legal, it was absolutely the right thing to do.

You do have to feel sorry for Jude who was on the receiving end of some almost bullying.  Given the direction he's been going, I wonder how much longer until he snaps.  He's a good kid, but even the best can only take so much before snapping.  And if kids continue to go after him, I am betting he'll snap soon, particularly given everything that is going on with Callie.

And speaking of Callie, she really needs to back off.  I totally get where she is coming from, but she is coming seriously close to stalking Troy now.  Between going to his place of work and then having Mariana Facebook-friend his girlfriend/alibi, this is not going well.  I can't blame AJ for being upset with her.  What she really needs to do is take any concerns she has to Stef and then completely back away, otherwise Troy can probably use these things against her in court.  And given their comparative records, I have little doubt that she would end up the loser in that situation.

I was glad that Emma wrote that letter to tell Jesus what happened to her.  Unfortunately, he can't read right now, so he had his grandma read it instead.  Was keeping the fact that Emma was pregnant and had an abortion from Jesus a good thing?  Given the fact that she didn't know he is unable to read now, the decision made sense since, presumably, he would read the letter, particularly after she urged him to do so.  Now that both Emma and Brandon know he can't read, someone absolutely has to tell him.  This is so going to suck for everyone involved.  And if Stef and Lena find out?  Who knows what will happen then.  I know they won't get too upset at Emma, but would they feel compelled to tell her parents?  Or would Lena decide that she doesn't have to because Emma was afraid to tell them on her own?  I guess that will depend on the fallout from the lack of parental permission forms for the sex-ed class.

I loved the remarriage of Stef and Lena.  Their vows were simple and beautiful.  That was one of the best TV weddings that I've ever seen.

Until next week!

My Review of The Flash 3.16- Into the Speed Force

Barry goes into the Speed Force to rescue Wally and meets a few unexpected people while Jessie stays behind to protect Earth...

Let's start with Jessie.  I can't say I was surprised at how stubborn she was about wanting to confront Savitar, but I was a a little surprised to hear them think that they were facing a literal deity.  I had assumed that they would have realized that he was not a literal deity, otherwise how could he have been trapped in the Speed Force and why would he have armor?  And don't forget that both Barry and Jay have fought Savitar and at some point.  So the idea that HR's inspiration to attack Savitar was somehow completely revelatory struck me as being really weird.

As for Barry, here's hoping he learned the right lessons from the Speed Force.  While I get the he does need to take responsibility for his own actions, I'm not sure not getting back together with Iris was the right decision.  If he just needs the time to reflect on what happened in the Speed Force, cool.  Maybe he wants to see if by setting Iris aside he can save her from Savitar.  At this point, who knows?

I did like that all three people who Barry saw in the Speed Force were people inspired to do something good because of him.  Eddie killed himself to prevent Eobard from killing Barry.  Ronnie sacrificed himself to close the vortex that linked Earths 1 and 2.  And Snart sacrificed himself because he wanted to imitate Barry and help other people.  Barry has also inspired the people closest to him to be the best people that they can be.  Does Barry always live up to his potential?  Nope.  But he does always try and that is the important part.  Barry makes stupid decisions (i.e. saving his mom) that end up having ramifications that are far beyond what he could hav imagined.  I truly believe that he does not quite grasp how much power he truly has, so he make bad choices and doesn't think his actions through.  When he does, he makes good choices.  When he acts rashly is when he tends to screw things up.

I think the question we really want answered is: Who is Savitar?  The one thing we know for sure is that Savitar is a speedster and is human.  I think it is probably safe to say that Savitar is probably one of the speedsters we have already met, meaning that Barry, Wally, Jessie, or Jay is probably Savitar.  It could be Hunter Zolomon, but I sort of doubt it since he was revealed to have been Zoom last season.  Yes, Savitar could be a completely different speedster who we will meet (again) at some future point, but I am suspecting that this is not the case.  There really is no way to try and say who it is because there haven't really been any clues yet.  All we know is that Savitar hates Barry's guts, was trapped in the Speed Force, and claims to be the first speedster.  Hopefully we'll find ouit relatively soon, because there aren't a lot of episodes left.

Next week is the musical episode.  See you then!

Friday, March 10, 2017

Some Final Thoughts about The Vampire Diaries

I reviewed this show from the first episode of season 3 until the fifth episode of this season.  For the first few seasons, TVD was must-watch TV for me.  It wasn't perfect, but it was fun, twisty, and constantly surprising.  I think the show definitely peaked in seasons 2 and 3 with the arrival of the Mikaelsons and everything that came along with them.  Seasons 4 and 5 were good and then season 6 return the show to top form with the arrival of the best villain since Klaus Mikaelson: Kai Parker.  After that, it was all downhill.  While Season 8 did get better int he last couple of episodes, it really wasn't enough to save the season.

One problem that I've always had with this show is that they never really focused enough on some of the characters.  The central characters were always the Salvatores, Elena, and Caroline.  Bonnie got uneven amount of attention while Matt was criminally underused, Jeremy became whatever was needed by the story, and Tyler was just there.  If any of these four ever had a storyline, it was never about them, but was rather about moving the story of the central 4 forward.  Maybe that isn't a horrible thing, but it always bugged me.  All four of these characters could (and were) gone for long stretches and nothing seemed to be adversely affected, which is just sad.

My other problem with the show was that they kept repeating the same stories where Damon would go off the rails and Stefan would sacrifice to save him leading Damon to do something drastic to bring Stefan back.  And yes, I do realize that other shows do something similar, but at least those shows always did something to keep it from feeling like a stale retread of the same story.  TVD never seemed to catch onto how to do that.   I also think the show never recovered from the loss of Elena.  While her presence drove much of what happened in the last two seasons, not having her there definitely hurt the show.

As for the finale, while I did enjoy most of it, there were some glaring problems.  Well, one really.  If the Salvatores were really trying to save Mystic Falls, why not just grab Vicki and lock her away somewhere while they dealt with Katherine?  Since neither Matt nor his father were likely to ring the bell, keeping Vicki locked away would have kept the town safe and would have negated the need for some of the sacrifices that were made.  I know that my way entails less drama, but it was super obvious what they should have done which made the episode that much less enjoyable.

All that being said, I am glad I watched this show.  The first few amazing years were probably some of my favorite years of TV.  Those were the first time I was consistently surprised by a show and what it would do.  Killing Vicki int he middle of season 1 and then killing Jenna at the end of season 2 really drove the point home that very few people were actually safe on this show.  And that made for some good and anxious tv episodes.  There were also some amazing couples who I just loved, especially Klaus/Caroline and Jeremy/Bonnie.  There were also some interesting pairings hinted at such as Elena and Elijah.

Overall, I did enjoy the show, I just really wish they had kept the quality up in the last couple of seasons.  While they weren't the worst episodes ever, they definitely were nowhere near as good as the first couple of seasons (and Season 6).  Will I miss the show?  Sure.  Will I mourn its end?  Sorry, but no.

Tuesday, March 7, 2017

My Review of The Flash 3.15- The Wrath of Savitar

Savitar makes his move and the team is rocked by revelations from both Barry and Wally...

First, I need to talk about Barry and Iris.  While I can sort of understand why she is upset about his timing in asking her to marry him, the whole thing strikes me as a bit overblown.  he has always loved her, so the fact that the timing of his asking her to marry him has to do with saving her seems to be very secondary to me.  Barry and the gang have been pulling out all the stops to save her, so trying this particular one seems to be a non-issue unless you are looking for a reason to not marry.  The question to ask before marrying someone is whether or not you love them and want to spend your life with them.  So, yeah, I think that Iris was making a big deal out of nothing.

And I am pissed at Wally for screwing things up.  I get that he was upset about Barry benching him, but Barry was absolutely right.  Savitar was screwing with Wally's mind, which meant that Wally couldn't be trusted.  Would Wally have purposely hurt the gang?   No, but as he demonstrated, he could be manipulated into doing tremendous harm.  His reason for telling everyone about the lack of ring on Iris' hand was just to get back at Barry, which is a really shitty move.  After all, there could be a million reasons for the lack of a ring.  It could have fallen off, it could have been being resized, etc.  Am I sorry he got sucked into the Speed Force the way he was?  Yeah, but what he did to Barry and Iris was just not a good thing to do.

Now that Savitar is loose in the world, things are going to get interesting.  I've seen some people speculate that maybe Wally is Savitar.  Given how things went down this week, it is possible that when Wally was sucked into the Speed Force, he blamed Barry for what happened and decided to get his revenge.  Obviously that is completely unknown at this point, but it is possible.  Otherwise, it would seem that we have someone else completely as Savitar.  If Wally is Savitar, than that would explain why Wally was targeted: because Savitar knew what Wally would do because he had already done it.  And by being stuck in the Speed Force, he could appear at various points in time, hence being called the first speedster.

You had to feel sorry for poor Julian.  He got stuck being the voice of Savitar not once, but twice and he was clearly unhappy about it.  The gang had better be *really* nice to him from here on out because he keeps doing things to help them after a certain amount of coercion, no matter how gentle it was.

Next week Barry goes into the Speed Force to get Wally and then we hit the musical crossover! Until then!

Wednesday, March 1, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.15- Fighting Fire With Fire

The identity of Prometheus is revealed, the conflict over Susan continues, Oliver's impeachment proceeds, and Oliver makes a surprising move.

So Adrian Chase is Prometheus?  That was surprising because I could have sworn they said earlier in the season (in interviews, not on the show) that he was the Vigilante.  That definitely threw me for a loop.  Don't get me wrong, I thought it was a brilliant move, but it still threw me.  Now I am wondering who the Vigilante is.  I had been making some assumptions because I thought Chase was the Vigilante, but now that we know he is not, I am wondering why the Vigilante does what he does.  I can understand the DA wanting to make sure criminals get punished, so him being the Vigilante makes sense.  But since he is Prometheus, that amkes the motives of the Vigilante a little murkier.  Very intriguing.

While I am totally on board with what Thea and Felicity did to Susan last week, I think their plan to blackmail the one council member was definitely going too far.  Last week, they were doing what they had to do to ensure that the Green Arrow could continue to operate and save people.  This week, they were only trying to save the skin of the mayor, so the stakes were much lower and such drastic action was not called for.  I totally get why they wanted to do it, and I agree to a degree, but it was definitely a different story than last weeks events with Susan and not justified.

Wish I could have said that I was surprised that Paul was divorcing Curtis.  Given how heavily they were focusing on the fact that Paul would only call Curtis to forgive him, I knew the opposite was going to happen.  Still seriously sucks, but there it is.  Curtis' plan to try and make sure that Paul's fears would be assuaged and Curtis could still help the team was pretty good.  Unfortunately, Paul never even gave him a chance to lay it all out.  Not happy with Paul right now.

I was a little surprised that Oliver threw the Green Arrow under the bus.  First the Arrow was framed by R'as in season 3 and now Oliver has thrown the Green Arrow overboard.  How many times can he create a new vigilante?  Eventually, someone is going to figure out that they are all the same person.  While I was not fond of Thea's "throw Malone under the bus" idea, even that was a better plan.  Or just tell everyone that Prometheus tricked the Green Arrow by dressing Malone up as him.  Explaining that would make the cover-up make more sense.  Since the whole thing was an accident, I think the public would be more forgiving.  Unfortunately, since Chase is Prometheus, I have no doubt that he has had this whole thing planned out from the beginning.

Until next week!

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 4.15- Sex Ed

Jude goes to extreme lengths to learn about gay sex, Callie shows her senior project, Brandon helps, Emma which causes problems with Jesus, and Stef tries to teach Mariana about self-defense.

Having never been through sex-ed myself, I find myself feeling very sympathetic for Jude.  When you don't learn about sex, you will go to some weird places to learn about it.  Being a bit of a bookworm, I mainly went to the encyclopedia but also watch shows with LGBT characters (such as Queer as Folk) secretly so I could see how two guys "did it".  Jude found himself in a similar position.  He has no idea how two guys would have sex, so he decides to see what he can find for himself.  His idea was definitely more dangerous.  Even as an adult, hooking up can be somewhat hazardous.  Lying about his age, while understandable, was beyond stupid.  He should know that he can talk with Stef and Lena about anything.  Granted, they don't have any hands on experience in this particular area, but they might know some gay guys who could sit Jude down and answer any questions he might have.  And yes, I know it would have been embarrassing, but better to be embarrassed than assaulted or dead.  Sorry, but that apartment building was seriously sketchy and the initial encounter went exactly the way I would have expected.  The host is all ready for the visitor.  And I will leave it at that.

That being said, LGBTQIA sex ed is definitely needed in school.  We give parents to opt their children out of sex ed now, so why not give them the same choice for LGBTQIA sex ed?  After all, it is a whole lot better to talk with kids openly about sex than it is to hide it.  Talking about it openly doesn't mean that you're advocating for them to have sex, but hiding it makes it the forbidden fruit which is always more tempting for teens.  Just give them the facts and answer their questions honestly.  I remember when I was teaching religion and we hit the sexual morality portion of the year, I always had a day where I would simply answer questions.  I would say "penis" or "vagina" or "breasts" as often as possible so that my students knew that the words were not dirty or anything and to remove some of the stigma or shame surrounding them.  I think sex ed should be the same way.  Deal with it frankly and in a way that is age/developmentally appropriate.  To do otherwise is to tell one groups of students that they don't deserve the same treatment or the same respect as the rest of the students and that is wrong.

Callie's project was seriously powerful.  While I understand why Monte wanted the project removed, I am not sure she should have tried.  I am pretty torn about it because I do get why it might be bad for the image,particularly after everything that happened with Nick.  That being said, taking away one of the senior projects was just not a smart thing.  It might have been better to see if there was some way to make it blend in so that it wouldn't have been as noticeable.  I don't know how exactly the projects were presented, so I don't know if that would have been feasible.  I was surprised that Talia apparently led the boycott given her and Callie's rocky past.  It was nice to see, but still somewhat surprising.

Brandon certainly had an eventful week.  First he helps Emma get through an abortion, then he messes up at the music therapy, then he has Jesus accuse him of sleeping with Emma.  Helping Emma was definitely the right thing to do.  Jesus could not handle being a father at this point and I don't see Emma being a single mother in high school.  Unfortunately, Jesus misread everything that was going on and thought the secret being kept was that Brandon and Emma were having sex.

The whole "let's teach Mariana self-defense" felt relevant to her, but still felt like a bit of a throwaway.  I hope they keep it going to show that it was not something just to give her a story in this episode.  I did love her screaming in Stef's ear though.  That was funny.

You have to feel for AJ.  His brother wants them to live together when he gets out of prison, but Mike wants to adopt him.  And to make matters worse, Mike and Ana apparently can't live together while Mike is fostering because Ana has a felony.  That sucks.

And then there is Callie's court case.  One person refused to settle, so they are going to court.  Here's hoping they can get this taken care of and keep Callie out of prison.

Next episode in two weeks.  See you then!

My Review of The Flash 3.14- Attack on Central City

With Grodd headed towards Central City, Barry has a choice to make, Cisco goes for some help, and a surprise occurs....

I want to spend most of my time talking about Barry's choice about whether or not to kill Grodd.  In one sense, the point is irrelevant because he figured out a different way t deal with the situation, but in another, it is super relevant.  While I do believe that, generally speaking, killing is wrong, there are times when it may be unavoidable.  In that I completely disagree with Iris and Harry.  I respect where they are coming from, but to state categorically that killing is *NEVER* an option is just wrong.  Sometimes, in order to protect one life or many lives, it might require that someone be killed.  After all, if we could have killed Hitler to save the Jews from the Holocaust, would that not really be a good thing?  Extreme example, I know, but the point is still valid.

I'm not saying that killing should be the first option, but it shouldn't be completely removed from the table.  I know that may be an unpopular opinion, but sometimes killing one to save innocent lives may be justified.  As long as the decision is not reached easily, I think should be an option in extreme cases.  In this case, yes, there was another option (having Salovar attack Grodd), which made killing Grodd irrelevant, so it was a good option.  But keep it on the table as a potential option.  I'm not talking about cold-blooded murder, but killing done to protect the innocent.  Big, big difference in my book.

I do have to admit that the idea of bringing Salovar to fight Grodd was a good idea.  That enabled everyone to avoid a massive battle that would have otherwise been overwhelming for the few people who were fighting the gorillas.  I'm just worried that, by giving Grodd to ARGUS, there is a chance that Grodd could come back and wreak even more havoc.

What Harry did to Wally was low.  Trying to use Wally to guilt Jessie into going back to Earth-2 was not a good thing.  I was glad that Jessie saw right through it and then proceeded to dress down Harry in front of everyone else, because he deserved it.  I'm just curious about why Savitar reappeared now and how he got out of wherever he was.

Barry proposing to Iris was not completely unexpected, but it was very sweet.  I am having a little trouble imagining her saying yes right now, but you never know.

Finally, I want to address an article I saw the other day asking if Barry might be the true villain of The Flash because he causes so many problems.  While I sort of get that view, I think the thing about Barry is that he is not perfect.  He sometimes makes bad choices, but they are never intentionally harmful.  At most, he is impulsive when he gets emotional and apt to make rash decisions.

Until next week!

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.14- The Sin-Eater

Oliver deals with attacks of varying types on several fronts while Felicity and Thea deal with some not-too-pleasant news...

Maybe somewhat surprisingly, I disagree with Oliver's assessment of Thea this week.  Did she go too far?  Maybe.  I am not sure if she was trying to get Susan fired, but sabotaging her career to ensure that Oliver and the team can be out there saving lives is worth it in my book.  Unfortunately, this was a case where there just weren't any good options.  If Oliver had been outed as the Green Arrow, it would have made it much harder for him to help people.  But Felicity and Thea couldn't simply delete the information from Susan's computer because she might have physical back-ups, so they had to do something else.  It wasn't nice or pretty, but it was necessary.  I'm sorry that she got her reputation ruined and that Oliver got his feelings hurt, but saving lives is more important in my book.  While I may not love it, I do understand it and think it was the best of a series of bad choices.

I think Oliver's problem here is that he, like Lance, is trying to take too much on himself.  He is constantly doing things to protect other people from bad consequences.  He has killed people or worse to make sure that Diggle and Felicity keep their hands clean.  He just couldn't handle that Thea and Felicity are doing the same thing for him here.  Not to mention that I seem to remember Thea warning Susan what would happen if Susan crossed her or did something to hurt Oliver.  Besides, Susan is not exactly Ms. Clean here.  She has been sleeping with Oliver while investigating him.  It may not be unethical (don't know journalistic ethical rules offhand) but it was definitely shady.

It was nice seeing Lance assure Dinah that he wants he to take up Laurel's mantle.  While he may not have used those words, that was definitely the intention of the last conversation he had with her.  She is an impressive fighter and has the scream, so she is most of the way there.  It also helps that she isn't super eager to replace Laurel because that shows that she is aware of the legacy she is carrying on.  She just needs to figure out how to give the Black Canary her own spin.

I was surprised at how close Oliver came to outing himself as the Green Arrow to the police captain.  Using the same words as both Oliver Queen and the Green Arrow was not smart, unless he is trying to tell the captain who he is.  And like I said, I think that would be a bad thing.

As for Prometheus, he is definitely stepping up his game against Oliver.  Sending that information to the police and then leaking it to the press was a major escalation.  He is now trying to actively and publicly ruin Oliver Queen as well as the Green Arrow.  I am curious about how Oliver will get out of this one.

And for the record, being blackmailed into helping Damien Dahrk is in no way like choosing to break laws.  In the one case, Lance was protecting lives, in the other hand Warner is only helping herself.  Very, very different.

Until next week!

Tuesday, February 21, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 4.14- Doors and Windows

The family deals with what happened to Jesus, Callie tries to figure out what to do next, and Stef receives some good news....

While I understand what the therapist is saying, I don't really agree with him.  Stef and Lena are wonderful parents with kids who are acting fairly typically for teenagers with a little more drama than usual.  They certainly do not cut off any avenues of communication with their kids.  And then there was Mariana's reaction to the therapist talking to her about getting her power back.  Her attitude was almost more of a self-satisfied "and in your face I rub it!" than anything else, and it really rubbed me wrong.  I love Mariana's brand of sassiness, but this came off (to me anyway) more like bitchiness than anything else.

And was I wrong last week.  I had assumed that they would do some sort of time jump to go through Callie being in jail or something but, barring some really weird twist, that isn't going to happen because Robert paid everyone's medical bills.  It was an oddly unsatisfying ending to the story.  Granted, it did get Callie to work on her new senior project with aaron and an interesting project it was.  Although this is her 3rd or 4th senior project, so I hope this one sticks.  This time she used her legal records to line the "walls" of a solitary confinement cell.  It was definitely an interesting idea.

Please don't tell me they are introducing another love interest for Brandon already.  Just give the guy a rest.  What I do hope they are doing is giving him a new direction to go in.  If he can take his music and use it to help people through music therapy, that will definitely give him a new way to go.  Using the principles to help Jesus was a smart move.

Speaking of Jesus, he is certainly not having a fun time.  He is immensely frustrated with the glacial progress he is making and is taking it out on Lena.  It cannot be fun to be in her shoes right now.  She has gone from being the vice-principal of a charter school to being a nursemaid for her teenage son.  Granted, he really does need the help right now, but it still cannot be fun.  I just hope that Stef and the rest of the family see the trouble she is having and help her out the way Brandon did.

And it was nice to finally see the family catch a bit of a break.  Stef got her promotion to detective, which will be a good thing because it will bring in more money.  She also seems to plan on using it to investigate everything that is going on with the murder Callie's foster brother was accused of committing.  I have to wonder if Callie was right when she accused the detective of covering things up.  I know a videotape can't be the easiest thing to fake, but; given what we have seen of him so far; I wouldn't put anything past him,  I almost have to wonder if Stef and Lena lied to Callie about the alibi being solid in order to get her to take the deal so that they wouldn't have to worry about her anymore.

And Emma is apparently pregnant with Jesus' baby.  This is so not going to go well.  Unfortunately for her and Brandon, Jesus heard them talking and seems to be assuming the worst about what is going on.  This will not be pretty.

Until next week!

My Review of The Flash 3.13- Attack on Gorilla City

Barry and the gang head to Earth-2 to rescue Harry while Jesse and Wally stay on Earth-1.

Grodd certainly learned from Thawne when it comes to deception.  He managed to trick Barry into defeating Solovar so that Grodd can take command of the gorilla armies and attack Central City on Earth-1.  That was very well played.  I'm not entirely sure why Barry defeating Solovar would scare the gorillas, particularly since he refused to kill Solovar and it was not an easy task.  I can only assume that Grodd did something to rile the gorillas up.  This is definitely going to be one of those not good for Central City things.  I am trying to figure out how the gang is going to defeat an army of giant gorillas.  Yes, there are three speedsters, but they are going to need a lot more to stop the gorilla army.  You might be able to use Catilin's frost abilities or Cisco's sonic blasts that we've seen Vibe use on Earth-2, but this is still going to be a major issue.

You have to admire the plan which got them out.  It was very, very simple.  Caitlin freezes Barry enough to make him appear dead, but not enough to kill him.  He then vibrates himself warm and releases everyone.  Very simple and that simplicity makes it elegant and a great idea.  It was so simple that I am surprised Grodd didn't see right through it.  Maybe he did and he let them go anyway or maybe he truly didn't.  Not sure if we'll ever know for sure.

The fight between Barry and Solovar was pretty cool.  Barry had some good moves, but solovar seemed to be able to anticipate all of them.  When he first charged Solovar, I have to wonder what he was thinking.  Granted, Barry is fast, but a move like that would almost be expected, which made it a fairly stupid idea.  The attempt at the lightning bolt was a better idea both because Barry was further away and because it allowed Barry to use his speed.  Unfortunately he took too long, so Solovar was able to get him.  The last punch was pretty cool.  Vibrating his fist to give it extra power was a great idea.

The Wally/Jesse subplot, while sort of fun, also seemed a little weird and didn't really fit in with the episode.  Nothing awful, it just felt like it didn't really fit at all.  Maybe it was just me, but I really wasn't feeling that at all.  It was nice to see the two of them click last year, but I am not feeling them as a couple or anything.  Friends, sure.  But they don;t seem to be a good fit as a couple.

Good episode, but it was a setup for next week and it felt like it.  There were some thrilling fighting moments, but nothing seemed particularly weighty or significant.It's like they're just clicking off items on the list of headlines so Barry can save Iris at the last second.  Although maybe that is the point.  By seeing the future, Barry might very well bring it into being by the steps he takes to avoid it.  Trippy, yes.  But interesting.

Until next week!