Follow by Email

Sunday, September 10, 2017

My Review of Teen Wolf 6.17- Werewolves of London

Several familiar faces return, we find out who was shot and who did the shooting last week, Lydia has some more banshee moments, and romance is in the air...

Ok, that has got to be one of the best openings in the history of the show.  I loved the juxtaposition of the classical music with the fighting, Ethan's palpable annoyance at Jackson's "forgetting" their anniversary, and the kiss at the end.  Just loved it all.  The only questions I have; and it is relatively unimportant in the grand scheme of things; is whether Jackson is gay or bisexual.  It was definitely fun to see Jackson back again.  Yes, he is an ass, but he is still lots of fun to watch.  Also, how the heck did he and Ethan meet?  Maybe Danny introduced them?

It was interesting to watch Scott go to Deucalion and Peter for help.  I'm afraid that Deucalion is right, there is no way out of this for Scott without Gerard dying.  He is so obsessed with killing everything supernatural that he will keep coming back as long as he can in order to kill Scott.  I know Scott doesn't want to kill, but I think it is unavoidable in this particular case.  Surrounding him will killers is not a bad idea, but I would rather have someone like Scott take Gerard out because Scott would do it for the right reasons.  Peter, Theo, or Deucalion might do it, but it could be for all the wrong reasons.

Speaking of Deucalion, it was weird seeing him as a pacifist.  After all, last time we saw him (with the Dread Doctors), he had no compunction about killing, so what happened between then and now to make him so worried about his soul?  As for Peter, while he (like Theo) is completely untrustworthy, he can help Scott out.  He is very strong, crafty, and ruthless, all things that Scott will need in the fights ahead.

Not only was Melissa shot, but so were Lydia, Mason, and Scott's dad.  Fortunately, all of them made it through, which is fortunate for Nolan and Gabe, because Liam was on the warpath.  See, Gabe shot up the house in order to make Ms. Monroe spare Nolan's life because he gave Nolan the credit for the shooting.  Speaking of Ms. Monroe, she has been completely brainwashed by Gerard.  She sees his willingness to kill his allies and others as proof that he is dedicated rather than as proof that he is a murdering psychopath.  And somehow she has the entire police force following her and Gerard.  Not a good thing.

With Lydia's weirder banshee moments, I am never sure what is going on, and that was the case tonight.  She saw herself walking through a snow filled hospital and then met Scott and Malia at the site where a pack was slaughtered by the Anuk Ite who was looking for it's other half, which is apparently in a werewolf.  So a little confused there.

So, I will be on vacation starting next Sunday morning and won't be back until the following Sunday, so I may do all three of the remaining episodes on the 24th or I may do the 24th and 25th.  Depends on my time.  Until then!

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 5.09- Prom

It's prom and things get hairy for Ximena, Brandon learns a secret about Grace, Stef and Tess talk, Callie has a fight with Aaron, and Monte has a proposal for Lena...

Well, the protest pretty much went the way Stef warned Callie it might, and Callie did the right thing and left.  While it may have been a bit selfish of her, it was still the right thing.  Leaving the protest to avoid getting arrested allowed her to be at the prom later so that she could help Ximena get away from ICE.  You could argue that Callie should have been willing to risk more, but given all of the strikes against her, I still think she made the right decision.

Unfortunately for her, Aaron saw AJ at the protest, so he turned down the internship in order to be close to Callie because he thought AJ might steal her away from him.  And that led to a fight because Callie sees that as him not trusting her.  And I can't say I blame her.  The way Aaron was talking about her was almost like she was a prize and that was guaranteed to make her mad.  She made a choice to be with him and he needs to respect that, period.

Spiriting off with Ximena may not have been the smartest choice, but at least she told Stef about what she was doing this time.  And calling Jude to make sure that she would be able to get into the church to get sanctuary for Ximena was a smart move.  Unfortunately, she, Ximena, and AJ are now trapped inside the church until they can figure out how to get Ximena out safely.  This also puts Callie squarely in the sights of ICE, so that could be bad for her.  It might even get her arrested, which would be bad.  Hopefully she can figure a way to get out of this mess.

So Grace has leukemia, which is why her mother is so worried about her.  You could tell that it was breaking Brandon's heart to know that and not be able to say or do anything to help her out.  So he gave her the best prom he could, which was a nice gesture.

Stef and Tess' talk was illuminating.  Tess seems to have internalized a certain amount of homophobia because she has been denying her feelings for years.  I just hope that she doesn't try to make a move on Stef or anything because that would be seriously awkward.  What she needs to do is figure out how things will work with her husband and son before she does anything else.  She says that she's been unhappy in her marriage, so she needs to decide if she wants to stay or ask for a divorce before things get any messier.

The fact that Nick knows who destroyed the model tells me that it was probably either Drew or Nick's dad who did the deed.  I said in my last review that it might have been done to discredit the Adams-Fosters or the opposition in general, and this lends credence to that idea.  Can't wait to see who it was.

Mariana's plan to demonstrate to Logan's girlfriend that she is not after him backfired spectacularly.  First she tried to get Wyatt to take her to prom and be her boyfriend for the night, and that didn't work.  Then she tried Matt, but that failed too.  Watching her and Emma be "girlfriends" was totally amusing, but that failed when Jesus decided to tell Emma that he wanted her back.  In other words, a standard Mariana plan failure.

Monte has been offered the position as principal of another charter and she wants to take Lena along with her.  While not an awful idea, it is not the best timing because of the efforts to keep Anchor Beach open.  I hope that Monte sticks it out through the vote and then decides what to do.

See everyone when the show returns!

Sunday, September 3, 2017

My Review of Teen Wolf 6.16- Triggers

The gang tries to get ahead of Gerard only to find out that he is playing a much larger game than they thought...

So Gerard had a map with locations of nemetons from around the world and is planning on using them in order to wipe out all supernatural creatures, on the assumption that having a nemeton located nearby will mean that there are supernatural creatures in the area.  Not a bad plan, and the gang figured it out too late.  For Beacon Hills, Gerard has armed the entire town with the weapons from his "business" in order to destroy Scott and the gang.

It seems as though the attack on Scott's house has injured Melissa.  I am assuming it was Melissa whose hand we saw, but there was no way to know for sure.  Having the entire town armed and freaked out is so not a good thing for the pack.  The town knows who they are and students at school are forcibly testing other students to see who heals quickly and who does not.  Again, not a good thing.

Liam's plan was not a horrible one.  Luring the hunters into a trap in order to allow Scott, Lydia, Malia, and Chris to attack and destroy Gerard's armory was a great idea.  The first hitch (because there is always a hitch) was that no one believed Nolan when he said the entire pack was at the zoo because he only saw Liam and Theo.  I loved Theo's way of handling that situation.  Watching him and Liam fight and snark at each other was possibly the highlight of the entire show.  These two are really great together, if only because they hate each other so much, but they also need each other.  Theo was right when he told Liam that he needs to learn how to control his fear, because an out of control werewolf who kills is only going to prove Gerard's point.

A new use for Lydia's scream: knock down doors.  That was definitely interesting and it obviously tired her out.  But it worked and it saved Scott and Malia, so that is a good thing.

Speaking of Scott and Malia, they are definitely starting to get closer.  As in Malia full on kissed Scott.  I am interested to see where this goes.

Until next week!

Saturday, September 2, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 5.08- Engaged

Brandon throws an engagement party for Mike and Ana, Jesus tries to reunite his birth parents, Lena has a talk with Emma, and Callie looks at her future...

I know that Jesus has a TBI (and I know I've been talking about this for weeks now), but Stef and Lena really need to put their feet down now.  I know that he is not fully in control, but he tried to blow up Ana and Mike's engagement so Gabe and Ana would get together and he won't accept anything from Emma except for being engaged.  He really, really needs someone to give him a firm reality check right about now, because he is going completely off the rails.  He is so fixated on romance that he is destroying all the relationships he has with people.  It was nice to see Brandon stand up to him and I am so glad that Lena has decided that she has had enough.

I am annoyed at her for the first conversation she had with Emma.  I know this is not what she meant, but from what came out of her mouth, it seemed like she was telling Emma that Jesus' recovery was the most important thing and that Emma was a vital part of that recovery.  I am glad that she realized how it came across to Emma and made sure that she knew that Jesus' recovery was not on her, it was on Jesus, Stef, and Lena.  And that led to the ugly blowup where Jesus told Emma that if she didn't want to be engaged right then and there, he didn't want to be with her.  Honestly, I hope she stays gone until he gets better.  I know that it might be really unfair of me and that people are going to scream about him having a TBI, but he was being emotionally abusive, so she was right to walk out.  He is in no place to be in a relationship right now, he just needs to get better.  Or as better as he will get.

As for what happened to the model at the school, I have two obvious/likely suspects.  First, Jesus could have destroyed it in a fit of rage.  Honestly,this is so obvious that I sort of doubt it, but it is a possibility.  The other possibility is that Drew did it himself.  If he wanted to discredit the opposition to the school going private and he saw that the Adams-Fosters were the last ones in the building, it is entirely possible that he, or someone working for Nick's dad, destroyed the model in order to blame it on the Adams-Fosters.  It could always be someone else, but I do have to wonder.

I'm not sure what to tell Callie about this week.  I think she would be wonderful in art or in social work.  Aaron was right when he said that changing the world is a part of who she is.  But I don't think he gets how important her art is to her.  Her art has allowed her to reveal truths that people wouldn't otherwise know, like her senior project showing her old foster homes in photos.  But she has also shown a remarkable desire to want to help others in the foster care system.  That being said, her interest have recently been expanding to include other social justice causes, so I honestly think art might be the better choice for her.  She just needs to make a decision and go for it.

As for the protest, I get why she wanted to go, but I am not entirely sure that it was the right decision.  I really am glad that she wants to stand up for people who can't stand for themselves, but she really, really needs to be careful.  She has so many strikes against her already because of the way the foster care system (unfairly) works, that she needs to be sure she doesn't accidentally ruin things for herself.  I just hope that she is smart.

I almost had to laugh at Noah's plan because you knew it was so going to blow up in Jude's face.  Don't tell someone that you are willing to turn down something that you really want unless you absolutely mean it.  This is not going to be pretty.

I wonder what was up with what Grace's mom said about her not being in a place to have a boyfriend or going to prom.  I really want an answer to that question.  I do have to admit that the prom-posal was really cute.  Corny, but cute.  Also seriously embarrassing for him.

Until next week!

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

Fosters Review

I wasn't able to watch The Fosters when it was on and, for some reason, my DVR didn't tape it.  So I'll have to watch it later this week and will write the review when I do.  Sorry about this...

Thursday, August 24, 2017

My Review of Teen Wolf 6.14- Face-to-Faceless and 6.15- Pressure Test

Sorry this took a while but I wasn't able to sit down and watch until tonight.  There is no Teen Wolf on Sunday, so my next Teen Wolf  review will be on September 3rd.

We finally got a name for the creature that escaped from the Wild Hunt: Anuk Ite.  It is a two-faced creature of dissension and discord that leaves chaos and destruction in it wake as people tear themselves and each other apart out of fear.  Not that there aren't some legitimate issues going on though.

Turns out Ms. Monroe was on a bus that Mason attacked when he was the Beast of Gevaudan.  because Scott didn't rescue her; since, you know, he was busy trying to save everyone else and what not; he obviously doesn't care about people and therefore all supernatural creatures should be wiped out.  She also said that she is mad that so many people died while he tried to deal with the various creatures that attacked Beacon Hills.  While I have to acknowledge that she may have a reason to be upset, what she is totally missing is that although Scott hates when individuals die, he had to save as many people as he could and that means not always being able to check for survivors when there may be none.  It's harsh, but absolutely true.  All that said, I have to wonder how much of her hatred is her own, how much has been fanned by Gerard, and how much is a result of the Anuk Ite.

Let's face it, Scott and his pack have lost more than their fair share of battles.  But when you consider that the entire show has taken place over 3 years, he's come a remarkable distance.  His enemies have had a lot longer to plan their strategies than he has had, so there were inevitably going to be some losses.  Not that it sucks any less, but there it is.  Also, Scott mourns every death that has happened whether or not they are from his pack.  He is the Guardian of Beacon Hills and he takes that responsibility very seriously.

I was impressed that Laim managed to control himself as well as he did under that assault.  I so want to hit that teacher who just stood by and let it happen.  Between that and her impotent threat to fail the whole class for the day, she wins the award for worst teacher.  Thank goodness Coach showed up, because someone needed to step in at that point.  While I would love to think that Mason was wrong about Liam's reasons for letting it happen, I suspect that he is right.  Liam is punishing himself because of what happened last week.

I am really glad that Scott and the pack decided to stay.  Not surprised, but still glad.  I am just wondering how much longer they are going to be able to stay hidden.  Gerard and Monroe have turned the whole town against them, so they need to be really careful.  They need to figure out who the two parts of the Anuk Ite are and fast.  Otherwise the town will tear itself apart.

Until the third!

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 5.07- Chasing Waterfalls

Callie and Aaron's relationship continues to deepen, Lena's parents come by for a visit, Jude is caught in the middle of Noah and Taylor, Brandon struggles with Cortney's new relationship, and Mariana's attempts at being closer to Logan backfires....

Even though it may not have started in the best way, Callie's relationship with Aaron is probably one of the best things she has going for her right now.  He is secure and mature enough to deal with her crises that have been problems for others and she feels safe enough with him to open up in ways that she hasn't with her other boyfriends.  And that is a very good thing.  She has had to grow up so fast that I think it's good for her to have someone who is older than her and can be a stabilizing force without being a parental figure.  Neither Brandon nor AJ were secure enough to be able to give her really good advice or to help her work through things she really needed to work through.

As for the whole thing about her self portrait, I thought her idea was brilliant.  By allowing others to capture her at random moments, she is showing the vulnerability that they were talking about.  Candid pictures have a way of exposing things in a way that a selfie or a prepared shot could never do.  A selfie or prepared shot can be staged to show what the artist wants you to see, but a candid shot shows what the camera and the camera operator see, which can be radically different.

You have to feel sorry for Jude.  Taylor has been a constant friend of his since he came to Anchor Beach, so it is understandable that she wants to spend time with him.  But Noah, as he pointed out, is Jude's boyfriend, so he should definitely have alone time with Jude.  I loved that Lena's mom came up with that "custody" arrangement for them.  It might have been a little embarrassing, but it was a brilliant idea.  I also feel sorry for Jude because that company wants to have him come on board and not Taylor.  I hope that he turns them down for the sake of his friendship with Taylor, but I am afraid that he might simply choose to go with them and tell her that nothing came of the discussion.  If that happens, there will be hell to pay when she finds out.

As for Mariana and Logan, I just don't know what to say.  Her idea to help him was not a bad idea in theory, but it was definitely not a good idea in practice.  She just needs to tread carefully.

Then there is Brandon.  Again, I just have no words.  His relationship with Grace is already on rocky ground, so he really needs to tread lightly where Cortney is concerned.

And for the kicker, we have Lena's parents.  Her father seems to have dementia or something similar because he is becoming forgetful.  I have to wonder if that has anything to do with the tax trouble that he got in.  Fortunately, he is no longer on the deed to the house, so that is no longer a concern.  I feel sorry for Lena because that has to suck.

Until next Tuesday!

Sunday, August 20, 2017

Reviews This Week

I wasn't able to watch Teen Wolf tonight nor will I be able to watch The Fosters on Tuesday.  I hope to watch them Wednesday and Thursday, although it may be Thursday and Friday, so please be patient and keep an eye on the page for the reviews.  Thanks!

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 5.06- Welcome to the Jungler

First, I apologize that this is a day late, but I wasn't able to watch the episode last night.  The same thing will probably happen next week, so please bear with me.

Jesus makes a surprising decision, Callie comes to a realization, Mariana gets some help from an unexpected corner, Jude runs into something he wasn't expecting, and Stef tries to help someone.

If anyone needs further proof that Jesus needs help, this episode should give them that proof.  The turn arounds and changes he makes were enough to give me whiplash.  First, he wants to drop out of school and then he makes a sudden decision to ask Emma to marry him so they can be together forever.  Then, after she turns him down because he is planning on dropping out, he decides to stay in school.  While it is possible that he might have done something like this had he not suffered the TBI, I sort of doubt it.  His erratic behavior and sudden swings are worse than they were before he was injured.  Until he can pull himself together, I don't think that Emma should marry him.  I am not really in favor of high school kids marrying anyway but in this case, I am doubly sure.

Callie needs to be uber-careful with this protest.  While other people may be placing a lont on the line, I am not sure that Callie can afford to.  Given her record and everything, participating in a protest where the goal is to get arrested is not smart of her.  As for her and Aaron, I think it was nice to see the two of them try and come to a place of agreement even though they were both not saying things in the best possible way.  The fact that everyone is just seeing Aaron as a guy is a good thing for him, but Callie is right that his being able to be seen strictly as a white guy does give him a certain amount of privilege.  Does that mean that he should disclose that he is trans to everyone?  Of course not!  He was right when he was talking about the fact that by blocking a right-wing speaker, it might make it easier for a progressive speaker to be blocked the same way later.  The whole thing is very messy and there are very valid arguments on both sides of the issue, so it is a line that needs to be walked carefully and thoughtfully.

I was glad that Callie told her friend that Mariana had forged the signature because it gave her friend the opportunity to talk with Lena about how important roller derby is to Mariana and how it can help her.  And, like I said last week, I thought Callie had very good points about Mariana.  Mariana loves revealing other people's secrets, but hates being called out on her own.  It is not a very attractive quality.  I do hope that she gets to stay on the roller derby team because that could be really good for her.

I'm just not sure what to make of Jude anymore.  For the last couple of seasons, he is barely in episodes and when he is, he doesn't really have much of a storyline.  It was nice to see him and Taylor do that live broadcast, but if they want us to really invest in his new relationship, Jude needs to be in a whole lot more.

As for Brandon, he is in a very weird position.  His current girlfriend is very jealous of his ex, but she keeps doing things that push Brandon and Cortney together.  It is very weird.  I know she has her whole "do one thing a day that terrifies me" thing, but this is just a bad way to go about that.  The only thing I can think of is that she is trying to sabotage her relationship with Brandon or something, because otherwise it makes no sense.

I really hope that Stef can help Kyle, but it looks like it might not happen.  If she is just going to put him in danger, then I really hope that she backs off a bit.

Until next week!

Sunday, August 13, 2017

My Review of Teen Wolf 6.13- After Images

Argent and Melissa share an odd discovery, Scott and the gang look for Brett, and Cory and Mason have a disturbing encounter....

Well, it appears that Gerard is doing everything he can to expose supernatural creatures and scare people so he can finally get his revenge on Scott and all other werewolves.  He is using people's fear of the unknown in order to get them scared so that they will go after the werewolves.  The problem is that it is entirely possible that the body count from that sort of war will be sky high because the wolves will defend themselves.

Gerard has already exposed Liam as a werewolf and Cory and Lydia have also been exposed as something nonhuman at the high school.  This is not a good thing because Scott and his pack have been the one thing standing between Beacon Hills and disaster on multiple occasions.  I have to wonder if the thing that escaped is somehow heightening people's fears in order to remove the guardians of Beacon Hills so it can have Beacon Hills to itself.

This would make sens given what Melissa and Argent discovered.  Something about the body they were getting a sample from was giving them the freaks.  Interestingly enough, the thing was also nothing, which makes no sense.  This also makes sense since some previews showed Ms. Blake coming back and since she is dead.  If anyone in the gang fears her enough and the whatever it is that was released preys on fears, her coming back makes sense.

Since Scott now knows that Gerard is behind what is going on, it would be a good idea for him to bring back as many allies as possible because Gerard is the one enemy who has consistently given Scott the most trouble.  Gerard is crafty, plays fast and loose with the truth, and is absolutely fanatical about taking out all werewolves.  All in all, a bad combination.

Until next week!

Tuesday, August 8, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 5.05- Telling

The kids go to a party where secrets are revealed, Lena is disturbed by Tess and upset by Stef who is obsessed with her latest case, Callie is challenged, and Brandon is put into a somewhat awkward position.

While I admire the fact that Callie wants to stand up for other people, I do think the braver thing for her personally to do would be to stay out of what is going on at the college campus.  It is so easy for her to get swept up in what is going on that for her to take a step back and watch for a bit is probably the best thing.  Given the way everyone was talking, I am worried that things will get out of hand and she will get herself in over her head again.  I just hope that she is smart about her activism now and sets limits for herself.

As for what she said about Mariana, I can't totally disagree with her.  While Mariana does have a certain activist streak, her activism tends more towards things that will help Mariana and less towards the more selfless (albeit reckless) activism that is Callie's stock in trade.  As for the whole party, I get that Mariana wanted to go, but allowing Jesus to come along without keeping a closer eye on him was not smart, particularly considering the fact that Jesus doesn't really seem to have his own best, long-term interests in mind.  I get that he wants to go out and have fun, but he really, REALLY needs to be a tone more careful.  Bouncing around and jumping up and down cannot be good for his brain right now.  He really needs to figure out a way to do things that aren't potentially going to get him hurt worse than he already is.  I am glad that Mariana decided to do the right thing a fess up to everything to Lena.  I do hope that Stef and Lena will let her continue to do roller derby, because she really does enjoy it.

Speaking of Lena, she seems to be near the end of her rope.  She is frustrated by everything going on with Jesus, upset at being his main caretaker, and then there was Tess' bit about her being impressed that Stef and Lena had embraced an "alternative lifestyle".  For the record, I hate that phrase when it is applied to someone's sexuality.  Living off the gird is an "alternative lifestyle".  Being married to the person that you love, whether or not they are the same sex as you, is not.  Period.  I was definitely a little surprised that she snapped at Stef, but I think they both needed that for Stef to realize how alone Lena is feeling right now.  Fortunately, Stef took the hint and seems to be working towards rectifying the situation.

Brandon has put himself in a somewhat awkward position.  While I get why he wants to help his ex and her son, not telling his current girlfriend was not the best idea.  I don't know if he considered how she might react, but it has the potential to be pretty bad.  She was definitely not happy to hear about i and Brandon needs to carefully consider his next steps.

Until next week!

Sunday, August 6, 2017

My Review of Teen Wolf 6.12- Raw Talent

A few characters make a return and Scott gets an inkling as to what is going on.

Honestly, there was not a ton of stuff going on tonight.  The main thing we learned is that there are a variety of ordinary people who have twigged into the whole supernatural thing and aren't exactly happy about it.  The guidance counselor is one of those people and the doctor from Eichen House is another.  They seem to want to kill supernatural creature merely because they exist and they want them gone.

In other words, this seems like the Benefactor all over again.  When shows repeat major storylines in their final season, I always get worried because that generally indicates that they don't have another idea and don't know what to do.  And that generally leads to a not great ending because they are retreading old territory.  Add to that the fact that they are bringing Gerard back again to unite these people into some semblance of an army and we are repeating part of season 2.

I've seen this happen with other shows and I am not happy to see it happening again.  Falling Skies had this sort of problem, The Vampire Diaries had this sort of problem, as have other shows.  I really, really hope that the remaining episodes aren't just going over well trod ground again.  If so, I will stop writing reviews, even though I will continue watching.  Between this week and the lack of Stiles as a main character, this arc is *SO* not off to a good start.

Honestly, that is really all I have to say about the episode, which is not a good sign.  I am just hoping that the show goes back to being a whole lot better than it was in 6A.  I want this show to go out with a bang, not a whimper.

Tuesday, August 1, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 5.04- Too Fast, Too Furious

Tonight is all about romantic relationships as Callie and Aaron have something to consider, Mike and Ana come to a decision, Jesus confronts Emma, and Brandon is caught in a bit of a bind.  Meanwhile, Mariana hides something from the family.

It's a good thing Aaron is a patient man, because he seems to need it with Callie.  On the one hand, it is hard to blame her for going to Tom because he is a friend and is trans like Aaron.  On the other hand, going to someone who has (had?) a crush on you for romantic advice is not the best idea in the world.  At least she and Aaron are being open and honest with each other as they consider their relationship.  Callie trying to be verbal and make Aaron feel more masculine was sort of funny in a cringe-inducing sort of way.  The problem is that if you are going to do something like that, it needs to be natural and she was anything but.  I can't say I blame her for being nervous because dating a trans guy has to be different, at least when it comes to the physical.  And Callie has always had a problem being emotionally open (although she is getting better at it!), so not talking to Aaron right away was so something she would do.  But, it appears that the two of them are going to be open with their questions, so that is a good thing.

And then there is Brandon.  Babysitting your ex's kid is not a horrible idea, but he so should have let Grace know about the situation before she found out on her own.  And letting Courtney stay with them without talking to Grace about it is such a horrible idea.  Grace does not seem to be the most secure person in the world and I suspect that even that most secure person would have an issue with your ex staying at your parent's house.  It's nice of him to offer, but it was still a bad idea.  I have a horrible suspicion that it will come back to bite him on the ass, big time.

Mike and Ana are engaged. While I am happy for them, it is a weird situation.  Brandon's dad is going to be married to the twins' biological mom.  That is probably going to be somewhat uncomfortable for everyone involved.  Hey, I may be wrong, but I don't think that it was the best move without some thorough groundwork.  I know it is Mike and Ana's lives and everything, but by not at least preparing everyone ahead of time, it could lead to some serious awkwardness.

The main problem, I suspect, is going to be Jesus.  I know allowance have to be made for the TBI. but at some point, excuses have to stop being made for him.  He has been on Brandon over so many things, it is really hard to blame him for fighting back a little.  Jesus did destroy Brandon's room and is scaring people and he has to realize that, while he may not be able to control himself terribly well, that doesn't mean that his actions don't have consequences.  Emma is worried that Jesus might go off on her, and I can't say I blame her.  I don't think he would purposefully hurt her, but if he has fit of rage around her, he could hurt her anyway.  As for his going back to school, it is not the worst idea.  Working construction is a horrible idea, mainly because he could very easily hurt himself again and exacerbate his TBI.  I know he doesn't want to be different, but he is, and he needs to figure out how to deal with that.

Apparently, the only secrets Mariana can keep are her own.  Joining the derby team could be good for her, but when Stef and Lena figure out what she is up to, it is not going to end well.  It was nice to see her get better, but this is something she needs to tell them about.  They may be hesitant to let her join the team, but they might be persuaded to relent in time.  She, however, is not giving them that chance, and that is a problem.

Until next week!

Sunday, July 30, 2017

My Review of Teen Wolf 6.11- Said the Spider to the Fly

The last ten episode premiere and things get going just as Scott, Malia, and Lydia are looking to leave....

First, I need to say how much it sucks that Dylan is a "Special Guest Star".I know that with the accident and the movies he is in, his time was limited, but I was hoping he could continue to be credited as a star of the show, particularly since he is one of the three remaining stars from the pilot.  Without him, the show isn't nearly as good because it seems to get way too dark.  Hopefully they can lighten things up a bit.  That said, I did treasure the few moments we had with him in the end.  The FBI has no idea what they're getting with him.

I hafta feel sorry for Scott, Malia, and Lydia.  They are all ready to go and then they get drawn back in by the latest craziness.  I loved that Malia and Scott were preparing their moms for their departure.  I loved it even more when Melissa showed Scott those vials of herbs and what not she has.  That was amusing as was the moment when she used the shock stick on him.  Lydia's mom, on the other hand, is probably racking up frequent flyer miles to the land of denial.  I get that her primary job is to keep the school going and safe, but given what has happened in Beacon Hills, being prepared is a good idea/

I feel sorry for Liam that Hayden left, but I can't say that I'll miss her.  Sorry, but she was never my favorite character.  It would have been nice to see her leave, but I guess that couldn't happen.  All that said, it will be good for Liam to step up .  Or it would be if Scott actually leaves.  Apparently, when they released Stiles, something else escaped from the hunt as well.  Something that revived a Hellhound that was imprisoned in Eichen House.  Whatever that something is, it cannot be a good thing.  Unfortunately, a Argent affiliated hunter, posing as the guidance counselor (what is it with people posing as guidance counselors anyway?), killed it.  This  cannot be a good thing, particularly considering the previews showing that Grandpa Argent appears to be back with a vengeance.

Speaking of Liam, he needs to get himself back under control again.  Twice tonight, he nearly lost control.  Once on the lacrosse field and once in the hospital.  Luckily Scott was there (as the assistant coach!) for the first and Liam managed to run away in the hospital.  Otherwise there could have been some very bad things going down.

Given the one kid in the guidance counselor's office, the students of BHHS are definitely starting to take notice of the events going on around them.  They may not be able to explain everything, but they know that weird stuff is going on and they are scared of whatever it is.  It would be great if the whole student body fought against whatever is coming, a la BtVS' "Graduation Day".

Derek is wanted for mass murder and Stiles knows about it.  I'm wondering if this mass murder is actually the destruction of some bad beings or if he is being framed for something.  My guess would be the second, but it is possible that it is the first.  Guess we'll have to wait and see.

Given the previews we will see Kate, Ethan (I think Ethan is the one still alive), Jackson, Grandpa Argent, Miss Blake, and Derek come back.  I am curious about Miss Blake since Peter ripped her throat open, but maybe it is some sort of hallucination.  Or maybe he thought he killed her but he didn't.  Can't wait to see!

Until next week!

Tuesday, July 25, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 5.03- Contact

Callie and Brandon take steps forward in their respective relationships; Mariana, Jude, and Lena fight for Anchor Beach; and Jesus has some trouble....

The board of Anchor Beach is being beyond awful at this point.  The Board of Education has decided that Monte is still the principal and that she can't be fired because of the LGBT sex ed class since it wasn't a school sponsored event.  Unfortunately, the board has suspended her due to other issues and flat out told her and Lena that they would find a reason to fire her and that they would be keeping an eye on Lena.  I wish there was a way to use that sort of thing to nullify the vote, but being asses is not a legal reason to do so.  And the fact that the board went to the parents of students who didn't get the signed slips in order to rile them up to complain about Monte is ridiculous.  I just wish that something could be done, but I don't know what that could be.

And Drew is systematically shutting down all protest at the school.  He has installed cameras (ostensibly for security purposes), shut down the school paper, shut down the STEM team after Mariana delivered the underground newspaper as a flyer, and has threatened to shut down the prom if the underground paper goes out again.  When you couple this with the way the board is acting, it shows a leadership issue with the school.  Drew is acting like a dictator and is doing whatever he can do to make sure that the school goes private.  It is completely disgusting.

I like the way that Callie is allowing the family to take pictures of her to use for her self-portrait.  I think it would be really cool if she were to take a bunch of the pictures and put them together in some sort of geometric shape or slideshow in order to show the different sides that she has.  And then there was her date with Aaron.  I get why she was unhappy with not knowing anything, but she really should have told him ahead of time why she wanted to know what was going on because what she had told him made it sound like she was ok with not knowing.  At least they had that nice talk afterwards where she laid out what she needed.

And then there was Brandon and Grace.  To be honest, I can't say that I am surprised that he thought she wanted him to come over for sex.  After all, the last few times we have seen her invite him over, she wanted to have sex with him, so it was not exactly an illogical assumption.  That being said, it probably would have been better for him to check ahead of time to be sure.  I loved the scene where the two of them were apologizing via song.  That was really, really cute.

Jude really needs to start paying more attention to Noah.  Playing that game on his phone all the time is not going to be good for their relationship.  I don't know if Jude is still not quite over Connor or what, but he needs to get serious if he wants to keep Noah as his boyfriend.  The fact that he couldn't even stay off of his phone for a day is not a good sign at all.

And then there is Jesus.  I feel sorry that he overheard Stef and Lena talking, but he does definitely have problems.  Tess may be right and school may be good for him, but I am not sure if all the issues at anchor Beach are good for him right now.  He does need something to do though.

I would feel sorrier for Mariana if she didn't create problems for herself.  I appreciate that she is smart and likes to take charge, but she can be very, very pushy sometimes and is a serious control freak.  While these are not necessarily bad, when they are coupled with her total outspokenness and inability to keep anything a secret, they can cause her problems.  And forging Lena's (I think it was Lena's anyway) signature on that permission form was so not a smart move.  This is going to be trouble.

Until next week!

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 5.02- Exterminate Her

The Fosters get a new neighbor who is not so new to someone in the house, Callie starts to take control of her life, Jesus learns a secret, and Brandon discovers something interesting.

So, the wife of the married couple who moves in next to the Fosters knows Stef somehow.  I am wondering if she is the girl Stef had a crush on that caused her father to send her to be "cured".  That would explain the awkwardness of their finally meeting each other.  Other than that, the new neighbors seem great.  Granted, the wife stuck her foot in her mouth when she talked about Anchor Beach (not that she was entirely wrong!), but she seemed genuinely sorry that she did so.  And the husband offered to fix the fence for free, which is cool.  We need backstory ASAP!

I get that Jesus is frustrated that people are treating him differently, but he had a massive injury and has a tendency to fly off the handle at the slightest provocation, so no, I can't say I blame anyone for keeping things from him.  If he really wants to have people stop hiding things from him, he needs to accept that he has changed and deal with stuff.  And yes, I know that it is easier said than done, but he can't go back to the way things were because things are very different now.  And witnessing the two tantrums he's had in the last two weeks, it's hard to blame people for wanting to avoid upsetting him.

As for the school paper, I am not entirely sure we can trust Drew when he said that a student wrote the op-ed.  Sorry, but the guy has proven himself to be underhanded, slimy, and generally completely untrustworthy.  He is doing everything in his power to make sure that the privatization goes through, which leads me to wonder if he has any skin in the game or is earning something from Nick's dad.  While I can't say I like the whole hacking into the school's email thing, it was worth it just so that Lena could throw Drew's words back in his face.  That was fun.

I can't believe that Brandon didn't pick up on the total fakeness of the whole "my ex handcuffed me to the bed in my sexy underwear" story.  I just hung my head for a sec when he left her apartment.  Granted, he had an interview, but at least arrange an assignation for later!  I did love that Callie pointed out to him what he obviously missed/

As for Callie, she had a big week.  She is auditing an art class. and for a bit it looked like Robert paid to get her into the class.  I get why she was upset about that because Robert does have a history of trying to buy his daughter and Callie out of trouble.  I know he means the best, but he really needs to get another schtick.  At least he didn't pay anyone off this time, so that is a good thing.  Callie just needs to get her inspiration going because she is really talented as an artist.  I really think that she needs to figure out a way to marry her art with her passion for helping other people.  If she can use her art to help people, than maybe she won't keep putting herself in danger.

Then there's Gabe.  On the one hand, keeping something from your kid (whether or not you are the parent) is never an easy thing to do.  On the other, he really should have respected Stef and Lena's wishes to stay out of it.  Of course, if Mariana hadn't have opened her mouth and told Gabe about Jesus' potential problem, then he wouldn't have known anything to lie about, so there is another issue we can lay at her door.  I know I rag on her a lot, but she really earns it because she is constitutionally incapable of keeping a secret.  While her being bossy in not alway a bad thing, the problem is that she has caused problems with people in the past because of her controlling tendencies.  And I really think that Jesus wants to do this on his own, if only to prove that he can.  Telling Mariana that he will work with Emma had to hurt though.  Maybe he could have asked one of his moms for help?

Until next week!

Wednesday, July 12, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 5.01- Resist

Sorry this is late, but I wasn't able to watch the episode last night, so here is my review of the 5th season premiere....

While Stef desperately searches for Callie (who is in way over her head), Brandon and Emma look for an incensed Jesus while Lena tries to deal with protesters (including Jude) led by Mariana at Anchor Beach...

Callie got herself in so far over her head that I am a little surprised she emerged unscathed.  Well, physically unscathed anyway.  It's a good thing she thinks fast on her feet, because she needed every ounce of strength and cunning she had tonight.  Did she do a good thing?  Yes.  Was it the right thing?  That is a far trickier question.  Stef was right when she observed that Callie doesn't value her own life as highly as she does others.  I don't think it's that Callie doesn't care about herself, rather it is that she has an intense need to protect other people and that need seems to take precedence over her own safety.  She got out this time, but that was in large part due to Diamond sending that text.  I really hope she takes stock of her life and begins to realize that she needs to be smarter about how she helps people.

Brandon is similar to Callie in this respect, although his need seems to spring from a different place.  Callie grew up way too quickly because she had to protect Jude in the different houses she was in.  Brandon, on the other hand, had to grow up relatively quickly because of his dad's drinking and because he was often overlooked while the twins were being taken care of.  I've seen other people say Brandon shouldn't have hidden Emma's pregnancy from Jesus, but I completely disagree.  The secret was Emma's to share when she felt ready, so he was doing the right thing.  And while I understand that Jesus' TBI is a huge mitigating factor here, I think Brandon has every right to be mad at Jesus for destroying his room.  I think this issue is going to be with them for quite some time.

As for the protest, I think that storyline is going to be another major one this season.  You have the school board and Nick's dad who are looking to privatize the school so it will be more to their liking while Monte, Lena, the parents, and students are going to be fighting this tooth and nail.  Since the vote was technically invalid since Monte is technically principal, there is a chance that they can win, but I don't know how big of a chance they actually have.  As I said in the last review, what the board did in closing the meeting was technically legal, but it was also a disgusting thing to do.  I am half expecting some sort of legal battle over the school.  And poor Jude got maced after Nick's dad tried to shove Mariana aside.  Then when Drew had the temerity to claim that the protesters had escalated the whole situation....just smdh.

I did definitely enjoy watching Gabe and Ana talking about their difficulties and frustrations about the twins.  I do not envy the situation that they are in.  Having teenagers semi-dropped in your lap is a lot to deal with and I think they are doing an admirable job.  They are helping out when they can without stepping in as parents and stepping on Stef and Lena's toes.  It'll be nice for them to stick around.

Until next week!

Wednesday, May 24, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.23- Lian Yu

Oliver puts together quite the band to take on Chase and Talia and the flashbacks come full circle...

Well, as promised, the flashbacks are officially over.  The last set of flashbacks ended with Oliver putting on the costume we saw from the pilot and getting rescued.  I have to admit that I wondered if he was going to be rescued right then or if he was going to be on the island a bit longer.  We had been told last summer that the flashbacks would end this season, so I knew he would be rescued, the only question was whether he would be rescued by the crew Anitoly sent or not.  But he was and now that circle is closed.

The fight against Chase was as vicious as could have been expected.  Some of my guesses from last week were correct in general, even if the specifics were wrong.  Nyssa did fight Talia and Oliver did fight Chase, but, interestingly, Oliver chose to send Malcolm with Nyssa to find William while he and Slade went to find everyone else.  Slade has calmed down dramatically since we last saw him and actually worked very well with Oliver.  Malcolm also worked rather well, mainly because Oliver chose to keep him close to Thea, knowing that Malcolm would (and apparently did) die to protect her.  I say "apparently did" because, while we saw an explosion, we never actually saw Malcolm die, so there is always the possibility that he somehow survived.  Slim chance, I know, but without seeing some sort of proof, I will still list him as apparently dead.

The other thing I got right is that Slade did take on the minions, and he did quite well at it too.  Wild Dog and Diggle also did a good job fighting the minions in hand-to-hand combat.  I have to admit to being surprised at how easily Nyssa was able to defeat Talia.  I honestly thought that the fight would have lasted longer.  Instead, it was very brief and ended with Nyssa victorious.  The scream between the Black Siren and the Black Canary was sort of fun to see and I loved that Lance clocked the Black Siren upside the head to knock her out.

Putting the makeshift team together to save his friends and family was vintage Oliver.  As I've said many, many times before, he can be extremely pragmatic when the situation warrants it.  He knows he can trust Nyssa and he knows that he can trust Malcolm to protect Thea.  Other than having the information about his son, I'm not sure why Oliver thought he could trust Slade, but I am glad he did because Slade acquitted himself nicely in this fight.  Oliver doesn't like him, but knows that he can work with Slade if needed, and boy was it needed tonight.

What I am really curious about is how the hell Chase managed to plant and network that many bombs all over the island without ARGUS finding out about it.  Something about that is just really weird.  That said, I think I can overlook that plothole because the rest of the episode was so awesome.  Oliver told Chase that he wouldn't kill him, and he meant it.  He shot Chase in the leg with an arrow, but he didn't count on Chase being willing to kill himself in order to finish his revenge.

We know that the whole team isn't wiped out because Black Canary, Black Siren, and Wild Dog were all recently promoted to series regulars, so they (and presumably the rest of the team as well) got away from the explosions somehow.  Did they manage to get to the boat in time?  Or maybe they went into the ARGUS facility and escaped the blasts.  We'll just have to wait and see what happens when the show returns in the fall.

Until then!

Tuesday, May 23, 2017

My Review of The Flash 3.23- Finish Line

The team takes on Savitar with a result that wasn't predicted, but makes sense...

As I guessed last week, HR traded places with Iris and was killed as a result.  What I got wrong was when the switch happened.  I thought that someone had switched him and Iris while Savitar was running around, but HR had actually switched places with Iris earlier.  That was quite brave of him and, as I said last week, it makes sense because he felt guilty that he had inadvertently revealed where Iris was when he thought that Savitar was Barry.  The good news is that HRs death brought Harry back to help the team out.  While I did enjoy HR, Harry is my favorite version of Wells that we have met so far.

I must admit that I did think that Savitar was actually going to go down the path that Barry had suggested.  Well, I did until he was talking to Barry and Iris alone and he was talking about how hard it would be for him to find a place in the team.  At that point, I knew that he wasn't going to give up.  What I didn't expect was for him to cause the Philosopher's Stone to blow up (or whatever it did).  I'm not sure if he was trying to kill Barry and the gang or if he was trying to do something to distract them.

The final fight which pitted the Flash (Earth-1), the Flash (Earth-2), Kid Flash, Gypsy, and Vibe against Savitar and Killer Frost was pretty cool.  I think the coolest moment was when Barry vibrated his way into Savitar's suit and then cause it to explode.  That was pretty cool and reminded me of how Neo killed Agent Smith in The Matrix.  The part I really didn't expect was for Iris to shoot Savitar.  I totally get why she did it, but it was unexpected.  When I heard the shot, I half expected Joe to be the one with the gun, so seeing Iris be the one who shot Savitar was a twist that I didn't expect.

As for the ending, we know that Barry isn't going to be trapped in the Speed Force jail for longer than an episode or two.  I am working on the assumption that he will somehow get out of the jail either at the beginning of the premiere or right at the end.  My only question is how they will get him out without destabilizing the jail again and unleashing havoc on Central City.  If a speedster has to be in the prison, then someone will have to take his place.  The only other option that I can see is for them to somehow shut the prison down after they get Barry out.

Having Barry go to the prison is a fitting end to the season.  While the havoc he wrought was unintentional, Barry did make a lot of mistakes that he needed to pay for.  If he hadn't created Flashpoint, then Savitar would never have been created, the Dominators wouldn't have come to Earth, and the Reverse Flash wouldn't have been around to mess with reality using the Spear of Destiny.  My one question is why no one thought to see if Jay Garrick could have gone back in.  I do get that Barry sees this as his penance for what he has done, but if Garrick had volunteered to go back in, that would have put someone in the prison and stabilized it.

Then there is Caitlin.  She decided not to take the therapy that would have erased her metahuman cells, so she still has her powers.  However, she isn't Killer Frost anymore.  If she can figure out a way to use her powers without going all dark side, she would be very useful to the team.  She just needs to figure out how she can do that.

Overall, I can't say that I loved this season.  It was fairly uneven and a little too dark for this show.  Next season, they really need to bring back some of the lightness and fun from the first season.  With Barry being gone, I have to wonder how the team will cope.  Wally will have to step up and protect the city and everyone else will have to go on with their lives.  I just hope that not too much time passes between now and when Barry is freed.  I also hope they don't have Iris go down a path where she obsesses over how to get Barry back.  This will put a crimp in their relationship, methinks.

Until the fall, have fun!

Thursday, May 18, 2017

TV Schedule for 2017-2018

Well, the TV schedule for next year has been released and I have my schedule worked out.  I am only adding a few shows after having dropped several this year.  I have a couple of slots with more than two shows, which is never fun, but I'll deal.  New shows will be bolded.  Shows in new timeslots will be italcized.  Shows with a (?) by them are new shows that I will try out and see if I like them.  So here is my schedule:

Edited July 31st, 2017

Premiere Dates added by each show as they are advertised

Sunday:

10 pm- Madam Secretary (CBS, 10/8) & Ten Days in the Valley (ABC, 10/1) (?)


Monday:

8 pm- Lucifer (Fox, 10/2) & Supergirl (CW, 10/9)
9 pm- The Gifted (Fox, 10/2)
10 pm- The Good Doctor (ABC, 9/25) & Scorpion (CBS, 9/25)


Tuesday:

8 pm- The Flash (CW, 10/10)
9 pm- Bull (CBS, 9/26), This Is Us (NBC, 9/26), and Legends of Tomorrow (CW, 10/10)
10 pm- Gospel of Kevin (ABC, 10/3) (?) & Law & Order True Crime (NBC, 9/26) (?)

Wednesday:

8 pm- The Blacklist (NBC, 9/27) & Riverdale (CW, 10/11)
9 pm-  SEAL Team (CBS, 9/27) (?) & Dynasty (CW, 10/11) (?)
10 pm- Designated Survivor (ABC, 9/27), The Good Place (NBC, 9/20, special 1 hour premiere)

Thursday:

8 pm- Supernatural (CW, 10/12)
8:30 pm- The Good Place (NBC, 9/28, premiere in regular time slot))
9 pm- Scandal (ABC, 10/5) & Arrow (CW, 10/12)
10 pm- How to Get Away With Murder (ABC, 9/28)

Friday:

8 pm- Once Upon a Time (ABC, 10/6), MacGyver (CBS, 9/29), & Blindspot (NBC, 10/27)
9 pm- Marvel's Inhumans (ABC, 9/29)

Returning at midseason:

The 100 (CW), The Originals (CW), iZombie (CW), Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. (ABC)

New for midseason:

Black Lightning (CW), The Crossing (ABC), Deception (ABC), Instinct (CBS)

Dropped by me:

Quantico (ABC), Timeless (NBC)

Cancelled by the network:

The Vampire Diaries (CW), Grimm (NBC), Conviction (ABC), The Real O'Neal's (ABC), Secrets & Lies (ABC), American Crime (ABC), Bones (Fox), The Blacklist: Redemption (NBC)

Dropped by me and then cancelled:

Pure Genius (CBS), Time After Time (ABC), Frequency (CW), APB (Fox), Scream Queens (Fox)

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.22- Missing

Oliver finds himself teaming up with an unlikely group of people after Chase kidnaps his entire team and heads to Lian Yu...

The team that Oliver has put together to take on Chase and Talia is a powder keg that could very easily explode in his face.  First, there is Malcolm Merlyn.  There is absolutely no love lost between him and Oliver.  That being said, I think this is a situation where Malcolm can be trusted to be at least moderately helpful.  Whatever faults he may have, and there are quite a few of them, Malcolm has shown an unswerving dedication to keeping Thea safe.  While his ideas of what is in her best interest generally diverge from what she actually wants, he does have that going for him.  While I wouldn't trust him unreservedly, he can be trusted to at least make sure that she is kept alive.  That being said, I suspect that if he thought that teaming with Chase would be the best thing for Thea, he might choose that route.  However, I don't see that being the case.

Then you have Nyssa, who is by far the most trustworthy of the group.  The only issue with her is how she will react to Talia's presence.  There doesn't seem to be a whole lot of love there either, but I would never discount family ties.  Then again, she is still technically married to Oliver, so I think she can be trusted to stay with him.  And she is definitely a formidable warrior who has shown herself capable of taking down almost any foe.  The only people who give her trouble are Oliver and Malcolm, and I think we can safely assume that both Talia and Chase would give her difficulties as well since they are both of a similar caliber.

Then there is Deathstroke.  He is going to be the biggest wildcard.  He hates Oliver, even before Oliver locked him up on Lian Yu. so I have to wonder how Oliver is going to manage to get him to work with the group to fight Chase and Talia.  The good thing about him is that he has a completely different fighting style than anyone else.  All of the other major actors in this brewing fight have undergone training by the League or someone affiliated with the League, so having him along could be useful to Oliver.

Then, of course, there is Oliver himself.  He has received training primarily from the League or someone close to it, but he also learned from Deathstroke.  Also, he is the man who killed R'as Al Ghul which makes him uniquely dangerous.  He has reached the point where he is willing to work with anyone who he thinks will help him out, which is always a dangerous place for Oliver to go.  If either Felicity or Diggle had been around, I don't think Oliver would have done what he did.  Then again, if Chase hadn't kidnapped them, there would have been no reason to accept Malcolm's help or go to get Deathstroke.

I am very interested to see how this is all going to play out next week.  I am sure there will be some sort of mind games involved, but I suspect that we have passed most of that and are headed more in the direction of a straight out fight.  The big question is who will fight who.  I suspect that Oliver will task Malcolm and Deathstroke with taking on the minions and freeing the gang while he and Nyssa take on Talia and Chase.  That would make the most sense because that would put the person Oliver can trust the most by his side against two incredibly dangerous enemies.  The downside is that it would means that he would have to have the two people he trusts the least save his friends and his sister, but I think that would be a risk worth taking otherwise he could end up fighting three people on his own.

One worry I do have is whether or not Chase or Talia has managed to get Deathstroke to their side.  If so, this fight will go poorly because having the three of them team up will be very, very bad for Oliver.  But, we'll have to wait and see.

Until next week!

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

My Review of The Flash 3.22- Infantino Street

The day of reckoning has arrived and the entire gang is working tirelessly to sae Iris from Savitar. But did they succeed?

Apparently, the answer is "No" since we saw Savitar stab Iris.  That being said, there are some inconsistencies between the way this final scene played out from how we have seen it before.  In previous iterations, Barry did not have the Speed Bazooka, but this time he did.  Also, in at least one previous iteration, we saw HR on the roof of the building with Joe, but he wasn't there this time.  Between that, HR's feeling of guilt over having revealed Iris' hiding place to Savitar, and the reminder of the disguising technology, I have to wonder if maybe HR managed to somehow switch places with Iris while Savitar was running around while Barry was shooting at him.  With everyone focused on Barry shooting at Savitar, it is possible that HR (or someone else for that matter) could have switched places with Iris in order to save her from being killed.  I'm not sure if I would say that it is likely, but it is definitely possible.

One reason why I am doubting that Iris is actually gone is that it would be a major change to the show, such a major change that I am not sure if the writers would go there.  Unlike Laurel's death last year on Arrow, Iris' death would be much more consequential.  We've already seen how Iris' death would impact the team, so I don't think they are going there.  I guess they could if they wanted to examine how Barry could handle things differently, but that does not seem at all likely to me.  As always, I have to say that I could be wrong, but her actually dying here strikes me as being very wrong.

That being said, I did appreciate that Barry did show the lengths he was willing to go to (or not go to) in his efforts to save Iris.  I am not entirely sure I agree with Lyla's reasoning to not give the Dominator tech to Barry, mainly because what he wanted it for was not to change the past but to alter the future, which is a different creature altogether.  I did appreciate that her decision did lead Barry to get Snart to help him.  That was just something fun to watch.  Snart is always fun to see, so seeing him help Barry just made things lots and lots of fun.  It also showed that, while Barry is definitely willing to bend the rules to help people he loves, he does have his limits.  He could have sacrificed Snart to save Iris, but he wouldn't have, which is a good thing.  I am scratching my head a little about why that made Lyla change her mind so quickly though.  I appreciate that it did, but that did seem a bit mercurial of her, however necessary it was for the plot.

The other major story, which I think will be explored more next week, was the fight between Cisco and Killer Frost that has been brewing for a while.  He hasn't lost his hands (yet) or anything, but she is convinced that she must get rid of Cisco in order to "ascend" with Savitar.  That makes me wonder if Cisco is some sort of major threat to Savitar.  After all, if he somehow convinced Killer Frost to go after Cisco, it is entirely possible that it could be because Cisco can do something to him.

Until next week!


Wednesday, May 10, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.22- Honor Thy Fathers

Mayor Queen deals with the fallout of Chase being revealed as Prometheus while Oliver and Thea find out something disturbing about their father and the Green Arrow and his crew rush to stop a horrific plan...

Oliver certainly had his work cut out for him tonight.  As mentioned last week, there was some major fallout from the revelation that Chase is Prometheus.  Because he was the DA, all of his prosecutions are now suspect, so 36 people were freed.  While Oliver and the gang managed to capture one tonight, I am more than willing to bet that this storyline will be a major role in next season, particularly if (as I've heard) the Vigilante plays a role in next season.

This problem is still not a major issue yet, but Oliver and Thea faced an earth-shaking revelation tonight.  In 2002, Robert Queen got in an argument with a city councilman and the councilman died.  While the death was an accident, that doesn't prevent Thea from being even mor3e convinced that she is descended from, or raised by, monsters, which means that she is one too.  I have to admit to rolling my eyes at that one.  I get why she and Oliver would be upset about what happened, and the fact that it was covered up, but it was clearly an accident.  That means that Robert Queen is not a monster because of this, if he is at all.  I think Oliver had it right when he explained that it just means that Robert, like Moira, was a complex person who didn't always do the right thing.

I think the problem with Thea is similar to the problem with Diggle.  Both of them view the world in very binary, black-and-white terms.  You are good or bad, evil or not, a monster or a savior, but not something in between.  The problem is that most people really are somewhere in between.  They aren't perfect, but they're not monsters either.  I also think that Thea feels guilty about things she has done in the past, so she is looking for an excuse to hate herself, not unlike Oliver a few episodes ago.  They both need to accept that they have done some wrong and some right and really focus on how they help people.  As Oliver noted, they are not their parents, nor are they defined by their parents' actions, unless they choose to define themselves that way.  They are each their own person who must stand or fall based on what they have done, not what their parents have done.

I do admire how Oliver managed to capture Chase.  However, I have to wonder (given the look on his face at then end of the episode and the preview for next' week's episode) if Chase already knew how his dad felt about him or if Chase planted that story in order to make Oliver think he had a leg up on Chase.  The entire thing was way too easy.  And easy, in this world, makes me very, very nervous.

I really hope that Rene is ok.  Not showing up for the hearing to get his daughter, even given how nervous he was early in the episode, is not a good thing.  Here's hoping that something didn't happen to him.

And Kovar is on Lian Yu with Oliver?  That is so not a good thing.....

Until next week!

Tuesday, May 9, 2017

My Review of The Flash 3.21- Cause and Effect

Barry finds out why the other Barry became Savitar which causes Julian and Cisco to take drastic actions to stop the events from unfolding....

So, the Barry who became Savitar is not an alternate version of Barry, but a time remnant of Future Barry who was left over after Barry created Flashpoint in order to stop Savitar.  This is a perfect illustration of something I have talked about before.  With all of the time travel that takes place on this show, sometime the effect of an action precedes the cause.  So here's what happened:

In order to stop Savitar, Future Barry created time remnants of himself much like Barry did last year when he was racing Zoom.  Of these time remnants, one survived and was; for some reason; cast aside because he wasn't the "real Barry".  To get revenge, he became Savitar and went back in time in order to get revenge on Barry and force him to create more time remnants so that one of them will become Savitar and start the cycle all over again, thus creating what Cisco called a "closed loop" or; in a less elegant form; a perpetual series of events where each cause creates an effect which then causes the cause.  Yeah, take a second to wrap your mind around that one.

At this point, the only way to stop Savitar will be for Barry to somehow break the cycle by not using time remnants to fight Savitar.  Which leads to an interesting question: why isn't the Black Flash after Savitar the way it was after Thawne on Legends?  Or maybe that is the key to defeating Savitar.  If the Black Flash comes after Savitar, then Barry can defeat Savitar without creating a new one.  But allow me to speculate a little further.  What if the "casting off" Savitar referred to was an attempt by the Black Flash to destroy the time remnant?  That would explain the scars on his face and why Savitar is in the suit.  The suit might somehow protect him from the Black Flash.  I know it is all highly speculative at this point, but it is worth considering.

Then we have Cisco and Julian's attempt to try and stop Savitar.  The idea wasn't a bad one per se, but it wasn't terribly well thought either.  By preventing Barry from creating memories, it would doom him to only ever knowing what he knows now, which would mean that any future villains Barry would have met would have an advantage because he wouldn't necessarily remember that they are villains (as one example).  The fact that it backfired so spectacularly was sort of amusing.

It was fun to see Barry be the way he was in the first season, when his powers were new and he was discovering everything for the first time.  He was so happy with everything that was going on and his sheer joy at being able to speed around was just fun to watch.  Unfortunately, the other unintended side effect of the attempt was to strip Wally of his powers because, without Savitar to give him his powers in this timeline, Wally was powerless.  So, not the worst idea in the world, but not well thought through and with horrible side effects.

It was also fun to see HR and Brand try and resist the romance and see how HR's word gave her the spark she needed to complete the Speed Bazooka.  I am definitely enjoying watching this.  I don't think she'll stick around, so I'll enjoy this while I have it.

Until next week!

Wednesday, May 3, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.20- Underneath

Oliver and Felicity get lots of enforced alone time (thanks to Chase) while the gang tries to figure out how to rescue them and Diggle and Lyla try to work through their differences regarding ARGUS....

This was an episode that wasn't so much about moving the overall story along as much as it was cleaning up the personal messes between the gang in order to allow them to focus on the bigger picture.

First off, I was so glad to see Lyla call out Diggle on his behavior.  Is she running ARGUS the way he wants her to?  No and she is also not running it in the most moral way, mainly because she is operating in a world of grey.  And, as she pointed out, Diggle has tended to support Oliver in most (but not all) of his decisions, so she; as his wife; deserves to receive the same consideration, at the very least.  I know I harp on him a lot, so it was nice to see someone on the show call him out on this sort of thing.  As for the whole stealing and improving Curtis' tech thing, I think that would barely have been mentioned if he hadn't already been upset at her, so I won't even really look at that.

Then there is Oliver and Felicity.  It was nice to see the two of them talk about what has happened between them and for Felicity to acknowledge that Oliver's keeping William a secret wasn't that big a deal.  I was not fond of the way they retconned her reasons though.  Last year, she was fairly specific that she was upset that he hadn't included her in any decisions and now they are having her say that she was really upset that he didn't trust her enough to tell her about him.  Personally, I think both are bogus.  The idea that you don't keep secrets from someone you trust is not really a good one.  Everyone (well, most people) is going to keep something from people around them, no matter how much they trust them.  They may be embarrassed, they may just not want to talk about it, or it may be one of a million other things.  It doesn't automatically indicate a lack of trust.

It was good that Oliver told Felicity what Chase had done to him and what he learned about his inspiration for becoming the Hood in the first place.  That was something that did need to be shared because that sort of secret could really eat away at everything.  And  she handled the whole thing perfectly.  She said what a lot of people have said, which is that he really is not as bad as he sees himself to be.  Is he perfect?  Hell no.  But he is not a total monster.  He has done some really heinous things and some things that cross moral lines, that is for sure.  And while his initial reasons may not have been the best reasons, the reasons for doing what he is doing have changed over time.  And that is a good thing.

I hope they deal a little more with the storyline they touched on briefly about the criminals that Chase has put away.  That sort of story could really go far in powering a season long arc of trying to recapture people that were released after it was revealed that Chase is Prometheus.

Until next week!

Tuesday, May 2, 2017

My Review of The Flash 3.20- I Know Who You Are

The identity of Savitar is revealed, and it's a doozy!  Meanwhile, Cisco deals with his feelings about confronting Killer Frost and HR starts falling for a physicist...

So a future Barry is Savitar.  And this Barry is very, very different from the other future Barry we saw last week, so I can only assume he is from a different timeline or a different earth.  This whole thing leads to a very interesting conundrum: How does the future Barry from last week trap Savitar in the Speed Force and why is Savitar trying to kill Iris?  If Savitar is future Barry and knows what Barry will do, then how can he be trapped by future Barry?  And how did he come to be the way he is?  My suspicion, at this point, is that some future event (or event in an alternate timeline) caused that Barry to lose Iris, which led him to become Savitar and to try to kill other Iris' to prevent other Barry's from being happy or something like that.  Or, it could be that he needs to kill Iris in order for Barry to turn into him so that Savitar can continue to exist.  The only problem with the last is that it assumes that Savitar changes each time.  If Savitar is trapped in the Speed Force each time through the timeline, it is possible that this Savitar is the original and that he has been trapped in the Speed Force over and over again, which would explain his madness.  I guess we'll have to wait until next week to find out for sure what happened.

I can't say that I blame Cisco for being unwilling to fight Killer Frost.  After all, she does take his hand in the future and he doesn't have full control of his abilities.  I didn't think his control was that bad because he has not seemed to have had a ton of trouble controlling his abilities, but maybe he has been having more trouble than he has been letting on.  My thought about his reluctance was that he just didn't want to hurt her at all because she is his friend.

You have to wonder how everyone else is going to react to the news that Barry is Savitar.  The one thing we know for sure is that it is going to be confusing for everyone.  I just hope that we get some explanation about why Barry became Savitar relatively quickly because we only have a few episodes left.

I find it hard to blame Tracy for wanting to run away from everything, after all, it's not every day you find out that a speedster from the future wants to kill you to prevent you from trapping him in a force you only speculatively knew about.  Yeah, this will mess with your mind for sure.  Here's hoping they can figure everything out.

Until next week!

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.19- Dangerous Liasons

In an effort to find Chase, Felicity takes some questionable steps; Diggle finds out some disturbing information, and Lance helps Rene out...

Did Felicity do wrong?  That is the big question tonight.  She's right when she said that Oliver has taken some questionable steps in the past, but by involving Helix and helping them to free someone who was in Helix's custody, she did take some steps that Oliver hadn't in the past.  She's right that they did need help to find Chase, but freeing a prisoner was a bit of an extreme way to get that help.  That being said, I find it hard to say that she was wrong, if only because sometimes extreme situations do call for extreme measures.

I get the feeling that Oliver might agree with this on some level because he really didn't put up much of a fight with her when he talked with her in her apartment.  Then again, he did go with the team to stop her, so I could be wrong.  It could also be that he realizes that, in this situation, he doesn't have much of a leg to stand on.  at least he and Felicity will have plenty of time to figure things out next week, seeing as they're trapped in the lair and everything.

So about that program that the freed prisoner gave them.  Was it intended to send out that EMP or did Chase do something to harm Oliver and Felicity?  If it was intentional, then that puts tonight in an entirely different light and Felicity was a fool to trust Helix.  It's entirely possible that Helix is working with Chase and that the code that Felicity was given was meant to cripple the lair in order to give Chase time to do something.  Or it could be that Helix was hoping to catch the entire team together and cause problems because of what happened.

And that leads to the next big issue: Lyla is turning into Amanda Waller.  I know she became the head of ARGUS with the intention of reforming it, but what is right and wrong can often change depending on your perspective.  Lyla has been tasked with protecting her agents and the world, so she is going to have different priorities now.  Operating a secret jail is so not kosher, but it is hard to blame her for wanting to keep someone who had hacked into ARGUS put away where she could keep an eye on him.  Here, once again, Diggle's perfectly black and white view of the world rears its head.  Granted, this time I do think he is right, but that doesn't mean that Lyla doesn't have any valid points.  The world she is operating in is all sorts of different shades of grey, so sometimes she has to do things that are not exactly kosher.

I did enjoy the subplot of Lance helping Rene reunite with his daughter.  That help provide some sweet interludes to a fairly dark episode.  And I am even more glad that Rene finally decided to fight to get his daughter back.

Until next week!

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

My Review of The Flash 3.19- The Once and Future Flash

Barry goes to the future to find out who Savitar is and finds out some unpleasant information while the gang deals with the fallout of what Julian did to Caitlin...

While we didn't get to see who Savitar is (BOO!!), Killer Frost did and she certainly seemed to know who he is, which leads me to suspect that Savitar is someone we know.  One fairly obvious answer is Ronnie.  When we last saw him, he was flying into the singularity, so he could have been trapped in the Speed Force for a long time or he could have been thrown out of time.  And since the singularity was caused by Barry, that would certainly explain why Savitar has such a hatred for him.  That being said, I am not sure how Ronnie could have become a speedster, unless the suit is what gives him his speed, so that is an issue.  Based on what the future Killer Frost said to our Barry, the person who is Savitar is close to him, but since we saw the rest of the gang in the future, and we know that Savitar is trapped in the Speed Force, I am not sure who else it could be.

The future versions of everyone were pretty much what I would have expected.  Having lost Iris, Barry seriously drifted from the group which led to the group completely falling apart.  Joe is still grieving Iris' death, Wally tried to avenge Iris but ended up being paralyzed and in some sort of catatonic state, and Julian went back to science.  About the only surprising thing was that Cisco had fought Killer Frost and she froze both his hands, so he lost them and had to create robotic ones for himself.  Consequently, he lost his powers and everything else as well.  Oh, and Killer Frost was captured and being held in the prison where Julian worked.  And good old HR kept writing books (or a book anyway).

One thing that I did find interesting is that the city wasn't completely taken over by villains in the Flash's absence.  You did have Top and Mirror Master who seemed to be on a bit of a crime spree, but that was it.  I was pleasantly surprised that the writers didn't slip into that particular trope of a city going to hell in a handbasket with the absence of the hero, since that is something that could very easily have happened.

So the next thing for the gang to do is find the physicist who created the trap that Barry used to finally cage Savitar in the Speed Force and get her to create it early, because if they can, then Barry can save Iris.  I'm not sure what the effects of changing the future that way will be, but I am not sure if things can get any worse for the group.  But, as we know, messing with time is a dangerous thing, so trapping Savitar 4 years early could have unknown consequences.  After all, that would mean saving at least one life (Iris), if not more, and who knows how people being alive who should have been dead will affect the timeline.

Until next week!

Tuesday, April 11, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 4.20- Until Tomorrow

Jesus has some serious problems with Brandon and Emma, the school board pulls an underhanded maneuver to get their way, Callie does something very Callie-ish and misses some very important news...

Callie has gotten herself in quite the pickle here,  Because she thought she was going to go jail, she decided to save Christina from Diamond's pimp by pretending to be Christina.  Very Callie-ish of her, jumping in to save someone without really thinking it through.  The idea of letting Stef track them using the phone was smart, but once the phone was sent away, she knew she was in trouble.  And for someone who has already been the victim of rape to be placed in that situation has to be a nightmare.  I have to assume that they will get the current problem solved relatively quickly, but the emotional repercussions for Callie could be dramatic.

Unfortunately, what she didn't know is that Mike had already gotten a confession out of the grandson about the murder, which could have been used to show that her fears were justified and that she acted in a way that was not illegal.  I''m just worried that Detective Grey will figure out what has been going on and take steps to stop it because it will reflect badly on him.  Either that or the grandson's lawyer will find some way to get the confession excluded, which will put Callie right back int he same situation.

And then there is Anchor Beach.  The way Drew, Nick's dad, and the school board pushed through the vote to convert Anchor Beach to a private school was absolutely disgusting and underhanded.  First, forcing Monte out in order to put Drew in charge and then making the session closed instead of open, while technically legal, was just awful.  They didn't get any input from any parents at the school other than the board, who appeared to be rich, white parents who could afford the $30,000 a year tuition while excluding the "riff raff" that had been there.  Nick's dad was only doing ti because he was mad about what happened to Nick although it was mostly his fault.  And to close the session after telling everyone it would be open was just wrong.  I almost have to wonder if this was something the board has wanted since they put Monte in place instead of Lena.  I hope the kids and parents protesting outside of the school has an effect, but I am afraid it won't.

And then there was the whole Jesus situation.  When he was talking with Stef and Lena, he seemed to be ok, but then he confronted Mariana who told him that Brandon knew about the abortion and he completely flipped out.  I get why he is upset, but; as I've said in the past; I am very much in Emma's corner on this one.  Jesus was not, and still is not, in the place where he can be a good father and Emma is certainly not ready to be a mother herself.  Telling Jesus given the way he was reacting to everything was also out of the question, so she was caught between a rock and a hard place.  Tell Jesus and risk him seriously flip out and potentially do something dangerous or not tell him and then have him flip out later when he does find out.  So yeah, I think she did the right thing.  And Brandon was being a good friend to Emma by keeping her secret, something that Mariana (as we saw last week) is utterly incapable of doing.  So Jesus now has it in his head that Brandon got Emma pregnant and that is why she got the abortion, which means he is right back to where he was after he got back home.  Seriously sucky situation.

I have to wonder how Jude is going to react to everything going on with Callie.  He seems to have realized that she is trying to help people when she does impulsive things, so I hope he'll be supportive of her when she comes back.  That conversation the two of them had on the beach, where he said that she was his hero, was a very touching scene.

Until July 11th!

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 4.19- Who Knew

All sorts of secrets are outed, some intentionally with good reason, others accidentally that probably should have stayed buried for now.

As much as I love Mariana, she is the worst possible person to confide anything to.  She is constitutionally incapable of keeping a secret that is not her own.  While I do think she did the right thing by telling Lena and Monte what Jude told her, if I were him, I never would have told her in the first place.  I get why he didn't want to say anything, after all, he was there after hours and for not the best reason.  But something like that needed to be shared/

That being said, Mariana's "anonymous" Twitter account is going to cause a ton of problems.  First, she tweeted about the school potentially becoming private before Lena told her and Brandon not to say anything and then there was the post Jesus saw about Emma's abortion.  Mariana, your complete inability to keep something a secret is the reason people don't confide in you.  Emma was going through something really, really hard and she knew that she could rely on Brandon.  Mariana is entirely too quick to judge and doesn't really think about how things affect other people.  Granted, a lot of that is because she is the stereotypical teenage girl (sorry, but she does fit that particular bill!), but still, it gets annoying sometimes.  Brandon is right, Jesus is not in any position to handle a baby right now and Emma isn't either.  Could she have carried the baby to term and the given it up for adoption?  Sure, but that would have caused more problems and stress for Jesus, which would have been a bad idea.  I get that Mariana is upset about what Emma did, but she really doesn't get a voice in it.

So Stef and Lena are all caught up on the abortion and whatnot.  They reacted pretty much as I would have expected.  After questioning Brandon a bit, they acknowledged that he had done the right thing and thanked him for it.  I hope that they talk with Emma before talking with her parents or before either Jesus or Mariana talk with them.  Emma didn't want to tell them and I think it is incumbent on everyone else to respect that.  But, given Jesus' temper and Mariana's inability to keep a secret, I worry that one of them will say something to her parents, which is going to open a whole new can of worms.

As for Mariana and Ana, I am not sure what to think.  Both Mariana and Jesus have independently had similar memories, so it is possible that something like what they are remembering did happen.  It is also possible that they are not remembering accurately, particularly since they are talking about memories from such a young age.  The conception of time is a whole lot different when you are a kid, so it is possible that what they are remembering as a day or more was not that long.  Then again, it is also entirely possible that Ana did leave them alone for that long when she was on drugs.

As much as Brandon may dislike it, I can't say I totally blame Stef for being a little concerned where he and Callie are concerned.  We have heard his empathetically say that he wouldn't do anything with her, but we know he did.  I do think that the two of them are in a better place now to be friends, so I don't think there is anything to worry about.  But Stef's concern is not completely groundless.  Then again, neither is Brandon's frustration.  But he does have to realize that his past actions have put his judgment into question, so he does need to deal with it in a way that does not involve blowing up at Stef.

Poor Callie, Her former foster brother is now saying that he is guilty of the murder and that he used her, and she used him.  Was he a cause to her?  Yes.  But she cared deeply about his being free if he was innocent, so the cause was just.  I don't know if we can believe him, so I hope we get a more definitive answer later on.  I do think it is very possible that he didn't commit the murder, but said he did in order to get her to go away or because he is mad at her.

And Stef now knows that Diamond is still communicating with her pimp.  Hopefully, she can use what she is discovering to take down the pimp and get Diamond out of the situation she is in.

Next week, the season finale.  Until then!

Thursday, March 30, 2017

My Review of Arrow 5.18- Disbanded

Sorry this is late, I fell asleep early last night and didn't get a chance to write this.

Oliver continues to spiral while Diggle and the gang do their best to keep going, Felicity continues to consort with the hackers, and Oliver makes a move that shocks Diggle....

It is hard to be against what Oliver was trying to do tonight.  As I said last week, he was right that his initial reasons for going on his crusade were not right, but over time that changed and the crusade became a good thing.  He moved from just killing those who had done wrong and started actually bringing them to justice, so his focus changed from vengeance to justice.  And after what has happened to other people around him, I get why he wanted to push the team away to keep them as far from him as possible.  What he didn't consider is that by pushing them away, he was actually making them less safe because that would make it easier for Prometheus to go after them because they would be separate from the group.

Bringing in the Bratva to kill Chase seemed a touch excessive to me.  Again, I get his reasoning: he wanted to spare the team the agony of killing someone, particularly since he had seen the suffering Diggle had been undergoing after killing his brother.  The problem is that Oliver had no way of controlling the Bratva and he had also allowed them to steal from the needy people in the city.  That was totally not cool of Oliver.  I am glad that he finally decided to try and stop them, even if it was a bit too late.

I must also say that I am not impressed that Gregori felt that he needed Oliver to remain a good person.  I get that he had been using Oliver to do the heavy stuff while he led, but he really needs to learn to stand on his own.  I don't know if we've seen the last of the Bratva or not, but it seems like we very well might have because they were not happy when Oliver decided to try and stop them.

I am glad that Diggle kept trying to get through to Oliver.  Oliver definitely needed to have his tree shaken a bit and Diggle did a good job of that.  I am also glad that the team figured out a way to how that Adrian Chase is Prometheus.  What they couldn't have foreseen was his figuring out what happened and killing the marshals guarding him.  This is not going to be pretty.

I am seriously worried that the hackers know who everyone is because they can now do some serious damage to the team.  Hopefully Felicity and Curtis can figure out a way to mitigate any damage, but I am not hopeful on that score.

Be back on the 26th, so until then!

Tuesday, March 28, 2017

My Review of The Fosters 4.18- Dirty Laundry

Things start to come out as Lena get stressed by everyone's requests, Callie goes on a road trip with Aaron, and Jude makes a surprising decision after more bullying....

Poor Lena.  She had so many people come to her tonight to get help or advice and she is having her own troubles on top of everything else.  I did giggle through that entire awkward conversation with Jesus and Emma about them having sex, what positions they used, and how they should have it for the foreseeable future.  She was so embarrassed to be having that conversation with them.  The funniest part is that they didn't seem embarrassed at all.  That's good that they can talk with her openly about sex, but watching her be so uncomfortable was definitely amusing.  It was also really nice to see her and Stef using some of those techniques they learned in therapy to work through everything.  I think I was most impressed that Stef was the one who initiated that particular conversation.

Speaking of Stef, she now knows about The Letter.  I really, really hope that she talks with Brandon first since she found it in his pants.  If she talks with Jesus, who has no clue what it says, and it slips out that Brandon knew about the letter, things will get ugly.  To be fair to Emma, she did try, several times, to tell Jesus that she had been pregnant, but he never really let her say anything.  And it really isn't Brandon's place to talk about The Letter, so there's that.  But it will still get ugly.

As for Jesus, it is good that he can read again.  I am just worried since he has decided to not take the pills since they seem to be affecting his sex drive.  I get that he has a beautiful girl and wants to have sex with her, but taking those pills is so much more important than getting laid.

Then there is Jude.  I wish I could say that I was really surprised that he decided to bully the bully, but I am not.  He's changed a lot from the sweet kid we were introduced to in the first couple of episodes.  In this case, I can't exactly blame him for wanting to get revenge.  That student has been being a complete ass and wanting to get revenge is a very human thing.  Posting a bad grade all around school was definitely going too far, but it did put him and Noah in the position to hear Drew and some other guy talk about turning Anchor Beach into a private school.  If only there is some way they can tell Lena about this without revealing how they found out.

I am so proud of Callie.  Standing up to Aaron's parents after the way they were treating him was absolutely the right thing to do.  I get why he was upset, but he was being emotionally abused and completely (and purposefully) misgendered, which is also a form of abuse.  I appreciate that he wanted to visit his dad on his birthday, but I do think he needs to either stand up for himself or stop going home if he is going to be treated that way he was tonight.  Hearing them call him "Allison" and "her" and their "daughter" was just completely wrong.  He is their son and if they cannot accept that, he needs to cut ties.  I know, that is easier said than done, but it needs to happen, if only for his own mental and emotional health.  I am not entirely sure what to make of their romance.  She just broke up with AJ, so I am not sure that immediately getting into a relationship with Aaron is such a great idea.

I sort of want to slap Mike upside the head for not helping Gabe out.  I know he wants to move forward with Anna, but helping out Gabe would have really helped both Mariana and Jesus, so I wish he would have done so.  I was very proud of Anna for trying and wish she would have figured out some other way to help Gabe out;.  Hopefully, he will be able to stay in the garage for now so that he can help them complete the treehouse.

Until next week!